R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-14-2007, 07:15 PM   #166
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 325
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

iam thinking about switching my LRP sphere/neo one 4star(with sintered rotor)
for a 7700 set up in my RC10T3. its quick now, but iam liking to idea of programing the esc on my lap top. am i going to be at any loss switching??
rc10guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 08:25 PM   #167
Tech Elite
 
yyhayyim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 3,424
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc10guy View Post
iam thinking about switching my LRP sphere/neo one 4star(with sintered rotor)
for a 7700 set up in my RC10T3. its quick now, but iam liking to idea of programing the esc on my lap top. am i going to be at any loss switching??
No loss buddy...after trying the Mamba system you'll never go back to anything else...
yyhayyim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 10:46 AM   #168
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 325
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

cool, i guess that made up my mind. dose anyone know what kind of rotor is used in the motor, is it multi piece like the old ones or is it bonded. and is there a sintered rotor?
rc10guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 11:29 AM   #169
Tech Elite
 
yyhayyim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 3,424
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc10guy View Post
cool, i guess that made up my mind. dose anyone know what kind of rotor is used in the motor, is it multi piece like the old ones or is it bonded. and is there a sintered rotor?
Its sintered, one solid piece. Its bullet proof. It can take abuse unlike Novak and LRP...once they hit 180F deg they are in trouble. The Mamma ESC and motor can still work well at 200F!
yyhayyim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 06:02 PM   #170
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 325
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

ya i blew up an reedy neo 1 rotor, replaced it with a sintered rotor, so far no problems..........but i like the mamba set up, as soon as i can dump my lrp set up iam gettin one.
rc10guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 07:05 PM   #171
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,142
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

If you like adjustability then the Mamba Max is the brushless speedo to get. It is virtually limitless in setups. It is the speedo for guys who like the fine tune and mess with stuff all the time.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 12:49 PM   #172
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wyd View Post
If you like adjustability then the Mamba Max is the brushless speedo to get. It is virtually limitless in setups. It is the speedo for guys who like the fine tune and mess with stuff all the time.

No doubt the Mamba is a great ESC for its own motors. But I sure had issues with trying to run it in brushed mode. I used it to run a stock co27T brushed motor and had cuttout issues. I thought it was the receiver, changed that, added a glitch buster, changed the motor...nothing worked. Finally I replaced the Mamba ESC with a cheesy POS $54.00 novak and problem solved.

ESC works fine on 3 wire, non sensored brushless Castle motors. Not what I'd expect from a "higher end" $135.00 ESC...they advertise brushed and brushless capable. Mabey so...if you dont need to win a race with it.
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 12:20 PM   #173
Tech Addict
 
Island Losi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Barbados
Posts: 473
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

here is how i shortened my motor wires. left some on the orginal wire (6 mm) in the circuit board and exposed it to form soldering post. then simply solder the big motor wire to it.


people always complain about the fitment of the mamba but if u turn the esc it fits just fine. the usb cable is facing the motor, thus if i want to make a change ill just take out the motor. i think this is better as i don't make changes to the profile that regular.
Attached Thumbnails
Mamba Max....-dscn1148.jpg   Mamba Max....-dscn1149.jpg   Mamba Max....-dscn1151.jpg  
Island Losi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2007, 11:19 AM   #174
Tech Addict
 
Island Losi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Barbados
Posts: 473
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

a fellow racer lost brakes during the race and has not get it back as yet. the esc is getting the signal but the motor would not brake. its a 7700 using spectrum. please help!!!!!

should he try reseting the esc?
Island Losi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2007, 12:08 PM   #175
Tech Elite
 
MrUnlimited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,465
Default

I have still problems with connecting the esc to my laptop. IT is still not seen. Strangly my mamba25 in my micro has no problems. The leds are burning but the usb is not seen by the CC software version 3.00. Can somebody explain me how this is possible?
MrUnlimited is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2007, 05:31 AM   #176
Tech Regular
 
barber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: babados
Posts: 269
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default lost my brakes

hi guys i lost my brakes mid way during a race and i can not get it back i have tried resetting every thing reloading the profile on the computer also binding the radio to the speed control ,when i brake the red light on the speed control lights up red but i get no brakes .i am running a cc7700kv motor and speed control.
__________________
BARBER SHOP RACING.
Hara Cyclone Edition,MAMBA 7700KV,Spectrum,
Mazdaspeed 6 Painted By McGoo Creations,
JR Z1,Orion 4300Mah,Ib 4200Mah,Ice,Rp,Trinity.
Race Prepaired & Driven By TEAM DRIVER (BARBER)
barber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2007, 10:25 AM   #177
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by barber View Post
hi guys i lost my brakes mid way during a race and i can not get it back i have tried resetting every thing reloading the profile on the computer also binding the radio to the speed control ,when i brake the red light on the speed control lights up red but i get no brakes .i am running a cc7700kv motor and speed control.
Does the car go in reverse? Also the obvious...what is the Spektrum brake percentage set to? You can over ride the brake % with those... and down to 60% and below the brakes do next to nothing on the 7700's.

If it's not that then IMO the speed control is next look.
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2007, 10:31 AM   #178
Tech Regular
 
barber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: babados
Posts: 269
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

car does not go in reverse and i am using a helios ex10 with the spectrum i have change the profile and it still does not work.
__________________
BARBER SHOP RACING.
Hara Cyclone Edition,MAMBA 7700KV,Spectrum,
Mazdaspeed 6 Painted By McGoo Creations,
JR Z1,Orion 4300Mah,Ib 4200Mah,Ice,Rp,Trinity.
Race Prepaired & Driven By TEAM DRIVER (BARBER)
barber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2007, 12:41 PM   #179
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by barber View Post
car does not go in reverse and i am using a helios ex10 with the spectrum i have change the profile and it still does not work.
Your light is turning red so signal in is OK. I'd check the output wires to the motor to make sure you have a solid connection. I had one break on my XXX-T from constant bouncing...finally broke wire just above the ESC mount post.

Next I'd check the ESC. If you could swap with someone to test then you'll know for certain. If your within 1 year, Castle should replace if thats it.

IMO working the software side likely not the issue here.
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2007, 07:03 PM   #180
Tech Regular
 
barber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: babados
Posts: 269
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Verndog View Post
Your light is turning red so signal in is OK. I'd check the output wires to the motor to make sure you have a solid connection. I had one break on my XXX-T from constant bouncing...finally broke wire just above the ESC mount post.

Next I'd check the ESC. If you could swap with someone to test then you'll know for certain. If your within 1 year, Castle should replace if thats it.

IMO working the software side likely not the issue here.
thanks i found the problem its the speedcontrol switch it and it worked.
__________________
BARBER SHOP RACING.
Hara Cyclone Edition,MAMBA 7700KV,Spectrum,
Mazdaspeed 6 Painted By McGoo Creations,
JR Z1,Orion 4300Mah,Ib 4200Mah,Ice,Rp,Trinity.
Race Prepaired & Driven By TEAM DRIVER (BARBER)
barber is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mamba Micro Pro, mamba 8000kv, Spektrum 3001 rx, heat sink pinoyboy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-13-2008 06:19 PM
Mamba 4200 + Mamba 25 Shawner85 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 01-30-2008 05:54 PM
Mamba 5400 with mamba 25 esc for sale josh the 2nd R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 01-14-2007 04:11 PM
MAMBA COMPETITION X 2080 and data cable / mamba 6800kv with esc tmaxxking R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 05-23-2006 10:59 AM
Mamba 8000/Mamba 25 esc coolkide R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 12-23-2004 05:48 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:54 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net