R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-01-2006, 11:21 AM   #136
Tech Elite
 
mafiaracers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: West Linn, Oregon
Posts: 3,759
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to mafiaracers Send a message via MSN to mafiaracers
Default

ProudSavageOwnr>>> i'm not making fabric....I'm taking actual "virgin" i guess...carbon fiber fabric that hasn't been impregnated with resin or epoxy and doing that process myself. I'm building up carbon fiber fabric layers to make it thick like a TC chassis so I can make my own stuff. I'm trying to get 3.5 millimeter thickness. If i have any leftover "fabric" yes i'd be happy to send you some.free....but, if you want "plate" then....you'll have to wait until I'm done making it then we'll talk.

lates...
__________________
Chris Woods

MAFIA MOTORSPORTS
http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-items-sale-trade/168239-pit-board.html

TEAM WAVE
www.teamwaveonline.com

TQ Racing Wire
www.tqracing.com
mafiaracers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2006, 02:54 PM   #137
Tech Apprentice
 
b3buggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Worcester, UK
Posts: 74
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jam-ehz
Yeah, that's what I figured.. is there any place that sells the epoxy in a low quantity for a decent price? I don't need a whole $40 toothpaste tube, I'll only be using a few grams of it for the whole thing..

Did you just epoxy the clamp itself or screw/bolt it on the plate as well?
Hi Jam-ehz, Try getting some arctic cooling CPU thermal epoxy if you want small quantities. JB Weld will also work quite well & is cheap. Although sometimes difficult to work with. Epoxy on its own seems to work very well as long as the epoxy is applied correctly there should be no problems. I do have a cooler that is screwed down for quick change prototyping.
Attached some more pics of my uber development unit & a smaller totally aluminium unit made for a friend.

Ross
Attached Thumbnails
DIY RC stuff-img_0435.jpg   DIY RC stuff-img_0437.jpg   DIY RC stuff-img_0432.jpg   DIY RC stuff-img_0421.jpg  
__________________
RCR Racing - Worcester MCC
b3buggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2006, 05:50 PM   #138
Tech Elite
 
ProudSavageOwnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Leboland Sydney NSW
Posts: 2,826
Send a message via MSN to ProudSavageOwnr Send a message via Yahoo to ProudSavageOwnr
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mafiaracers
ProudSavageOwnr>>> i'm not making fabric....I'm taking actual "virgin" i guess...carbon fiber fabric that hasn't been impregnated with resin or epoxy and doing that process myself. I'm building up carbon fiber fabric layers to make it thick like a TC chassis so I can make my own stuff. I'm trying to get 3.5 millimeter thickness. If i have any leftover "fabric" yes i'd be happy to send you some.free....but, if you want "plate" then....you'll have to wait until I'm done making it then we'll talk.

lates...

so i think ur saying u got some carbon fibre cloth or sumthing and your epoxying it together to make a stiff sheet?

and if you do succeed i will be happy to buy some from you its it is good and totally flat.....i dont need much probably just a 10'' by 10'' inch peice or maybe smaller

Quote:
Hi Jam-ehz, Try getting some arctic cooling CPU thermal epoxy if you want small quantities. JB Weld will also work quite well & is cheap. Although sometimes difficult to work with. Epoxy on its own seems to work very well as long as the epoxy is applied correctly there should be no problems. I do have a cooler that is screwed down for quick change prototyping.
is that a pencil sharpener in the 1st pik or some kind of fan thing.........and how the hell do you guys get frost? i only get water? wtf?
__________________
FG leopard comp w/Trevor Simpson 28.5 bzm crank
HIP Baja 5sct
AE tc5 3.5t speed monster,Futaba 4pks
Raptor G4 ,Raptor e550,Gaui x5,Mini titan v2,Precision aerobatics bandit 4s monster,Carbon z scimitar Jr 11x
ProudSavageOwnr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2006, 03:35 AM   #139
Tech Apprentice
 
b3buggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Worcester, UK
Posts: 74
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by ProudSavageOwnr

is that a pencil sharpener in the 1st pik or some kind of fan thing.........and how the hell do you guys get frost? i only get water? wtf?
Its a fan! shaped like a turbine. Looking at your previous pic. The heatsink looks far to small . Remember its a heat pump and can only drop the temeprature a certain amount, the cooler the hot side of the peltier the cooler the cold side gets ! Try using a larger heatsink and a copper cold side clamp. This should get frost. Also the dew point comes into play.also sometimes frost cannot be achieved if its very hot or even windy. HTH

Ross
__________________
RCR Racing - Worcester MCC
b3buggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2006, 08:34 AM   #140
Tech Addict
 
Jam-ehz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 592
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Jam-ehz
Default

I'm actually planning to get two peltier plates, one will cool the other, giving it the max possible cooling capacity for the bottom plate.. on the other side I have a 7200RPM fan mounted on a huge AMD heatsink.. cools one plate well enough, can't wait to see two

Yeah, the arctic stuff I'm starting to see now.. gonna have to check it out.
__________________
-=≡ Tamiya TA05 TRF415MSX F103R M-03R M-04 M-05 ≡=-
-=≡ CRC Carpet Knife 3.2 OFNA LD3 Pro Fastcats Spektrum ׀ווlı ≡=-
Jam-ehz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2006, 12:58 PM   #141
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 33
Default

I built my owm motor dyno



theres a full article on how it works here

http://uk.geocities.com/dave_pickett...ew_page_17.htm
AEDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2006, 01:45 PM   #142
Tech Apprentice
 
howard1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South Africa
Posts: 57
Default Constant Current Discharger

Here's my contribution. This is a constant current discharger capable of discharging up to 40 amps. The cutoff voltage is also adjustable. Since this picture I have also added a voltmeter. The two fans are there to cool the large heatsink.[IMG]pict082.jpg[/IMG]
Attached Thumbnails
DIY RC stuff-pict0082.jpg  
__________________
I live with FEAR everyday, and sometimes she lets me go RACING!
howard1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2006, 06:28 PM   #143
Tech Elite
 
ProudSavageOwnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Leboland Sydney NSW
Posts: 2,826
Send a message via MSN to ProudSavageOwnr Send a message via Yahoo to ProudSavageOwnr
Default

hmm ill give a bigger heatsink a try......but how come the MM coolers have a small tiny heatsink n still product frost? is it the peltire im using? its only like a 40 something watt
__________________
FG leopard comp w/Trevor Simpson 28.5 bzm crank
HIP Baja 5sct
AE tc5 3.5t speed monster,Futaba 4pks
Raptor G4 ,Raptor e550,Gaui x5,Mini titan v2,Precision aerobatics bandit 4s monster,Carbon z scimitar Jr 11x
ProudSavageOwnr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 02:15 AM   #144
Tech Fanatic
 
Drewdc90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunshine Coast Australia
Posts: 828
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

The Much more doesn't get frost on it, the coldest they get is around 10 degrees C.
__________________
-Xray--Nosram--Orion--Trak Power--Duratrax--Spektrum--Futaba-

Sunshine Coast QLD AUSTRALIA

"If you stand still long enough you'll go backwards"
Drewdc90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 11:12 AM   #145
Tech Elite
 
mafiaracers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: West Linn, Oregon
Posts: 3,759
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to mafiaracers Send a message via MSN to mafiaracers
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ProudSavageOwnr
so i think ur saying u got some carbon fibre cloth or sumthing and your epoxying it together to make a stiff sheet?

and if you do succeed i will be happy to buy some from you its it is good and totally flat.....i dont need much probably just a 10'' by 10'' inch peice or maybe smaller

That's what I want to do...take cloth and make it stiff sheet...i'll keep you posted on my progress
__________________
Chris Woods

MAFIA MOTORSPORTS
http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-items-sale-trade/168239-pit-board.html

TEAM WAVE
www.teamwaveonline.com

TQ Racing Wire
www.tqracing.com
mafiaracers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 11:45 AM   #146
Tech Apprentice
 
b3buggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Worcester, UK
Posts: 74
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drewdc90
The Much more doesn't get frost on it, the coldest they get is around 10 degrees C.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProudSavageOwnr
hmm ill give a bigger heatsink a try......but how come the MM coolers have a small tiny heatsink n still product frost? is it the peltire im using? its only like a 40 something watt
The MM units will and do get frost on them, although after sometime of being on. It will depend on the dew point, ambient temperature and environment. They have a relatively small heatsink (which does get hot, unlike mine ) but have a high speed fan ,something like 10k rpm .

The best thig is to keep the hot side as cool as possible as previosily said. Using a larger heatsink is the easiest Also use a good quality cold side material for your clamp , aluminium is good, copper is better.
Have you any more pics of you unit?
I would have thought 40w is adequate enough. The most I use is a 72w unit. HTH


Ross
__________________
RCR Racing - Worcester MCC
b3buggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 12:29 PM   #147
Tech Master
 
XrayFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b3buggy
The MM units will and do get frost on them, although after sometime of being on. It will depend on the dew point, ambient temperature and environment. They have a relatively small heatsink (which does get hot, unlike mine ) but have a high speed fan ,something like 10k rpm .

The best thig is to keep the hot side as cool as possible as previosily said. Using a larger heatsink is the easiest Also use a good quality cold side material for your clamp , aluminium is good, copper is better.
Have you any more pics of you unit?
I would have thought 40w is adequate enough. The most I use is a 72w unit. HTH


Ross
Silver is the best for cold But $$$
XrayFK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 12:53 PM   #148
Tech Apprentice
 
b3buggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Worcester, UK
Posts: 74
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by XrayFK
Silver is the best for cold But $$$
Yep, but like you say expensive.
Try Pure diamond something lile 5 times better at themally conducting than silver $$$$$$$$$
__________________
RCR Racing - Worcester MCC

Last edited by b3buggy; 12-03-2006 at 01:19 PM.
b3buggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 09:45 PM   #149
TEM
Tech Regular
 
TEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 253
Default DIY may be a better place to ask?

In another post I asked

"When they say 30amp pulse discharge for IB3800/4200's, what is the waveform and frequency thats best for the cells? I want to design my own pulse+linear discharger. Seems easy enough considering I don't need to see the numbers (I only trust my T35's). The trinity unit seems affordable but doesn't pulse per cell."

40views in 1 day but no replies. Does anyone in this DIY thread know the answer to this one?
TEM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 10:19 PM   #150
Tech Regular
 
builthatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 262
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to builthatch
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteB
Can you post some pics or let me know what the specs on the resistors were, did you use a diode of some sort to cut the circuit?

Thanks

Pete
i also am severly interested in this type of info. in another thread, i asked-

"I use a Trinity D-90 for my IB4200's, but i want to cycle my IB750 AAA's that i use for my mini-z and the products that are out there, such as the PN Racing discharger board are of inconsistent quality and function.

I have a nice digi multimeter and some ability. I know there has to be something in writing on how to use maybe some bulbs, resistors, diodes, a pot and some breadboard to make a nice discharger.

Is there anything out there that i can make that would have a 1amp discharge rate and cutoff at .9 or .7 volts, individually? I'd like to do 4 cells at once time, but bring each down individually to the cutoff voltage.

thanks!"
__________________
5'16", 154.2 kg
builthatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
various stuff...LST Stuff, Trinity Battery case, MINI-T Pro, Vendetta Stuff, cleaning mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 03-06-2008 10:14 AM
all my stuff for sale: xbox 360, halo3, pc stuff, games, illegal firearms O.O LKMAO tony 06 Other Items: For Sale/Trade or Wanted to Buy 41 01-19-2008 01:15 PM
Some Revo Stuff... Some Mini-T Stuff... Misc. Stuff... Mallanaga R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 39 08-28-2007 10:30 AM
Sell-Out, PRO stuff, New stuff, Old stuff - CHEAP FreqETag R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 32 03-17-2006 08:54 AM
wanted 12th scale stuff, xxxs stuff, ntc3 stuff primusblowsgoat R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 6 03-25-2005 11:18 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:12 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net