R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-01-2006, 07:06 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
AngryAsian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Spektrum antenna

Appologies for another spektrum thread but i couldn't find a definitive answer.

DO you cut the antenna from the board level? Or from where teh antenna exits the case?

2.6" yes?

Thanks guys...
AngryAsian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2006, 07:26 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Z.Hallett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Reston, Virginia
Posts: 401
Send a message via AIM to Z.Hallett
Default

i believe that it is 3.4", not 2.6". not sure on the distance wheither its from the case or the circuit board.
Z.Hallett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2006, 07:28 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
AngryAsian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

My bad.. i meant 3.6" not 2.6"
AngryAsian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2006, 07:33 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
SlamMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 847
Default

If I had to guess I would say from the point is exits the case. The majority of users wouldn't even think of opening it to cut it from the board (at least I never did) let alone actually take the time to do it.
__________________
Michael H

OnRoadColorado.com
Colorado On Road RC Club
SlamMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2006, 07:34 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
2-Bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryAsian
My bad.. i meant 3.6" not 2.6"
Yes… 3.6” from the board… not the case…
__________________
Yokomo * G Force * Sanwa * SMC * ProSpec
2-Bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2006, 07:35 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Z.Hallett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Reston, Virginia
Posts: 401
Send a message via AIM to Z.Hallett
Default

AngryAsian: go from where the wire exits the case to be safe as it will increase the length of the wire by 1/16" or so.
Z.Hallett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2006, 07:46 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
AngryAsian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

**Phew!!**

THis is exactly why i had to start another thread. Erhm.. anyone else care to weigh in on the debate? It's 2/3 case.. but really...
Just mailed horizon... maybe.. just maybe.. LoL!
AngryAsian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2006, 08:46 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
2-Bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

You can have it at any length from "Factory length" to a minimum of 3.6” From the Board

I have run my old Spektrum at 3.6” without a single issue for well over a year.
__________________
Yokomo * G Force * Sanwa * SMC * ProSpec
2-Bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2006, 09:18 PM   #9
Tech Regular
 
PlainOleDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Grvl, SC, USA
Posts: 395
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

There is a perfect length (for an antenna) for every frequency. It is called the resonance (?). it is equal to the amount of time that a given freq. will travel from it's source to the tip of the antenna and back to the PC board. It would, in theory, also include the solder runs on the PCB but that would be up to an engineer to determine.
Anyhow, It shoul be measured from the PC Board.
PlainOleDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2006, 09:22 PM   #10
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 868
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

I went from the case to be safe.
rm25x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 04:44 AM   #11
Tech Addict
 
AngryAsian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Fantastic guys... thanks.

The resonating frequency thing i've known about. I was at an odd length before so it's been trimmed down.

CHeers!
AngryAsian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 05:58 AM   #12
Tech Fanatic
 
SlamMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 847
Default

I sent an email to Spektrum asking about this. Hopefully I'll hear back or better yet they'll post soon.
__________________
Michael H

OnRoadColorado.com
Colorado On Road RC Club
SlamMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 06:34 AM   #13
Tech Elite
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlamMan
If I had to guess I would say from the point is exits the case. The majority of users wouldn't even think of opening it to cut it from the board (at least I never did) let alone actually take the time to do it.
You know how tricky those screwdriver thingies are to operate.
Turbo Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 06:36 AM   #14
Tech Elite
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlamMan
I sent an email to Spektrum asking about this. Hopefully I'll hear back or better yet they'll post soon.
They already did. It's 3.6 from the board...just like a few people have already told you.
Turbo Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 07:24 AM   #15
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,368
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

I called them about it several months ago. I was told to measure from the board and cut it "exactly" 3.6 inches. I asked "3.58?..3.62?", he said "3.6".
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
spektrum antenna mike williams R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 08-01-2008 09:12 PM
Spektrum receiver antenna UltegraSTI Radio and Electronics 6 11-15-2007 06:31 PM
spektrum Rx antenna?? aussies1129 Electric Off-Road 6 08-18-2007 04:54 AM
spektrum antenna PoLsKiE Electric On-Road 29 03-21-2007 11:28 AM
spektrum pro antenna PoLsKiE Electric On-Road 1 02-07-2007 02:54 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:22 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net