R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-20-2006, 01:44 AM   #331
Tech Apprentice
 
shiun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 51
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to shiun
Default Auto cutoff for lipo

Hi guys,

do i need to worry when using esc w/o auto cut offs
shiun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 01:55 AM   #332
Tech Regular
 
flying G.E.O.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Flight Academy
Posts: 404
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiun
Hi guys,

do i need to worry when using esc w/o auto cut offs
From my experience I've used lipo on futaba, lrp, novak escs all dont have cutoff and pretty old but I didn't have any problem. But I've yet to reach the point of the car abruptly slowing down as they describe when using lipo. You could use a cutoff maybe if you run enduro.
__________________
www.3dgallery.co.nr
flying G.E.O. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 02:10 AM   #333
Tech Apprentice
 
shiun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 51
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to shiun
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flying G.E.O.
From my experience I've used lipo on futaba, lrp, novak escs all dont have cutoff and pretty old but I didn't have any problem. But I've yet to reach the point of the car abruptly slowing down as they describe when using lipo. You could use a cutoff maybe if you run enduro.
Thanks for the info man...
shiun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 03:30 AM   #334
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

I used a platinum 4800 with a ESC that did have cutoff and I was surprised how long it let me run before shutting down. Much longer then the point at which I would have pulled it off the track.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 03:33 AM   #335
Tech Apprentice
 
shiun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 51
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to shiun
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by or8ital
I used a platinum 4800 with a ESC that did have cutoff and I was surprised how long it let me run before shutting down. Much longer then the point at which I would have pulled it off the track.
which esc might that be?
can u also name me a few esc which had cut off for lipo?
thanks
shiun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 05:40 AM   #336
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiun
which esc might that be?
can u also name me a few esc which had cut off for lipo?
thanks
LRP Sphere Speed Comp. The new Tekin is going to have cutoff protection. Im sure there are others. I know the Novak does not have it.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 06:50 AM   #337
Tech Fanatic
 
SlamMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 847
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me
Wait 'till you pull the trigger and don't have to discharge or peak or worry about heat or anything else. It's hard to believe something so light could create enough power to be so fast after living in a NiMH world all these years. I'm beginning to think I like LiPo more than brushless in terms of how its made racing easier and more fun.
Agreed. I personally am much more enthusiastic about LiPo than BL. Time and headache saved using LiPo will far exceed that of brushless.
__________________
Michael H

OnRoadColorado.com
Colorado On Road RC Club
SlamMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 09:40 AM   #338
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Mamba Max ESC has voltage cutoff.
As far as running it long enough to trigger it is another story.
-Shookie <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 09:53 AM   #339
Tech Fanatic
 
Nexus Racing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 848
Default

You can run one of these on a Novak, etc, if you want to add a low voltage cutoff:
Novak Smart-Stop LiPo Cutoff

__________________
NEXUSRACING.com
Nexus Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 02:16 PM   #340
Tech Apprentice
 
shiun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 51
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to shiun
Default

woooh...

thanks for all the advise bros....
planning to get a mamba max to try out...
so i guess it would work fine with the Orion 3200 then...
thanks again bros!!!
shiun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 02:24 PM   #341
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 91
Default

darn radiocontrolzone, blocked my ip even though ive never actually been to the site before. well i have, but my ip has always been banned so even though ive been there, ive never actually BEEN there. i guess i should figure out my ip and email the admin so i can get access to that site.
i believe maxamps also sells a lipo cutoff detector. not sure if it actually cuts it off or just has a light indicating low voltage though.
i agree too, lipo is more appealing than brushless to me. even with the 3200 lipo id probably get more runtime than both my cheapo 3200s, and if not more runtime, then alot more consistant power. i wonder if there'll be a pricedrop anytime soon. there probably won't be for awhile, but i wouldn't get them anytime soon anyways.
SSJChar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 01:19 PM   #342
Tech Addict
 
MrBlack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: OC
Posts: 746
Default

The 3200 Li-Po's will give you the same runtime as that of a 4200mAh NIMH matched pack.

You will also feel an improvement in power do to better technology.
__________________
TEAM ORION - AVIONICS - KYOSHO - KO PROPO - PEAK

"Racing is about the journey not the destination if it wasn't it would simply be called Arriving"

"The solution is people need to spend more of their efforts on promoting and finding more people to race with, rather then a personal quest to form a class that they can win at."
MrBlack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 01:38 PM   #343
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

http://www.boomboombatteries.com/Sea...ults.asp?Cat=5
cvt01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 02:29 PM   #344
Tech Elite
 
BSchorr's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 4,820
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BSchorr Send a message via Yahoo to BSchorr Send a message via Skype™ to BSchorr
Default

Does the Carbon Fiber 3200 fit in the T2 without grinding on the bulkhead like the Orion 4800's?
__________________
Proline ~ Genesis R/C Products ~ First Premier Satellites
BSchorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 08:19 PM   #345
Tech Fanatic
 
SlamMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 847
Default

Yes, it fits in the T2 but I think you'll have to take out the battery holder things on the chassis. I've put it in there with them and the fit isn't very good. I haven't tried it without them yet.

Mr Black or Mr Howard, how did you test the Race Spec with the T2?
__________________
Michael H

OnRoadColorado.com
Colorado On Road RC Club
SlamMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NIP Team Orion 3200Mah Lipo Race Pack limbohz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 05-30-2008 10:36 AM
Peak 3200mah carbon spec lipo aus jd 2703 Australia For Sale/Trade 8 04-23-2008 09:12 PM
Team Orion Carbon Edition 3200mAh LiPo squearl R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 03-11-2008 06:35 AM
Team Orion Carbon Edition 3200mAh lipo batteries dido41 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 07-26-2007 04:10 PM
2 Team Orion Carbon Edition 3200mAh LiPo Batteries CCristo R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 05-04-2007 11:48 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:37 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net