R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-06-2007, 04:11 PM   #631
Tech Addict
 
MrBlack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: OC
Posts: 746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackh
We poor XRay guys that run saddle packs will never be able to use lipos.I have not seen anyone address this issue.


My two cents
Remember our 3200 is so light you could simply run it down one side of a saddle pack chassis and easiely balance out the weight, I have seen several people do this with some of the new Offroad 4WD chassis. Sometimes there maybe somissue sand some miling might be needed but R/C'ers are very tricky. We have looked into making a saddle pack and have a design but so far the demand has not been high enough to be worth the cost of the casing and harness. We could make a battery sans case but that is not our style. If we see an increase in demand though we may go forward with our design and it may happen.
__________________
TEAM ORION - AVIONICS - KYOSHO - KO PROPO - PEAK

"Racing is about the journey not the destination if it wasn't it would simply be called Arriving"

"The solution is people need to spend more of their efforts on promoting and finding more people to race with, rather then a personal quest to form a class that they can win at."
MrBlack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 11:31 PM   #632
Tech Adept
 
ljohnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Delta BC, Canada
Posts: 183
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBlack
Remember our 3200 is so light you could simply run it down one side of ...
In other words the 3200 weights the same as a 3cell sub c pack.


It's much bigger though and I doubt you'd be able to fit two in a saddle pack touring car. 1/10 scale pan on the other hand..
ljohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2007, 10:09 AM   #633
Tech Elite
 
mtveten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,668
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Less than 3 cells, my 3200 carbon pack weighs in at 6.8oz compared to an IB4200 pack @ ~ 15oz.

mark
mtveten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2007, 04:23 PM   #634
Tech Adept
 
minimanintaiwan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 160
Default

Got a question abut the Novak 2cell lipo smart cutoff.

If i'm switching between my Carbon 3200 pack and IB 4200 do i have to unplug the Novak Smart Cutoff? or can i run the IB4200 with the Novak with no incident?
minimanintaiwan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2007, 10:19 PM   #635
Tech Master
 
RCBuddha's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,939
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Anyone else having issues with the 3200 case? Mine have come loose, and I've had to put a little battery strapping tape on the case to keep it closed.
RCBuddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2007, 11:09 PM   #636
Tech Elite
 
JasonC's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: oceanside ca
Posts: 4,099
Trader Rating: 120 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCBuddha
Anyone else having issues with the 3200 case? Mine have come loose, and I've had to put a little battery strapping tape on the case to keep it closed.
YUP ... sooo i just removed it from the case completly.
__________________
#60 of the Original 100
If your not part of the solution
Your part of the problem !
JasonC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2007, 11:26 PM   #637
Tech Regular
 
flying G.E.O.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Flight Academy
Posts: 404
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by minimanintaiwan
Got a question abut the Novak 2cell lipo smart cutoff.

If i'm switching between my Carbon 3200 pack and IB 4200 do i have to unplug the Novak Smart Cutoff? or can i run the IB4200 with the Novak with no incident?
I have a similar device for heli but it can be used up to 5 cell. I dont think there's any damage for the device and the nimh if you're lazy to unplug it and just use it as is. I tested mine on 7.2nicd and it worked when it went 6.0v.
__________________
www.3dgallery.co.nr
flying G.E.O. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2007, 11:27 PM   #638
Tech Regular
 
flying G.E.O.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Flight Academy
Posts: 404
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonC
YUP ... sooo i just removed it from the case completly.
Can you post how it looks like inside? Are they generic lipos from kokam?
__________________
www.3dgallery.co.nr
flying G.E.O. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2007, 11:36 PM   #639
Tech Regular
 
tom235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ut
Posts: 327
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCBuddha
Anyone else having issues with the 3200 case? Mine have come loose, and I've had to put a little battery strapping tape on the case to keep it closed.
i just put a little shoe goo on the bottom in side on there duble sided tape and its golden
tom235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 01:27 AM   #640
Tech Adept
 
minimanintaiwan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 160
Default

Just charged a new pack at 3.2A and got up to 1600MaH and stopped. Does a new pack come half charged ?

Now, if you're not suppose to fully discharge a pack past 5.4, then is it safe to say that i'll never see a 3200Mah reading on my charger?
minimanintaiwan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 01:30 AM   #641
Tech Adept
 
minimanintaiwan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 160
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flying G.E.O.
I have a similar device for heli but it can be used up to 5 cell. I dont think there's any damage for the device and the nimh if you're lazy to unplug it and just use it as is. I tested mine on 7.2nicd and it worked when it went 6.0v.
Thanks for your help. Will run the Novak cutoff with both kinds of battery and see.

I'm not that lazy but i run a mini and have my electronics stuffed inside the chassis and on it's side so getting to plugs requires me to pull it all out!
minimanintaiwan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 06:37 AM   #642
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by minimanintaiwan
Just charged a new pack at 3.2A and got up to 1600MaH and stopped. Does a new pack come half charged ?

Now, if you're not suppose to fully discharge a pack past 5.4, then is it safe to say that i'll never see a 3200Mah reading on my charger?
The two I got shipped with some charge in them, about the same as you mentioned. You definitely won't see 3200 go back into them. After a race with 13.5 or 4300, I see about 1900 - 2200 go back into them depending on gearing. It's very consistent between runs, almost like clockwork.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 11:31 AM   #643
Tech Adept
 
minimanintaiwan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 160
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me
The two I got shipped with some charge in them, about the same as you mentioned. You definitely won't see 3200 go back into them. After a race with 13.5 or 4300, I see about 1900 - 2200 go back into them depending on gearing. It's very consistent between runs, almost like clockwork.
Thanks for the feedback . Just re-assuring to see my charger/pack working properly.
minimanintaiwan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 03:13 PM   #644
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

Right On !

My Carbon 3200`s arrived at the track and I`ll be testing um tonight ....
__________________
Any driver can copy a great set up, a Champion however will steal it .
If Jesus returned as a Rc car he be a Rc10 B5M
George W. Cherry
Wild Cherry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 03:46 PM   #645
Tech Addict
 
MrBlack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: OC
Posts: 746
Default

Yes All Orion/ Peak Li-Po's ship with 60-90% charge in them.
__________________
TEAM ORION - AVIONICS - KYOSHO - KO PROPO - PEAK

"Racing is about the journey not the destination if it wasn't it would simply be called Arriving"

"The solution is people need to spend more of their efforts on promoting and finding more people to race with, rather then a personal quest to form a class that they can win at."
MrBlack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NIP Team Orion 3200Mah Lipo Race Pack limbohz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 05-30-2008 10:36 AM
Peak 3200mah carbon spec lipo aus jd 2703 Australia For Sale/Trade 8 04-23-2008 09:12 PM
Team Orion Carbon Edition 3200mAh LiPo squearl R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 03-11-2008 06:35 AM
Team Orion Carbon Edition 3200mAh lipo batteries dido41 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 07-26-2007 04:10 PM
2 Team Orion Carbon Edition 3200mAh LiPo Batteries CCristo R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 05-04-2007 11:48 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:04 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net