R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-30-2001, 07:07 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to Corally Guy
How to build a 4 cell saddle pack and how much wire do i need

This is urgent...please respond as soon as u can!!!!!!!!!!!!


I am getting the new Corally 12M with the 4 cell saddle pack configuration....cool huh ??? Well how do i build a 4 cell saddle pack??

Last how much wire do i need??? I can find General Silicone Wire cheap...but how much do i need to hook up the esc to the motor, to the battery, wire for the battery, and if i missed any could u please tell me

Also do i need the Duratrax powerpole connectors for my battery??




Thanx all
Corally Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2001, 08:45 PM   #2
JB
Tech Regular
 
JB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 273
Default

Just buy a few feet of good RC wire, it doesnt hurt to have a little bit left over. Only use enough to go from the points where the wire is soldered otherwise it looses efficiency in the extra lengths. You dont NEED to have connectors for your battery, its possibly to have just a battery bar bent like an L over the battery where you would solder it. However that could be a pain to solder and de solder battery packs every time you want th charge the batterys or put a different pack into the car. I would just suggest using Deans Ultra plugs, they have an extreemly low resistance and unless youre a REALLY good racer i doubt you will notice any sort of difference in power, just down to hundredths of volts.
JB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2001, 10:47 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

CUT THE SMILEY'S PLEASE.

http://www.balakracing.com/stick.htm
fatdoggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2001, 05:57 AM   #4
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Texas
Posts: 11
Default Over or under

When connecting the two sides of the saddle pack do I go over or under the shock?

If I go over I don't have to disconnect the shock every time the batteries are changed but there is some chance of affecting the movement of the shock while running.

If I go under the shock is disconnect every time the batteries are changed. Then the ball cup has to be replaced periodically since it stretches a little bit every time it is disconnected.

Opinions?
FastAggie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2001, 07:31 AM   #5
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default Re: Over or under

Quote:
Originally posted by FastAggie
When connecting the two sides of the saddle pack do I go over or under the shock?

If I go over I don't have to disconnect the shock every time the batteries are changed but there is some chance of affecting the movement of the shock while running.

If I go under the shock is disconnect every time the batteries are changed. Then the ball cup has to be replaced periodically since it stretches a little bit every time it is disconnected.

Opinions?
It doesnt matter where the wire go as long as the wire doesnt interfere with the shock.
Manticore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2001, 07:43 AM   #6
Regional Moderator
 
mr4-malta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Malta!
Posts: 422
Default

fastaggie
why dont you put a bullet connector between the wire of the pack so when you take the pack out of the car you disconnect the wire with the bullet type (corally type) (which will split the ack in two) and take it out with no problems
hope this helps!
mr4-malta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2001, 10:17 AM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Washington state
Posts: 962
Default

The bridge wire can be very short and will fit under the shock between the 2 sets of cell pairs. We added connector wires to the bent bars and use Deans plugs. Those wires go over the shock. You have to remove the shock each time but we didn't want to direct solder. Just make sure the esc wires and batt wires are short.
coolrcdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2001, 12:59 PM   #8
JB
Tech Regular
 
JB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 273
Default

Taking the shock on and off would be enough of a pain to do but when you get another car that may use the same configurations and same packs you're building now the connector may be too short. I would just add the extra inch or two for convinience.
JB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3600, 3800, or 4200 4 cell saddle pack MrZero R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 4 12-03-2007 10:32 PM
How to Build a Saddle Pack SpidarX Electric On-Road 1 07-09-2007 06:04 PM
Saddle pack wire lengths? joffacn Electric Off-Road 5 02-27-2007 10:38 AM
6 cell battery saddle pack boxes Casey R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-16-2004 08:31 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:37 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net