Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
ESC Caps for Quantum/NOSRAM >

ESC Caps for Quantum/NOSRAM

ESC Caps for Quantum/NOSRAM

Reply

Old 01-24-2003, 05:35 AM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Oasis2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 446
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default ESC Caps for Quantum/NOSRAM

I just bought the Worlds kit for my NOSRAM Dominator which is the same stuff as LRP Quantum Comp. Comes with a small and large cap. Says to use small and step up to large as it offers much more power. Anyone got any comments on the difference?
Oasis2001 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2003, 06:12 AM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Washington state
Posts: 962
Default

I just installed the small cap on my Quantum. My understanding is the caps are helpful in mod racing. I know a lot of folks who don't use them unless their runnin a low turn mod. We run in the 19t spec class and I'm looking for a smoother throttle curve and maybe some more punch.
coolrcdad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2003, 01:05 PM
  #3  
Tech Adept
 
j0n0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 201
Default

Oh you didn't get another V12 putnam ?? hehe
j0n0 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2003, 04:38 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,483
Default

Just run the big one!! - More power! I have used a bigger one on occasions.
MattW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2003, 10:36 PM
  #5  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Oasis2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 446
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

hehe but i know you are skilled being a Schuey driver
Oasis2001 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2003, 12:24 AM
  #6  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Modesto, Ca
Posts: 991
Default

Run the big one in stock and mod. It takes a bit of runtime off but if you run 3000-3300s dont worry about it. It is a very noticable difference running with and without it.
James Nguyen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2003, 04:03 AM
  #7  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Oasis2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 446
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the reply. Im just soldering it on now!
Oasis2001 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2003, 03:09 PM
  #8  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Grimsby, UK
Posts: 212
Default

how much runtime does it allegedly take off?

I've not noticed a drop in run time with my 10,000uF cap.

sanj
schumacher is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2003, 02:25 AM
  #9  
Tom
Tech Regular
 
Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia-mate
Posts: 349
Default

power caps stop voltage spikes in the speedo
the nosram and lrp are different speedo's with diferent spec's but caps work on any speedo

u can get power caps from dick smiths(yes im and aussi) for 50cents Aus
i like to run a 1000uf in stock and the larger in size the more punch
i have seen some gt7 blow when the power caps heat up and fail
i run a novak atom and have had no probs with it untill today at summer nats but i think its a dodge soldered joint i did

so get a cap, but dont pay full price
go get a a dozen from ur local eletronic store like dick smithes and it will be a fraction of the price of rc branded one's
Tom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2003, 03:10 AM
  #10  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Grimsby, UK
Posts: 212
Default

tom,

i totally agree, 20 for a capacitor is not on. You could go down to Maplins or RS and get one for 50p, it'll probably be made in teh same factory but not have the designer sticker on it.

sanj
schumacher is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2003, 07:52 PM
  #11  
Tech Master
 
imataquito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1,279
Default

hehe yea ... better still get the cap from electronics store and ask them for a good one ... like mahatusita? not sure of spelling
or rubycom or elna caps... they a cheaper to boot and u can be quite sure of the quality
imataquito is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2003, 02:17 AM
  #12  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 13
Default

Where can I get a Nosram speedo from over the net?
wrxboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2003, 02:19 AM
  #13  
Tech Addict
 
Simon K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 573
Default

Originally posted by Tom
power caps stop voltage spikes in the speedo
the nosram and lrp are different speedo's with diferent spec's but caps work on any speedo

Nosram Dominator, LRP Quantum Competition and Futaba MC800 are all the same ESC but labelled differently.
Simon K is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2003, 02:57 AM
  #14  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 183
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

http://www.metrohobby.com.au/products.php

they sell nosram escs
syntex1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2003, 04:48 AM
  #15  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Grimsby, UK
Posts: 212
Default

its matsushita (aka National Panasonic)

you need to specify a few things in a cap

Capacitance (your choice)
Working voltage (>=10V)
Working Temperature (higher is better! 105C is a good choice)
High Frequency
Low Impedance

a few makes worth a mention:

Rubycon (I believe LRP/Nosram Caps are this make)
Dublier
Phillips
Sprague
Matushita

hope this helps

sanj
schumacher is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service