R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-09-2007, 05:26 PM   #886
Tech Master
 
sportpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

I have an ICE, and it charges everything like a champ. I may get the Avionics Advanced charger as a second charger in case I get into a jam.
__________________
-Tamiya TA05-R - Tamiya M05 - Summit Raceway Ft. Wayne, IN

www.summitrcraceway.com
sportpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2007, 05:42 PM   #887
Tech Addict
 
Michael P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 640
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Hello is the race spec lipo legal in roar races if so why. thanks
MICHAEL P
__________________
♦ TEAM SHEPHERD WORLD ♦ AIRTRONICS ♦ CONTACT TYRES ♦ TEAM PICCO ♦ BYRON FUELS ♦ DESOTO RACING ♦ PROTOFORM / PROLINE ♦ MIP RACING PRODUCTS ♦
Michael P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2007, 07:02 PM   #888
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

I have a duratrax ice. Anyone charge theres at 6.4 (2c) rather then 3.2(1c)? It says it reduces the # of cycles but does anyone know how quickly? Just looking to charger a little quicker.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2007, 08:40 PM   #889
Tech Fanatic
 
muahdib4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Raymore
Posts: 863
Send a message via Yahoo to muahdib4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael P
Hello is the race spec lipo legal in roar races if so why. thanks
MICHAEL P
ROAR doesn't "allow" LiPo YET. Many club races still use them though.
__________________
KCRC - Kansas City Remote Crawlers
Team Chucklenuts Racing
Midwest R/C Rally Confederation
KC/RC Drift Movement
muahdib4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2007, 09:06 PM   #890
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 374
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I too am going the ways of lipo. I have a few q's though.
With my mamba max esc, it has auto cutoff, but it also has a 6v cutoff option aswell. I would rather use the 6v cutoff, because then i know for sure itll cutoff then, but will a 6v cutoff be safe? I know the novak LVC module cuts off at 6.25. Ill still be using my NIMH packs for bashin around, and the 3200 at my local track for drift sessions, so the auto cut-off might be the go if i still stick with the SC cells

Some of you may think, its only drifting, so its not worth getting a lipo. I have weight issues with my current chassis, and i believe the lighter weight of a lipo will fix or help the problem. And with SC cells, i would rather use matched packs then zapped or standard packs, and matched packs here in AUS go for around the same price as a brand new lipo delivered! So really, i think its worth the switch...
__________________
cairnsrc.com
REC'd Racing
What I have - Brushless Slash 4600kv, DX2S
What I need - Boss Motorsports 10.5, TRC LCG chassis, Ford F-150 SC body, Proline Protrac & a Brushless XXX-T CR MMP4600kv. Not alot!
Drift Demon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 02:42 PM   #891
Tech Addict
 
Iceracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 656
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Bad news. Tower's price on the Peak 3200's has jumped back up to $80.00.
Iceracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 04:08 PM   #892
Tech Elite
 
MR JOLLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MOOD;; feeling good not racing ,saving shed loads of money,lovely Tan i have aswell
Posts: 4,762
Default

MR BLACK where are you

got a balencer (pics to follow) proper made up one to fit the orion connections

it`s a charge through balencer

so got me 4800 back out & when it starts to charge the pack is taking like 4.6a & the pk is showing 8.3v

then the balencer cut`s in & shows ;voltage Error, open circuit `
do you reckon some things gone wrong inside the pk
__________________
EAMotorsports;;BRCA 27t National 2007 Champ's
FKO4,AdyB fan club !!
saying of the month;;The Past is History, the Future is a Mystery, this Moment is a Gift- that's why it's called The Present.
MR JOLLY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 11:45 PM   #893
Tech Regular
 
secretsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 470
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Will the Great Planes Equinox balancer work with these batteries and an Orion Advantage Charger?
secretsg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 04:51 AM   #894
Tech Regular
 
flying G.E.O.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Flight Academy
Posts: 404
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MR JOLLY
MR BLACK where are you

got a balencer (pics to follow) proper made up one to fit the orion connections

it`s a charge through balencer

so got me 4800 back out & when it starts to charge the pack is taking like 4.6a & the pk is showing 8.3v

then the balencer cut`s in & shows ;voltage Error, open circuit `
do you reckon some things gone wrong inside the pk
What charger are you using? Maybe its better to just use the balancer as a standalone instead of charge through balancer. Unless someone else has tried a charge through with an orion lipo I wouldn't try it. Its more for airplane guys that can do it easily with their lipos.
__________________
www.3dgallery.co.nr
flying G.E.O. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 06:53 AM   #895
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by or8ital
I have a duratrax ice. Anyone charge theres at 6.4 (2c) rather then 3.2(1c)? It says it reduces the # of cycles but does anyone know how quickly? Just looking to charger a little quicker.
Anyone?
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 08:06 AM   #896
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 16
Default

Any plans for a 3s lipo pack from Team Orion?
phresko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 08:16 AM   #897
Tech Master
 
sim600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,624
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to sim600
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MR JOLLY
MR BLACK where are you

got a balencer (pics to follow) proper made up one to fit the orion connections

it`s a charge through balencer

so got me 4800 back out & when it starts to charge the pack is taking like 4.6a & the pk is showing 8.3v

then the balencer cut`s in & shows ;voltage Error, open circuit `
do you reckon some things gone wrong inside the pk
Check to see if you've wired the adaptor up correctly. You'll be charging the pack as a 2s pack so your adaptor should only have 3 wires coming out of it, I think.
__________________
ModRC.com
sim600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 08:18 AM   #898
Tech Initiate
 
Chris g.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by secretsg
Will the Great Planes Equinox balancer work with these batteries and an Orion Advantage Charger?
It should work.. I'm useing that balancer myself on this batt.pack.
__________________
Sponsors:
Rocket Science Fuels
Team Helotes
South Texas Hobbies
Chris g. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 08:37 AM   #899
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phresko
Any plans for a 3s lipo pack from Team Orion?
I second that question. A 3S pack would be just the thing for Monster Trucks. We could really use a tough Lipo pack for that application.
Disaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 09:19 AM   #900
Tech Adept
 
markf3x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 104
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by or8ital
I have a duratrax ice. Anyone charge theres at 6.4 (2c) rather then 3.2(1c)? It says it reduces the # of cycles but does anyone know how quickly? Just looking to charger a little quicker.
Hi,

Not sure anybody can come up with any sort of hard numbers... As important, your better off not discharging as much out of the battery before recharging.. ie- don't even come close to fully discharging.. Hence, sounds like you'd be better off with a 4800 if you can fit it in.

ps- The ICE charger (or at least the firmware I'm running) will only allow you to charge at a max of 1c, so you'll need to tell it the battery capacity is higher than 3200mah to get it to charge faster.

good luck
markf3x is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NIP Team Orion 3200Mah Lipo Race Pack limbohz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 05-30-2008 10:36 AM
Peak 3200mah carbon spec lipo aus jd 2703 Australia For Sale/Trade 8 04-23-2008 09:12 PM
Team Orion Carbon Edition 3200mAh LiPo squearl R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 03-11-2008 06:35 AM
Team Orion Carbon Edition 3200mAh lipo batteries dido41 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 07-26-2007 04:10 PM
2 Team Orion Carbon Edition 3200mAh LiPo Batteries CCristo R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 05-04-2007 11:48 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:05 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net