R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-11-2006, 10:52 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Default Electrical problem on XXX-s

Hello all, I purchased a Team Losi XXX-s today and me and my friend took it out for the first run.

All went well until my friends 4-tec lost control and hit me while we were racing down the street. Both our cars spun out and went into the damp grass! His car was fine, but mine wouldn't move, except I could still steer. I went to the lhs and they reset the ESC which "fixed it".

Well tonight, when I was playing around with it in my basement, the car suddenly dies out. The red light on the ESC turns off. I tapped the wire connecting the ESC to the battery, and the light turned back on? So now I have a ESC that goes on and off it I hit the littlest bumps.

Is my ESC screwed up? Or would you think it's the battery connection?
Damestic89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 10:55 PM   #2
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 30
Default

it would seem like the battery connection is at fault. do you have the white tamiya plugs? make sure they are not loose. I would reccomend getting deans ultra plugs. (red plugs)
Fantomcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 11:00 PM   #3
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Default

I dunno what it uses. The battery I have is the Orion (sp) 3000 battery. Everything else is how it came.

Edit: So would this be the batteries problem, or the wire that connects to the ESC?

Edit 2: The battery is a Team Orion Super Duty Plus 3000 mAh Ni-MH.
Damestic89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 11:01 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: FT Walton, FL
Posts: 967
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

What ESC do you have? Does it get really hot!? It might be the thermal protection. I've never heard of "resetting" and ESC to make it work, The only time I've ever heard of resetting an ESC is to adjust it, like throttle and braking.

Jay
pyro18t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 11:07 PM   #5
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Default

It's a little orange box that says

"TeamLosi
Sport
ESC
w/reverse
Made by
Novak"

In that order. When the guy at the lhs reset the ESC, he pressed a button on the side of the ESC.

Edit: It also never got hot. I only ran it for about 3 minutes before my friend spun out.
Damestic89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2006, 01:04 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Sounds like a connection problem. It sounds like you have plugs. Any chance you can get some pics up so we can see what youre dealing with? It will be a matter of eliminating potential problems to narrow it down to the culprit. GL
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2006, 02:52 AM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 306
Default

Check thoroughly,
Batt connector on batt and esc
connector from ESc into receiver..
ensure wire are crimped properly into their terminal, otherwise solder them..
Faiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2006, 03:58 AM   #8
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

If you're using Tamiya connectors the female connection can be prone to opening up inside causing a bad connection. Maybe it just needs squeezing back up slightly with a very small flat headed screwdriver?


My guess is its that,or there is a bad connection on the PCB soldering.
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2006, 10:22 AM   #9
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks everybody. I do have a picture, but I can only use my Imac since my PC is down, so I can't upload them (more like don't know how )

Anyways, I'm going to my lhs to pick up a battery charger, so I will bring the car along with too.
Damestic89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2006, 12:08 PM   #10
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 67
Default

I know what the problem is. The 2 wires connecting 2 your esc are not connecting with your batterys. Push those 2 cords into your esc firmly and your problems will go away.
rclover#0000001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ARE THERE ANY ELECTRICAL ENGINEERS HERE? I NEED HELP!! cm367700 Chat Lounge 0 05-31-2008 10:01 AM
HELP PLEASE! T-MAX electrical!! DriveToLive Monster Trucks 3 09-12-2006 05:42 PM
Electrical Car - Kawada Sigma 2 Haugu Malaysian R/C Racers 1 12-01-2005 07:05 PM
TX Electrical Charging Help Requested Ducati-Rider Electric On-Road 1 10-15-2005 02:33 PM
FS: KOPROPO Electrical Switch f2000racer R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 04-04-2005 04:53 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:48 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net