R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-03-2007, 07:44 AM   #1681
Tech Regular
 
rcarmchl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Collierville, TN
Posts: 492
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BullFrog View Post
My battery came back today.Only I have no way of testing it in the car- no esc- or motor yet. Are these new 3600 the same size as the 3200?

Hey Bulfrog - was it the pack or was it something else? I ask b/c I smoked ESC #2 yesterday after changing EVERYTHING else on the car. Mine is going back to day so hopefully I will know soon.

Just to settle my curiosity - what was your exact setup?
rcarmchl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 12:26 PM   #1682
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,570
Trader Rating: 26 (96%+)
Default

What charger should I use to charge the 4800s up at a 2c rating? Does it take a special program or can I just pick up an astroflight 109 and set it at 9.6 amps?
party_wagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 01:53 PM   #1683
Tech Regular
 
rcarmchl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Collierville, TN
Posts: 492
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

If I am not mistaken you have to file or sand most chasis' to fit a NIMH pack anyway.
rcarmchl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 04:38 PM   #1684
Tech Master
 
linger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Retired
Posts: 1,132
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
I'm guessing Linger's question came about because Kokam doesn't appear to have a 3600mAh cell.
It's quite possible that Kokam released a 3600 cell. It would not take too much new tooling. The electrode size is the same, they would only need to produce a thicker cell. Since the 3200 cell is just 7.6mm thick - they can easily add more layers/stacks for additional capacity. They only need a new punch and die for the alumimum pouch, which is relatively cheap.
__________________
I used to be a spitter, now I'm a swallower. I graduated.
linger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 04:47 PM   #1685
Tech Master
 
linger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Retired
Posts: 1,132
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fastforward View Post
I must be missing something. My 3200's have plenty of capacity for stock club racing. 20C vs 25C, what is the big deal? Would somebody please explain.
Since the motor current is pretty much fixed - a 3600 25C battery will hold higher voltage under any load compared to a 3200 20C battery since the 3600 is less stressed. Even if you don't need the extra capacity - you will get more voltage.
We are assuming the same manufacturer - since the C rating is mostly a marketing term and a 20C from one manufacturer is not equal to 20C from another manufacturer.
__________________
I used to be a spitter, now I'm a swallower. I graduated.
linger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 04:49 PM   #1686
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,922
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I can't answer that yet.I have not seen my ESC (2) or motor.I would probably guess it was the ESC that shorted the motor and battery.But then I've run both my orginal ESC (Novak) and 13.5 (Novak) motor for over one year without any problem with both 3800 and 4200 batteries.I never esperienced this problem until I tried the lipos. Now will this stop me from using lipos- No. I don't plan on running cells again- just lipos.
__________________
Team Epic/Trinity -Michael Bruce Hobbies-Team CRC ,Kimbrough Products and GForce.
WGT-R, GT-12 Racing USA (21.5 ), Formula 1 and Home Track is 386 RaceWay,ROAR #7540.
BullFrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 05:08 PM   #1687
Tech Elite
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BullFrog View Post
I can't answer that yet.I have not seen my ESC (2) or motor.I would probably guess it was the ESC that shorted the motor and battery.But then I've run both my orginal ESC (Novak) and 13.5 (Novak) motor for over one year without any problem with both 3800 and 4200 batteries.I never esperienced this problem until I tried the lipos. Now will this stop me from using lipos- No. I don't plan on running cells again- just lipos.
You can most likely fix the battery. If they short, they blow/unsolder the tabs on one side of the board. You can pull them out a little and reattach them just like a motor wire. BTDT a couple times.
Turbo Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2007, 11:10 AM   #1688
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N Cal
Posts: 283
Default

I am looking to pick up a pair of the Orion\Peak lipo packs and had a couple questions about them.

I will be using an Orbit Microlader for charging duties and it has cell ballancing options for several of the major type of connections. Does anyone know what kind of ballancing port these Orion\Peak lipos utilize?


Fasttrak
Fasttrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2007, 11:27 AM   #1689
Tech Master
 
Big Daddy Cool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Makati, Philippines
Posts: 1,725
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Big Daddy Cool
Default

Fastrak: That would depend on your balancer. I built my own balancing harness for my orion platinum / imax b5 setup. The imax requires esky style balancing leads. I just soldered the pos/neg (red/black) lines to the main output plugs. Middle balancing lead blue wire goes to the balancing port with a smaller plug. See pic attached. I hope this helps.
Attached Thumbnails
Team Orion 3200mAh Race Spec LiPo-imax.jpg  
Big Daddy Cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2007, 12:07 PM   #1690
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N Cal
Posts: 283
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Daddy Cool View Post
Fastrak: That would depend on your balancer. I built my own balancing harness for my orion platinum / imax b5 setup. The imax requires esky style balancing leads. I just soldered the pos/neg (red/black) lines to the main output plugs. Middle balancing lead blue wire goes to the balancing port with a smaller plug. See pic attached. I hope this helps.

Thanks for that, just having a difficult time deciding what it is I actually need from Orbits website. May have to call Germany and find out.



Fasttrak
Fasttrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 03:24 AM   #1691
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 374
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hi guys, maybe some of you can help me out. My 3200 is about 6mnths old. Im having problems about 3/4 through the pack. It would start to stutter/cog then just cut-off. Ive been told the voltage could be dipping below cut-off. Now ive tried balancing the pack, both cells were fine. Then i fitted a cap to the rx cause when i would throttle it & use the servo at the same time, you could hear it have trouble, meaning it could not power both servo nor motor at once. This is all still near cut-off. I do not know what else to do. Does anybody have a suggestion as to what else i can do, or is my pack a dud

This happens about 5-10mins before cut-off. Im using a mamba max esc with a vortex 7.5 motor (& its not the motor causing the cogging). Spektrum DX2.0 with Novak Glitch Buster cap, TT01 with 8.35FDR...
Drift Demon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2007, 10:29 PM   #1692
Tech Elite
 
ottoman's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 2,761
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

OK... I just read the following post on "Hobby Talk"...

"The Orion pack is a 2S – 1P pack but it means that to get the voltage up to 7.4 there are two cells in series but there is also one cell in parallel to get the pack capacity up. The reason it is still called a two cell pack is because that is the way the charger “sees” it. The two cells in series are “seen” as only one cell."

Is this correct? I always thought the the Orion pack was 2 cells in series
ottoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2007, 03:31 AM   #1693
Tech Elite
 
SWTour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central Coast...CALIF.
Posts: 2,874
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

ottoman,

according to ORION the 3200 pack IS two 3.7 volt cells in series. Those two cells in series constitute one parallel cell from what I understand. (Still just two cells in the case)

Whereas the 4800 pack is 4 cells in total, (2 series + 2 series)=2 parallel.

Both are recognized by the charger as a 2 cell pack (Not a 3 cell pack as McLin indicated on HobbyTalk)

I have not torn a 3200 pack apart, but I believe each cell in the 3200 pack IS a 3200 mah cell, but in the 4800 pack, I believe each cell is only a 2400 mah cell, but when parallel wired the two packs together make up 4800 mah's.

(It would be like taking 2 of your 6 cell 4200 IB packs and wiring them together in parallel, I believe you would actually have 8400 mah's )
SWTour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2007, 05:43 AM   #1694
Tech Addict
 
magm20001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 546
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

so that means the 4800 packs cant be balanced individually? they can only be balanced 2-2
__________________
RIP Kanye West ..... Mom
magm20001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2007, 06:33 AM   #1695
Tech Fanatic
 
kuzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 948
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kuzo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by magm20001 View Post
so that means the 4800 packs cant be balanced individually? they can only be balanced 2-2
As far as I know you never balance cells in individually parallel no matter the configuration. Every balancer I've ever seen has taps for 2S, 3S, etc with no regard for how many in parallel.

Someone smarter than me will have to correct me, but I'm guessing that cells in parallel balance with each other on their own.
kuzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NIP Team Orion 3200Mah Lipo Race Pack limbohz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 05-30-2008 10:36 AM
Peak 3200mah carbon spec lipo aus jd 2703 Australia For Sale/Trade 8 04-23-2008 09:12 PM
Team Orion Carbon Edition 3200mAh LiPo squearl R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 03-11-2008 06:35 AM
Team Orion Carbon Edition 3200mAh lipo batteries dido41 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 07-26-2007 04:10 PM
2 Team Orion Carbon Edition 3200mAh LiPo Batteries CCristo R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 05-04-2007 11:48 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:16 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net