R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-09-2006, 08:52 PM   #181
Tech Elite
 
bvoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bedtime with Teddi
Posts: 3,635
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JKA
Why do find this weird? My IB 3600 and 3800 peak at 10.8, but my Orion LiPo peaks at 7.8.... both on my LRP and ICE charger...
bvoltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2006, 09:44 PM   #182
Super Moderator
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,486
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

All of them, 4300, 5800 and the new 13.5 have the same retail price so eventually they will all have about the same street price.

Kraig
KT Hobbies
__________________
There is great need for a sarcasm font.

You never know when it will strike, but there comes a moment at work when you know that you just aren't going to do anything productive for the rest of the day.

Sometimes I post just to look at my avatar.
Kraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2006, 10:00 PM   #183
Tech Champion
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,914
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bvoltz
Why do find this weird? My IB 3600 and 3800 peak at 10.8, but my Orion LiPo peaks at 7.8.... both on my LRP and ICE charger...
Because new good 3800's peak at less than 9.00v and old busted out 3800 cells peak around 9.3V.

For your cells to peak at 10v+ they must have terribly high IR's or they must have gotten hurt really bad at some point.
__________________
Adrian Martinez
What I run: Schumacher Mi5/Associated RC10R5.1/Associated RC12R5.2/Futaba/HobbyWing/Team EA Motorsports/BSR Racing
Where I run: Florida Indoor R/C Complex/Thunder Racing/Florida On Road State Series
AdrianM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 07:42 PM   #184
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 19
Default

Price at Tower is more reasonable now. $76.99 Expected later on this month. Can't wait.

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXNJA2&P=7
emjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 08:03 PM   #185
Tech Lord
 
protc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spring Hill,Florida
Posts: 10,838
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdrianM
Because new good 3800's peak at less than 9.00v and old busted out 3800 cells peak around 9.3V.

For your cells to peak at 10v+ they must have terribly high IR's or they must have gotten hurt really bad at some point.
agreed.i have never seen a 3800 or 3300 for that matter peak that high.ouch!!
__________________
Jason Breiner
BMI Racing
Team Associated
J Concepts
protc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2006, 11:32 PM   #186
Tech Regular
 
PeteB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 477
Default

Hi people,

I have a question, as I have been holding off buying a brushless/lipo setup. i assume that the brushless esc's can easilly cope with 7.4v , but the documentation for most brushless esc's refers to a max input voltage of 6 cells (1.2v per cell) and you know that assumption is the mother of all F***ups. so i just wanted to ask the question anyway...

I say bring on the brushless and lipo as standard

I feel that use of this technology should be encouraged, not discouraged

i have asked at my regular track if they will allow lipo, and the answer was no, the 13.5 turn novak also got the thumbs down.

I was just going to run them anyway, and just keep it quiet and if they want to DQ me from the pointscore, fine, but I dont think they'll bar me from racing, as it will impact on income for the organisers. if they do bar me then I'll race somewhere else...

we'll see...
__________________
JRXS-R
GTB SS + 13.5 & 10.5
Trakpower 4900
Supernova
Nomadio
PeteB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 12:00 AM   #187
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

I can say from experience along with two or three others at my local track that the LRP Sphere Comp handles LiPos with no problems. In fact, it even has the cutoff built in to protect the battery from going below 3volts/cell. Ever since I began running my lipo bl setup I have been literally asking myself why I didn't do it sooner.
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 07:07 AM   #188
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 62
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteB
i have asked at my regular track if they will allow lipo, and the answer was no, the 13.5 turn novak also got the thumbs down.
Did they give a reason for turning the 13.5 down?
Mike Haswell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 07:41 AM   #189
Tech Elite
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Haswell
Did they give a reason for turning the 13.5 down?
Cause they are afraid if you spend more time criving the car instead of screwing with motors you might get better and whip their butts.... hahahaha....
__________________
I still lurk....
vtl1180ny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 05:04 PM   #190
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Kuala Lumpur Malaysia
Posts: 278
Default

i have three GTB ESCs with the options to run 4.5,5.5,6.5, 5800 and 2 star vector on 3 different cars. My battery of choice is simply the Team Orion Lipo. So far, never had any problem, not even a slight problem ever.

Team orion recommended the battery not to be runned more than 80% of its capacity. That's about 10-12 minutes and by the time I reached 10 minutes mark, I've had enough and its time to pit in for ride height adjustment and so on.
azmio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 04:57 AM   #191
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,918
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

The 13.5 is the stock brushless motor by Novak. I've been running it for several months with 3800's IB's.
__________________
Team Epic/Trinity -Michael Bruce Hobbies-Team CRC ,Kimbrough Products and GForce.
WGT-R, GT-12 Racing USA (21.5 ), Formula 1 and Home Track is 386 RaceWay,ROAR #7540.
BullFrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2006, 04:03 PM   #192
Tech Master
 
17driver's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mayville,Wi
Posts: 1,382
Default

Does anyone know when the 13.5 will be released?Tower has the end of July but it seems to be the end of July.Any info would be appreciated.Thanks Craig
__________________
Midwest malitia member
17driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2006, 08:26 PM   #193
Tech Champion
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,914
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BullFrog
The 13.5 is the stock brushless motor by Novak. I've been running it for several months with 3800's IB's.
What your feeling for FSEARA next year? Will the racers allow the 13.5? I would vote to allow 13.5T in stock and 8.5T in 19T.

We have been running a mixed 19T/5800(8.5T) class at Speedline for the last few months. The racing is close and there seems to be no clear cut advantage to either type of motor. The best driver wins no matter the motor used.
__________________
Adrian Martinez
What I run: Schumacher Mi5/Associated RC10R5.1/Associated RC12R5.2/Futaba/HobbyWing/Team EA Motorsports/BSR Racing
Where I run: Florida Indoor R/C Complex/Thunder Racing/Florida On Road State Series
AdrianM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2006, 01:43 AM   #194
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 62
Default

That is interesting about the 5800 - I have found pretty much the same running the 13.5.
The racers are quite interested in it, even though it will cost more. Looking how many stock motors they have in their pitboxes, it will prove to be cheaper over the season.
Mike Haswell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2006, 06:33 AM   #195
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,918
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

It's cheaper because you don't need spring-brushes or a comm lathe ,the hood aligment tool, break in the bushings. Now you have more time to work on the car and pit talk. I've been spoiled in the last few months testing the stock motor out not having to worry about doing all of the stuff mentioned above.At the next race all my stuff will be for sale.
__________________
Team Epic/Trinity -Michael Bruce Hobbies-Team CRC ,Kimbrough Products and GForce.
WGT-R, GT-12 Racing USA (21.5 ), Formula 1 and Home Track is 386 RaceWay,ROAR #7540.
BullFrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novak 13.5 SS Pro Stock Brushless Motor Delyt R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 09-12-2007 04:44 PM
WTB: stock novak brushless system 78camaro R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 08-07-2007 11:08 PM
LRP Vs Novak Brushless for stock r2160 Electric On-Road 23 07-31-2007 07:30 AM
Novak 13.5 Brushless Stock glitchy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 12-30-2006 05:00 PM
novak 13.5 stock brushless mugengreg Australian Racing 1 08-26-2006 11:40 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:38 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net