R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 07-17-2006, 06:07 PM   #1
Tech Initiate

Default newbie- need car: tt-01, 19T, 2S lipo?

guys, i'm new to hobby grade rc cars. been messing with everything else r/c forever though, and im an engineer so i pretty much know my stuff.

looking for a car to hop up, and do some mods to. i was looking at formula one cars, as i'm looking to test the effects of an electronic stability control system- and i figured their aerodynamics were better than other cars. - mainly adding a gyro and putting micro servos on the front and rear wings, and adding vertical stabilizers(like a rudder on a plane).

however, i couldnt find any all that cheap- there's a nikko one, part of their 'premium' line of cars with spare parts and stuff($150- 100 at radioshack)..but i'd have to replace the radio and esc, so it'd be just as expensive as a hobby level car. if you know of any f-1 cars <200 im all ears. but since i couldnt find any others that cheap,

i was looking at the tamiya tt-01 with either the ferrari or nsx painted bodies. (i cant paint worth jack). i have no idea what kind of speeds this car gets, but i'd like as fast as possible. if there are other cars you recommend, again im all ears. (yes, i know everyone says this, and speed costs money- but for my aero testing, the faster it goes the easier it will be).
i've put li-ion in an old nikko- hopped up speed pretty good.

therefore, i was thinking i'd get a 2S 2200mAh 15C thunder power lipoly. based on the watts ive seen 540 motors drawing- 140W or so- that works out to 20A, so these cells will work. if i'm wrong, please correct me. thought about a 3S- but didnt want to blow up the gear box. if i can do it though, that'd be great.