R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-14-2007, 05:53 PM   #511
Tech Adept
 
sepirts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arboleda

PS - Any tips on pinion for an MF2 with a 13.5 / Orion 4800 combo?

I've run an MF2 with a 13.5 and Orion 4800. I usually start with my stock +2 teeth for pinion. I've gone as much as +4 teeth, if I'm on a large open track.

Stock being = 19-21, depending on your setup.
sepirts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 06:41 PM   #512
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Croydon, PA (United States)
Posts: 45
Send a message via AIM to The8BitHero
Default

What do you guys used to check your motor temps?
The8BitHero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 08:11 PM   #513
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,187
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The8BitHero
What do you guys used to check your motor temps?
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXEMG5&P=ML
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 07:21 AM   #514
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 462
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smojoe
two questions for the resident experts in this forum

1) is it okay to cut the sensor wires on the motors? I've heard a few rumors that pretty much end in two conclusions: "Go ahead and cut them" and "Don't cut them EVER."

2) do I need to use the GTB's supplied capacitor with the 13.5 motor? You know, the beer keg of a cap. I would like to use the small cap that is included with the LRP worlds kit, mostly because it is 1/20th the size and 12th scales don't have a lot of landscaping area for electronics.
You can cut the blue wire for the thermal sensor but I wouldn't recommend it. If you're getting hot enough to thermal you're getting close to hurting the motor. The rest of the sensor wires are needed.

In 4 cell you definitely need to have the capacitor on the speedo. There's plenty of room for it. I'm thinking about adding a second cap to help keep the speed control temp down.

I can fit the speedo, transcap, and a receiver pack in a L4 style car.
Unregistered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 03:40 AM   #515
Tech Champion
 
nexxus's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 8,100
Trader Rating: 302 (100%+)
Default

I just tried my 13.5 with a sintered rotor from a standard rotor, it runs a LOT cooler, but also feels a lot slower! Do I have to gear up even to get comparable speed? Should it sound different as well?
__________________
A800 / A800X Awesomatix

Don't worry about what I'm doing.
Worry about why you're worried about what I'm doing.

"Ego is the anesthesia that deadens the pain of stupidity."

nexxus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 05:57 AM   #516
Tech Fanatic
 
SlamMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 847
Default

You do have to gear up when switching to the sintered rotor. People run anywhere between 36 and 42 mm roll out.
__________________
Michael H

OnRoadColorado.com
Colorado On Road RC Club
SlamMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 06:40 AM   #517
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 24
Default

I just started racing with the sintered rotor and I think I may be able to gear up as much as 3 teeth or more from the regular rotor. Been running the 13.5 since September with the regular rotor with no troubles. Except I finally burned up my LRP COMP.
Faster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 06:55 AM   #518
Tech Champion
 
nexxus's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 8,100
Trader Rating: 302 (100%+)
Default

But should changing from a normal to sintered rotor, and leaving all other things the same, result in a speed drop which I need to gear up again to compensate for?
__________________
A800 / A800X Awesomatix

Don't worry about what I'm doing.
Worry about why you're worried about what I'm doing.

"Ego is the anesthesia that deadens the pain of stupidity."

nexxus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 09:02 AM   #519
Tech Adept
 
sepirts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nexxus
But should changing from a normal to sintered rotor, and leaving all other things the same, result in a speed drop which I need to gear up again to compensate for?

Gear up.
sepirts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 09:10 AM   #520
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 462
Default

Yes, you have to gear up with the sintered rotor because it has less RPM. We're going as high as 2.5 rollout in 12th (or higher) but you have to play with the gear to get the best laptimes. I'm only using motor and speedo temps as a safety thing. The lap times drive my gearing (normally around 2.35 in 12th on carpet).
Unregistered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 07:21 AM   #521
Tech Champion
 
nexxus's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 8,100
Trader Rating: 302 (100%+)
Default

Have found that with the Sintered Rotor, I can't gear up the TA05 far enough, can only go to a 25 pinion and was running a 21 with the bonded rotor, to get the speed back I'd need to be around a 29-30 pinion which won't fit!

Back in with the Bonded Rotor
__________________
A800 / A800X Awesomatix

Don't worry about what I'm doing.
Worry about why you're worried about what I'm doing.

"Ego is the anesthesia that deadens the pain of stupidity."

nexxus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 07:34 AM   #522
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,187
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nexxus
Have found that with the Sintered Rotor, I can't gear up the TA05 far enough, can only go to a 25 pinion and was running a 21 with the bonded rotor, to get the speed back I'd need to be around a 29-30 pinion which won't fit!

Back in with the Bonded Rotor
how about dropping a few teeth on the spur??
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 07:54 AM   #523
Tech Regular
 
RocketRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Durban South Africa
Posts: 337
Default

@Nexus - change the 48dp standard spur in the car to the 64dp 105T spur that is available for the TA05. that will give you the gearing you want. hope it helps!
__________________
RocketRacer
XRay T2'008/Nosram ISTC/Nosram 13.5T Spec

Futaba 3PKS with FASST

>>>Knowledge is Power<<<
RocketRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 08:31 PM   #524
Tech Fanatic
 
hierog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 891
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

nvm, i got it figured out now!!

Last edited by hierog; 02-17-2007 at 08:49 PM.
hierog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2007, 04:33 PM   #525
Tech Regular
 
Capelracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bunbury, West Oz
Posts: 338
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arboleda
I've seen the announcement that in April, you will be able to buy a "Pro" version of the 13.5 / GTB combo which means that the sintered rotor is already present.

I saw a post on another forum (but then lost track of where I found it) that someone has already been able to purchase the 13.5 Pro motor (not the system with the ESC, just the motor). But a search online did not turn this up and any online vendors. Is the 13.5 Pro motor available for purchase or must one buy the sintered upgrade separate? Thanks!
Just got 1 from Pacific Coast hobbies - still in the old packet (even says neodyninium (whatever) magnets, but is the real deal w/- ribbed can, sintered rotor, orange ring!
Capelracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novak 13.5 SS Pro Stock Brushless Motor Delyt R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 09-12-2007 04:44 PM
WTB: stock novak brushless system 78camaro R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 08-07-2007 11:08 PM
LRP Vs Novak Brushless for stock r2160 Electric On-Road 23 07-31-2007 07:30 AM
Novak 13.5 Brushless Stock glitchy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 12-30-2006 05:00 PM
novak 13.5 stock brushless mugengreg Australian Racing 1 08-26-2006 11:40 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:19 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net