R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-24-2003, 01:35 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 7
Default Power Supplies

i'M NEW TO R/C AND THIS MAY SEEM LIKE A SILLY QUESTION BUT WHAT SORT OF POWER SUPPLY DO YOU USE FOR A 12 VOLT CHARGER

THANKS
J.A.G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2003, 02:04 PM   #2
Tech Initiate
 
Telengard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 26
Default

Novak makes a good one...N-Power.

Goto: http://www.teamnovak.com/products/po...er/N-Power.htm

The cool thing about the N-Power is that it allows you to run up to two chargers at once. I run two Millennium Pro's off it...

Telengard
Telengard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2003, 03:20 PM   #3
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cypress, CA
Posts: 75
Default

Might want to look at Rivergate Distribution www.rivergatedist.com too. They sell a 15amp unit for $109 so you can run your charger & lathe at the same time.
dalem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2003, 03:48 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 292
Default

hmm... sorry, run a charger and a lathe at the same time? As far as I'm aware, you need something that runs at around 5V to run a lathe (i.e. most pp use a 4 cell pack or attach their lathe to a charger with a motor run-in feature).

Anyway, as far as power supplies go, my advice is: think outside the box (pun intended).

I'm sure Novak's power supply is great... and heck it looks niiice and it is very compact. But you're paying a lot of money for only 10 A. If you happen to be running 2 chargers at 6 A each, I'm not sure it's gonna handle that. (and 6 A is what Danny from SMC recommends for charging certain batts).

this is what I use:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...&category=4671

The build quality is excellent... I believe some major electronics/audio company outs their label on it and sells it at a higher price.

Others use it too... with no complaints as far as I recall. Do not buy it off e-bay if it goes about $100. Do a search and you can purchase a new one online for less than that. Good luck!
jwwu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2003, 04:00 PM   #5
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 42
Default

^ What he said.

Look outside the R/C industry for power supplies, I fould a Pyramid 12A supply for like $30-35 several years ago from a CB place. You pay enough for other stuff in the hobby, power supplies can be had cheap.

This place also tends to have stuff cheap, but not in nice pretty boxes like most retail supplies, typically for projects and stuff. But they work fine from what I've heard from people who have bought from them.

http://www.mpja.com/index.asp

Last edited by Concillian; 01-24-2003 at 04:35 PM.
Concillian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2003, 04:07 PM   #6
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cypress, CA
Posts: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jwwu
hmm... sorry, run a charger and a lathe at the same time?
No reason to be sorry. Of course you can run a lathe from 12vdc.

1. Hudy Executive Lathe (15 amp minimum)
2. 55T Motor
3. Cobra VariDrive
dalem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2003, 05:30 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 292
Default

ah- soh.

I see...
jwwu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2003, 10:30 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Boomer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Southern Cal - Claremont
Posts: 3,346
Send a message via ICQ to Boomer Send a message via AIM to Boomer
Default

You can go with a cheap power supply, like one from a PC or some other kind. . .but remember what your plugging INTO that power supply - your charger (expensive) and your batteries (expensive) at the very least. I also plug in an Integy Dyno to power my lathe and to break in motors, etc.

I'm not giving all that to a cheap power supply!

Thing to remember - the Rivergates are filtered and regulated. It's what makes them expensive. The Novaks are too, just not as much.

You can't go wrong with a Rivergate. They will power everything you've got and just work and work and work.

But no matter what, make sure it's regulated and filtered (not switched. . .that's for a PC)
__________________
-
RC10L2.5W - RC12.4 - RCNTC3(bmi) - TC4 (modded) - B44.2 - plus rent-a-rides! :D
Boomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2003, 10:50 PM   #9
Registered User
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Hudson Falls NY
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to TommyGun43
Default

It's kind of late I guess but last weekend Radio Shack
was sellling there 25 amp power supply for 50% off.
I stumbled apon the deal on radioshack.com. I took
the 10 amp one back that I bought the day before, got
the 25 amp one and $20 back. (It was $60.) Might be
worth checking there website again before you buy.
TommyGun43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2003, 11:44 PM   #10
Tech Addict
 
rto997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: EVERYWHERE I WANT TO BE!!!
Posts: 745
Default

Try Ham Radio Outlet.... I think it is www.HRO.com and look for the Samlex 1223... 23 amp continuous and 25 peak power... for about 100 bucks or so... what is nice about it, is the small size...it is quite small and will run all day with no probs.....
rto997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2003, 08:29 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
lee82gx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Land Of peace , Malaysia
Posts: 2,304
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

www.HRO.com?
it's a link to a law firm!!!
if u were joking i would have laughed my ass off.but i think u gave us the wrong add...still funny as hell..i tried to navigate it for a while then realised i've been had.
lee82gx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2003, 09:00 AM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Trips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: 360 Speedway
Posts: 2,251
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

try http://www.hamradio.com for Ham Radio Outlet.
__________________
MARSHAL!!
Trips is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
power supplies yokman sucks R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 09-23-2007 08:48 PM
20A power supplies $89 aus jd 2703 Australian Racing 3 06-26-2006 12:53 AM
2 POWER SUPPLIES F/S tazz888 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 07-12-2005 08:45 AM
Power Supplies GRB R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 05-17-2005 04:33 AM
FS: Power Supplies ctoms R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 11-21-2003 03:59 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:24 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net