Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Charging transmitter Batteries?? >

Charging transmitter Batteries??

Charging transmitter Batteries??

Old 07-19-2006, 08:57 PM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Brisbane. Australia
Posts: 1,820
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Charging transmitter Batteries??

hey looking for a base line set up to charge my sanwa m11 1100mah nicad pack and my 8 AA 1650mah nimh pack so far it has been
the nicad:
dischrge vltage .3v percell
peak sensitivity 20mv percell
current 1.1amps
dis current 1.1amps
takes on about 1100mah after discharge but doesnt get warm thinking stepping up the sensitivity?? or droping the discharge voltage??

8 AA 1650 nimh:
discharge voltage .6v per cell
sensitivity bout 13mv i think
current 1.7amps
dis current 1.7amps
takes on bout 1300 but there kinda old

am i doing anything wrong here i use an ice with temp sensor but thats useless on cradle packs or packs with shrink wrap?
cheers thanks for the help.
aus jd 2703 is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 08:10 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Brisbane. Australia
Posts: 1,820
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

so no one has a clue?
aus jd 2703 is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 08:13 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,480
Default

First whats wrong? Second try charging at .5 amp. it will help alot
Chris Jarosz is offline  
Old 07-22-2006, 11:59 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Brisbane. Australia
Posts: 1,820
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

im not sure about discharge voltage and also the aa's get hot before they get to 1650mah?
aus jd 2703 is offline  
Old 07-23-2006, 06:49 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
Scottmisfits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Discharge at a max of 1 amp. No need to do it any higher. Charge at 0.5 amps as the slower you charge, the longer you can go between charges. I'd cut them off at 0.9 volts or close to it. You can use the temp sensor with the AA pack very easy. It works very well. Try setting the cutoff at about 100*.
Scottmisfits is offline  
Old 07-23-2006, 07:00 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
 
PitCrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Seattle Indoor Raceway
Posts: 2,129
Default

I have been charging mine using a 12 volt 800 mah power supply, and/or the plug for my Novak tray.

So, I am not using any peak detect or anything. I just plug it in for about 10-15 minuts if I notice the voltage at 10 or less. Then its good to go for another day.

This is with GP1800AA, and has worked great for over 2 years....
PitCrew is offline  
Old 07-23-2006, 07:03 PM
  #7  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (24)
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 732
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

I just got a M8 and want to know how to charge the batteries. I am not looking for charging settings or anything, just how to hook it up to charge.
AChupp2 is offline  
Old 07-23-2006, 09:43 PM
  #8  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
AngryAsian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Open the battery cover on the bottom of the radio (on the side nearest to the handle).

Slide the battery out and plug the charging jack in.
Voila!

To be safe, don't charge teh battery when it's still inside the radio. You may burn a fuse out if you turn the Tx on right after a charge. Let the battery rest a little while before use.

This is an issue with the M8 and the M11 battery packs which are an integrated Nicad stick.

You can also buy a AA style "pallet" that takes the place of the integrated stick. But with either system - afully charged and peaked TX battery can deliver too much voltage.

Do a search for the M8 or M11 and they'll detail where the fuse is.

Last edited by AngryAsian; 07-24-2006 at 12:38 AM.
AngryAsian is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 12:33 AM
  #9  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,152
Default

Basically, I just plug my Tx AAs on to the charger that comes with the cells.

No hassle...Any my cells has been with me for 4 years...Still kicki n...!
Ben.C is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 08:55 AM
  #10  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (24)
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 732
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

I don't have a charging jack. Where can I get one?
AChupp2 is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 05:52 PM
  #11  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
Scottmisfits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Radio shack has a wide variety of plugs for just such occasions. Just make sure to take your radio with you.
Scottmisfits is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 06:32 PM
  #12  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (24)
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 732
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Can anyone give me a link to exactly what I need for a charging jack? Thanks
AChupp2 is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 07:09 PM
  #13  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
Scottmisfits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...entPage=family

Click on this link. That's what the plug that goes into the radio will look like. The one that I have, I can't find on the site. It's at a 90* angle and has the two pins for the +/- terminals out the other end.
Scottmisfits is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 08:33 PM
  #14  
Tech Addict
 
Charlie O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Corona, Ca
Posts: 739
Default

Originally Posted by AChupp2
Can anyone give me a link to exactly what I need for a charging jack? Thanks
Take the aligator clips and attach an old battery bar in pos & neg, you may have to thin it down some, then just stick it in the battery holder in the respected pos & neg batteries, then charge.
Charlie O is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 06:32 AM
  #15  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
Xanavi_R34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: TAMIYA WORLD
Posts: 1,550
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Can anybody help me about my charging? any tips? First thing first, who here uses a pitbull charger? Cause I wanna know what is the numbers on the upper center of the screen, It's like the voltage of the pack but im not sure cause sometimes it's going more than 7.2 volts. sometimes it goes to 10. something and more. Plus I wanna know how many amps should I use for nicd and nimh. also the voltage I'm ganna use for the two... Cause I know, voltage of nicd (In my pitbull) is .080 and for nimh is .036.. Do you guys even get what I mean? And plus sometimes whenever the charging is done, I look at the mAh of the charger and sometimes (For example the pack is 1300mAh) the mAh of the pack charged is 1800 mAh (This one by the way is nicd batt)... Why did it go that far? wont it destroy the pack?
Xanavi_R34 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.