R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road-2/)
-   -   electric v nitro (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/12190-electric-v-nitro.html)

bosko 01-20-2003 02:39 PM

electric v nitro

Hi guys

I am new to electric r/c and am thinking maybe i should have gone to a nitro car. How many batterys should i own ?
I have 2 and i don't get much time out of them maybe 7-8 min. each. What is the best way to charge them ?
I'm trying to find the advantage over nitro...
Can someone help ??

Mike:batman:

Neil Rabara 01-20-2003 03:08 PM

Do you intend to race your car, or just run it on the street with friends?

bosko 01-20-2003 03:43 PM

I have been using my local r/c race track thinking about racing down the track

Boomer 01-20-2003 05:29 PM

The main advantages to electric are:
  • You can race indoors
  • much quieter
  • much cleaner (no oily mess)
  • much simpler

Probably the main advantages to Nitro are:
  • You can run longer (just refil the tank and GO)
  • much louder (for some this is a bonus, but not your neighbors!)
  • in some ways it's cheaper (less batteries, less chargers and power supplies, etc.)

These are NOT absolute, but are pretty general.

Now, 2 battery pack will do. They will do even better if you are using NiMH packs. Nickle Metal packs don't have a "memory" like NiCads do. You can re-use them multiple times per day (just keep them fairly cool) - it's not recommended to re-use NiCads many times per day. NiMH batteries also have a bit longer run-times than NiCads do.

Get a good "Peak" charger. If you have NiMH batteries, get one that is capable of charging them. They are a bit more sensitive but chargers exist for charging them properly. There are a lot of chargers. I use a Novak Millenium Pro, it works just fine for me.

Steevo 01-21-2003 12:09 AM

Bosco,
What track in brisbane are you going to??