R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 07-08-2006, 11:22 AM   #1
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default Cutting comms

I have been cutting comms for 3 years with my trusty Hudy lathe and diamond bit.

My process involves: 1) marking the comm with Sharpie; 2) cutting until I get a smooth comm; 3) using Xacto knife to clean gaps between comm plates; 4) using ballpoint pen to smooth edges between comm plates; and 5) using motor spray and towel to clean (and shine) the comm before reassembly.

Someone (that I have great respect for) told me that using motor spray and the towel are no-no's...That the motor spray adds a lubricant which is not desireable for brush break-in.

Any comments?

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2006, 11:26 AM   #2
Tech Master

Motor spray wont hurt. Thats why its "Motor" spray. I dunno about a towel though as it might scratch the comm but if you've been using it with sucess it shouldnt matter. I tend to hold the arm upside down and spray the bottom of the windings and keep spraying until the runoff is clear.
Old 07-08-2006, 11:41 AM   #3
Tech Champion

Thanks rcdude.

The black residue that comes off the comm after the other steps had convinced me that using the towel was a plus. Some of that black is likely the Sharpie material getting between the comm plates. Always looks brighter after.

Old 07-08-2006, 11:53 AM   #4
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)

Do you use comm cutting oil? Seems like if lubricant is a problem, you'd rather get that off first.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2006, 12:16 PM   #5
Tech Champion

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me
Do you use comm cutting oil? Seems like if lubricant is a problem, you'd rather get that off first.
No comm cutting oil here. I understand that the black graphite in the Sharpie ink is a form of dry lubricant though.