R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-29-2006, 11:42 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
coons88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 311
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to coons88
Default Ko Propo 2343

I am running a 2343 with my spektrum, and not enough power is being deliverd to te servo, causing it to pulse back and forth. I was planning to get some diodes so I could run the servo straight off the battery. The guy in the shop said he has had quite alot of experiance with 6v servos and said that they can quite easily run on up to 9v.
What do you think about that? Running the servo straight off the battery (about 8.5v) without any capacitors or diodes. Will it be ok, or could I blow the servo?

Thanks
__________________
Associated TC6.1 | Hobbywing V3 | LRP X12 | Spektrum | Futaba | Reedy
coons88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2006, 11:57 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
Drewdc90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunshine Coast Australia
Posts: 828
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

It would probably be better just to plug a cap into the receiver.
__________________
-Xray--Nosram--Orion--Trak Power--Duratrax--Spektrum--Futaba-

Sunshine Coast QLD AUSTRALIA

"If you stand still long enough you'll go backwards"
Drewdc90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2006, 12:04 AM   #3
Tech Regular
 
coons88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 311
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to coons88
Default

This is as a back up plan incase the capacitor doesn't work. I tried a capacitor today, it worked for about 20secs, then you had ot wait for like 10secs for it to charge up again. I don't think it was the correct rating though. I will buy a 4700uf 10v cap tomorrow and try it out.
__________________
Associated TC6.1 | Hobbywing V3 | LRP X12 | Spektrum | Futaba | Reedy
coons88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2006, 12:24 AM   #4
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 500
Send a message via AIM to RcCzarOfOld Send a message via MSN to RcCzarOfOld Send a message via Yahoo to RcCzarOfOld
Default

The more important question, what speedo are you running? If you're running an LRP or a KO, they don't have a 6v BEC. The LRP's are only 5v and the KO is 4.5. You could try a few things. Run the + servo wire directly to the battery, which will void your warranty in a heartbeat, run a RX pack or build a power booster circuit that will pump the voltage to the rx up to 6v.
RcCzarOfOld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2006, 12:35 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
coons88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 311
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to coons88
Default

I am running a Tekin G-11pro. It puts out 6v. Servo as been working fine on my PCM receiver. I tested both receivers, the PCM receiver put out 5.97v, spektrum receiver put out 5.66v

The options I was considering:
1. Run a capacitor
2. Run the servo off the spare wire from the G-11pro that is straight from the battery.
3. Run a receiver pack (but can't really fit it in my car, and adds unwanted weight, plus it just looks ugly)

First I will try a capacitor, if that fails I will try running straight off the battery, if all that fails I guess I will have ot resort to a receiver pack or buy a new servo.
__________________
Associated TC6.1 | Hobbywing V3 | LRP X12 | Spektrum | Futaba | Reedy
coons88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2006, 01:23 AM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
Drewdc90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunshine Coast Australia
Posts: 828
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

If you get the right cap you shouldn't have a problem.
__________________
-Xray--Nosram--Orion--Trak Power--Duratrax--Spektrum--Futaba-

Sunshine Coast QLD AUSTRALIA

"If you stand still long enough you'll go backwards"
Drewdc90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2006, 06:29 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Also speaking with Robert (a.k.a. KO Staff) Yes you can run off the battery but you will void the warrentee and by doing that to your servo you will put alot more wear on your servo motor and will greatly shorten its life.

Most Off Road Pro's do this to up the torque and speed of servos, they use 6 cells receiver packs or lipo without regulators. But they are spouncered and don't have to pay for their servos like us mear mortals.

Hope that helps,
And yes I had the same problem with my 2343, if you get the 4700 capasitor you should be fine.

-Shookie <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2006, 06:40 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
schmelme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,294
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

i run a 2343 and a 2344 in my 1/8 scale with the spektrum receiver with no problems. I assume this is an amp draw issue with bec in the speedo.
schmelme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2006, 08:03 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

I have spektrum (old version of the 2343 for steering) and KO in my TNX and it works fine...like Schmelme said, it's more likely the speed control.

On the motor versus voltage thing...first, running higher voltage doesn't wear the motor faster, if anything, it's the other way around. I can't tell you how the electronics on the circuit board will handle it, but if you go up in voltage, the motor will be under less stress/load/heat and draw less current.

Second, I've run 6-cell reciever packs (7.2V park flyer stuff) in my TNX forever...not a problem at all.
Turbo Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2006, 08:12 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
coons88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 311
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to coons88
Default

Thanks guys, just installed a 4700uf 16v cap, (10v was out of stock, but 16v is basically the same) and it works perfectly!
__________________
Associated TC6.1 | Hobbywing V3 | LRP X12 | Spektrum | Futaba | Reedy
coons88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ko propo 2343 pinggoy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 08-10-2006 10:29 PM
KO Propo 2343 Servo *Topher* R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 06-22-2006 03:56 PM
NIB Ko Propo PDS-2343 FET loosenut R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 08-10-2005 10:50 PM
TC4, B4, KO VFS Pro, KO Propo 2343, Greg Amendola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 43 04-27-2005 08:44 PM
KO Propo 2343 Servo *Never Used* scoobydo R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-14-2005 06:36 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:15 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net