R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-16-2007, 12:42 PM   #196
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 737
Default

Exactly pole_position.The bannana plugs connectors was the problem.Now the car is like a rocket.
__________________
Whatever
Born2Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 02:21 PM   #197
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

The type of bullet connectors Castle uses have been a known problem for some time. They will also contribute to the cogging issue when they start to act up. A hardwire is one solution, but to those that prefer to keep the unplug capability then these are an awesome option that absolutely will not fail. They actually have less resistance then equivalent length of 12g wire.

6mm bullet-collet connectors
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 04:07 AM   #198
Tech Elite
 
MrUnlimited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,465
Default

Ok it is clear: the cogging can be solved with hardwiring. But what length should the wires be?
__________________
U5 Formulaboat 1/8 hydroplane - MHZ138 AQUAMANIA - Axial Exo Terra - Tamiya Avante - LC Racing EMB1 - Atomic AMZ 4WD Touring car
MrUnlimited is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 05:31 AM   #199
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 737
Default

My wires now are 17cm and works fine.
__________________
Whatever
Born2Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 06:17 AM   #200
Tech Elite
 
MrUnlimited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,465
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Born2Run View Post
My wires now are 17cm and works fine.
Did you hardwire them?
__________________
U5 Formulaboat 1/8 hydroplane - MHZ138 AQUAMANIA - Axial Exo Terra - Tamiya Avante - LC Racing EMB1 - Atomic AMZ 4WD Touring car
MrUnlimited is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 10:14 AM   #201
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrUnlimited View Post
Ok it is clear: the cogging can be solved with hardwiring. But what length should the wires be?
Huh??? They should only be as long as they have to be to get from motor to ESC, if your going to cut them then you customise length to fit. More length = more resistance.
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 11:38 AM   #202
Tech Addict
 
pole_position's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 523
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Mamba Max ESC to use with sensored brushless motor?

Guys,

Read from another thread that a typical mamba max esc can be mated with a sensored brushless motor like Novak, LRP etc. Is that really possible? Did anyone tried that?

Appreciate your input.
pole_position is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 11:45 AM   #203
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 737
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrUnlimited View Post
Did you hardwire them?
Yes,I cut the bannana connectors and the wires and i hardwired them.The wires now are about 17cm long.I could shorten them more but this length is good for me.
__________________
Whatever
Born2Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 12:56 PM   #204
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 245
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

I installed my MM ESC and Novak 6.5 in my Rustler, RS4 MT and 4-tec and have absolutely terrible cogging. I cannot give it more than 1/8 throttle when starting, even when I do, it will take at least a second to find the position. When I give it full throttle, it will just sit there for maybe 3-4 seconds (I am not exaggerating either) chattering back and forth before it will "jump" ahead and continue in the right directing. But if I give the car a small push and throttle it, or make sure the car is rolling before I nail the throttle, everything is fine. This is cogging right? I did solder gold-plated bullet plugs on the motor leads (as recommended to me) and I absolutely do need the disconnect capability. So you're saying that those 6mm plugs will solve my problem? I am using a Traxxas TQ2 radio system (spektrum is on the way hopefully) and GP3300 stick packs and tired IB3800 SxS packs also, is that a contributing factor to my problem?

Also, does someone have a set of those plugs they could sell me? I'm not paying more for shipping than the actual product... This whole brushless thing is getting more expensive everyday...
kavvika is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 12:59 PM   #205
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kavvika View Post
So you're saying that those 6mm plugs will solve my problem? I am using a Traxxas TQ2 radio system (spektrum is on the way hopefully) and GP3300 stick packs and tired IB3800 SxS packs also, is that a contributing factor to my problem?
No..I'm not. Your likely experiancing the effects of a non sensored ESC with a sensored motor. The plugs will help reduce the issue with all Mamba systems though.

Are you running Tamiya connectors on those stick packs? That is a good place to start if so...change to Deans.
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 01:06 PM   #206
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 245
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

The reason I went with that motor was because it was recommended for running extremely cool, had a sintered rotor, and supposibly worked with the MM ESC which I previously had. And I really do like the motor so far. Should I go out and get a sensored ESC? I want to be able to run mor ethan 7 cells eventually, so I think that rules out the Novak GTB, but could I use a Velineon ESC? Although it is farily large for an ESC, it should get rid of my issue.

I'm running Deans.

Oh, and I have timing and starting punch set all the way down in the software.
kavvika is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 01:10 PM   #207
Tech Master
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,533
Trader Rating: 139 (97%+)
Send a message via AIM to twistedone
Default

I bought the mm 6900 and put it in my t4 way too fast for it but have no problems so far with it I do remember it stating to not cut wires it will cause problems
I'm very happy so far and would buy this again for another car when I need too
twistedone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 05:28 PM   #208
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kavvika View Post
Should I go out and get a sensored ESC? I want to be able to run mor ethan 7 cells eventually, so I think that rules out the Novak GTB, but could I use a Velineon ESC? Although it is farily large for an ESC, it should get rid of my issue.
The issue you have is mixing the sensored and non sensored systems. The Velineon is also a non sensored system and likely will do no better with the Novak since its a sensored (not sintered...different term for rotor only) system. Are you class racing and need a 13.5?? If not I suggest your best bet and cheapest would be spend $80.00 on a Mamba 4600 motor. You can go to 10 cells or 3s lipo and runs cool...will be a bit faster then the 13.5 also.
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 08:13 PM   #209
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Collins Colorado
Posts: 206
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

just wanted to tell u the traxxas setup has a sensor port for sensored motors

and i wanted to let you all know that a novak motor can be used with a mamba max, i just got third in A main at the hobbytown annual fall classic, which is in it 11th year, is the largest event in the northern colorado area, there was down to e main in stock/13.5, i pitted my 13.5 mated to my mm against a field of 13.5 novaks and gtbs, plus 2 stockers. i would have done better than third but i had to make my way out of a massive crash made by the area @$$. just need to set the settings on the mm correctly and get used to no mashing the throttle

Nick
mxzhonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 09:02 PM   #210
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Carlinville IL
Posts: 670
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mxzhonkey View Post
just need to set the settings on the mm correctly
Nick
What are your settings?
dway100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mamba Micro Pro, mamba 8000kv, Spektrum 3001 rx, heat sink pinoyboy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-13-2008 06:19 PM
Mamba 4200 + Mamba 25 Shawner85 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 01-30-2008 05:54 PM
Mamba 5400 with mamba 25 esc for sale josh the 2nd R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 01-14-2007 04:11 PM
MAMBA COMPETITION X 2080 and data cable / mamba 6800kv with esc tmaxxking R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 05-23-2006 10:59 AM
Mamba 8000/Mamba 25 esc coolkide R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 12-23-2004 05:48 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:13 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net