R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-06-2006, 11:45 AM   #91
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by duhh
he he he I added it before even driving it ... I thought it would be cool to be able to accellerate just that bit extra
But my motor gets way hot even with the lightest gearing possible on our carpet track .. and I at the end of the straight it will eassily spin all 4 wheels !!!

so i`ll think i remove it because it cause a uge amount of current trough the motor effery time I accellerate
I was going to say that it wouldn't be that great an idea as if you want more punch..hook the Mamba to your PC and change the punch settings...Easy Skeezy...

-Shookie <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 07:24 AM   #92
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

OK first impression,

I took it to my local littl eparking lot track for some pratice for their two day race today and tomorrow...Track was very dusty but managable..
I first tried the 4700 out and set the timing to high, just to get a feel of how fast this motor can be..I willsay that without a doubt that this setting is so much better than a good 19T...So I go back in and set the timing to normal, set a little drag brake to make it feel more like a brushed...went back out..
Now were are talking about a good 19T...Silly rip.....And top speed to boot.

So as of right now I dialed out some of the drag brake...I went a little happy with the settings..LOL
I will let you all know how things pan out today at the race...
I am running against open mod guys but the track is super tight and technical..
Last time I raced there I raced againt the other BL system and a guy with a 19T and I was using a stock motor and came in third....if only I was smoother I would have taken them...LOL
So far I am very impressed with the Mamba Max in a Touring Car...
and I thank you JOE at customer service for letting me know how to run the Mamba MAx in a 4 cell car....Very excited to try it in that car as well........
-Shookie <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 07:51 AM   #93
Tech Elite
 
Mike Haynes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Area 51
Posts: 3,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Shookie, i felt that 30% drag was pretty close to a brushed motor..give it a go.

Also, don't be afriad to gear the mamba, it would be better to gear it then to jack up the timing, i though it stayed smoother this way.
__________________
Team Associated - Reedy Power - Sweep - Protoform - TQ Wire - Lacher paint
Mike Haynes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2006, 03:43 AM   #94
Tech Adept
 
mooony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 117
Default

I am using the mamba max 7770 in a JRX-S but I am having glitching on the steering servo when I let go of the throttle. I noticed that the left pulley is almost touching the can of the motor. Could this be the cause of the problem with the steering servo. When I remove the pinion there is no glitching.

I am using a 27 pinion with the 128 spur gear. Is anybody else using a mamba with a jrx-s?

Thanks,

Ronald
mooony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2006, 11:11 AM   #95
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 690
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

My LHS told me with the 7700, you may need to buy a capacitor for your receiver and make sure the rest of your equipment (batteries, connectors, etc.) are top notch. The 7700 tends to draw a lot of current and sometimes will draw enough to drop the voltage which your receiver doesn't like to see. Spektrum sells a capacitor that you can plug into your receiver which has solved this problem with the 7700.

I ended up buying a 5700 because the owner of my LHS is a Tamiya fan and he didn't want to see my Evo IV end up getting wrecked because the setup was too fast. If I want to go faster, all I need to do is add some cells or get a 3S lipo.
wrxnfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2006, 11:19 AM   #96
Tech Elite
 
Mike Haynes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Area 51
Posts: 3,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

The 7700 does draw a lot of power, so yes a cap on the reciver will probbaly help with glitching, try that and also make sure there is no contact between wires and the chasis.

I have not had any problem in my jrxs
__________________
Team Associated - Reedy Power - Sweep - Protoform - TQ Wire - Lacher paint
Mike Haynes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2006, 11:29 AM   #97
Tech Adept
 
mooony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 117
Default

Thanks for the replies. I will see if I can find a capacitor for my receiver.

rcracingkid can you tell me if your motor is almost touching the left pulley and which pinion are you using in your jrx-s.

Thanks again.

Ronald
mooony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2006, 11:34 AM   #98
Tech Elite
 
Mike Haynes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Area 51
Posts: 3,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

If memory serves i ran a 28 pinion and it is close, but didn't touch
__________________
Team Associated - Reedy Power - Sweep - Protoform - TQ Wire - Lacher paint
Mike Haynes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2006, 11:36 AM   #99
Tech Adept
 
mooony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcracingkid
If memory serves i ran a 28 pinion and it is close, but didn't touch
Thanks. Will try with a 28 tonight.

Ronald
mooony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2006, 10:52 PM   #100
Tech Elite
 
Jochim_18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CALI
Posts: 2,372
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

mamba max ESC is it possible to run sensored brushless motor like novak?
__________________
Localrcracing.com - Your premiere source of Radio controlled Racing in central California.

Visaliahobbies.com * SkyRC * casterracingparts.com
Jochim_18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2006, 11:45 PM   #101
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 82
Default

Yes, you can use a sensored motor with the Mamba Maxx
AETC5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2006, 06:14 AM   #102
Tech Elite
 
CRASH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,715
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

No at this time you can not run a sensored motor on the Mamba Max. This is a software upgrade being worked on and should be available shortly.

Later,
CRASH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2006, 06:59 AM   #103
Tech Master
 
adamge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Saskatoon,SK Canada
Posts: 1,654
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I ran my 5700 Mamba Max this weekend in a T2'007. I had serious problems with the ESC losing sync/position. This occurred both after slowing down or coasting and then hitting the throttle, as well as from a stop. I tried various pinion/spur mesh tightnesses.

Has this happened to anyone? I'm close to calling Castle and then sending it back for warranty. It is not race-able like this.

Wires are factory length, connectors haven't been touched (factory installed).

-Adam
__________________
When someone is intent on excelling in an otherwise laudable manner, does he not desire to inflict pain on others by means of his exalted status and enjoy the envy he arouses? Is there not an anticipated delight in an artist's ability to defeat his artistic rivals, which heightens his euphoria in creation?
-Nietzsche
adamge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2006, 07:05 AM   #104
jaz
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 428
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Sounds like you are having power issues. Either using a higher quality battery pack or adding a capacitor to your receiver should fix your problem.
jaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2006, 09:03 AM   #105
Tech Elite
 
CRASH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,715
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adamge
I ran my 5700 Mamba Max this weekend in a T2'007. I had serious problems with the ESC losing sync/position. This occurred both after slowing down or coasting and then hitting the throttle, as well as from a stop. I tried various pinion/spur mesh tightnesses.

Has this happened to anyone? I'm close to calling Castle and then sending it back for warranty. It is not race-able like this.

Wires are factory length, connectors haven't been touched (factory installed).

-Adam
Something does not sound right. Please give Joe Ford a call at Castle Creations

913-390-6939 ext 119 or via e-mail [email protected]

Later,
CRASH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mamba Micro Pro, mamba 8000kv, Spektrum 3001 rx, heat sink pinoyboy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-13-2008 06:19 PM
Mamba 4200 + Mamba 25 Shawner85 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 01-30-2008 05:54 PM
Mamba 5400 with mamba 25 esc for sale josh the 2nd R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 01-14-2007 04:11 PM
MAMBA COMPETITION X 2080 and data cable / mamba 6800kv with esc tmaxxking R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 05-23-2006 10:59 AM
Mamba 8000/Mamba 25 esc coolkide R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 12-23-2004 05:48 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:06 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net