R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-21-2006, 08:16 PM   #31
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,868
Trader Rating: 198 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CypressMidWest
Not really, I don't run enough to declare my packs as anything beyond "Previously Owned, and IB certified"
Are you running this weekend at the HobbyTown track? I may if I can pull it off.
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2006, 08:23 PM   #32
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Adelaide..
Posts: 3,414
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to v0rtex Send a message via AIM to v0rtex Send a message via MSN to v0rtex
Default

Can you run the DPD without the AA's and use your power supply to power it instead?
__________________
;)
v0rtex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2006, 08:39 PM   #33
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: E-Town Posse
Posts: 1,573
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

no u cant hook it up to a power supply and i havent had the discharger long enough to find out barttery life on the AA's
__________________
Team Associated, Reedy, Tekin, Futaba, Putnam, Protoform, BSR, SXT, Reflex Racing, McPappy Racing, TQ Wire, Swifty Designs
Jeff Cuffs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2006, 07:06 AM   #34
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgeguy
I have done that. I have also been at races where the circuit breaker opened and lost power. Mine still works just as good as day 1.

You may have had a defective unit or some other problem.
I guess i just had bad luck my unit stop working after that episode, i send it in now for some time and still did not get it back, so i guess it was damage that bad for them to take so long to get it fix, i know if you do put the pack in the wrong it will also make a sound while the unit is still plug in the supply but that was not the cause.

Last edited by Mutabarucka; 06-22-2006 at 10:23 AM.
Mutabarucka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2006, 07:22 AM   #35
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,868
Trader Rating: 198 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Cuffs
no u cant hook it up to a power supply and i havent had the discharger long enough to find out barttery life on the AA's

I have asked this question here and on the other thread about this discharger.

But how long does it take to discharge a pack both after a run and after a charge?
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2006, 07:40 AM   #36
Tech Regular
 
drew85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 399
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I am getting mine soon, I will have a full report
drew85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2006, 10:14 AM   #37
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: E-Town Posse
Posts: 1,573
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Dodgeguy. it all depends on what type of batteries you are running how much time u used during the race
__________________
Team Associated, Reedy, Tekin, Futaba, Putnam, Protoform, BSR, SXT, Reflex Racing, McPappy Racing, TQ Wire, Swifty Designs
Jeff Cuffs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2006, 10:41 AM   #38
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 352
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

OK, I'll ask the follow question for Dodgeguy to Jeff Cuffs - I'm running 3800's, in a T.C. running stock, after a 5 minute race, how long to discharge the pack? 5-10 minutes or 2 -3 hours? Just looking for a estimate.
hobbyman_7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2006, 11:09 AM   #39
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,868
Trader Rating: 198 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hobbyman_7
OK, I'll ask the follow question for Dodgeguy to Jeff Cuffs - I'm running 3800's, in a T.C. running stock, after a 5 minute race, how long to discharge the pack? 5-10 minutes or 2 -3 hours? Just looking for a estimate.
Thanks hobbyman
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2006, 01:51 PM   #40
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: E-Town Posse
Posts: 1,573
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

ok look at it this way. its a 5 amp discharge. if your 3800 has 500 secs of run time at 30 amps it will take 3000 secs to discharge a fully charge pack. Now i normally come back with 150 secs left in the batt racing 19t so it would take 900 secs to discharge that pack. What ever u normally come back wth it will take 6 times longer. hope this helps.
__________________
Team Associated, Reedy, Tekin, Futaba, Putnam, Protoform, BSR, SXT, Reflex Racing, McPappy Racing, TQ Wire, Swifty Designs
Jeff Cuffs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2006, 01:56 PM   #41
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,868
Trader Rating: 198 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Cuffs
ok look at it this way. its a 5 amp discharge. if your 3800 has 500 secs of run time at 30 amps it will take 3000 secs to discharge a fully charge pack. Now i normally come back with 150 secs left in the batt racing 19t so it would take 900 secs to discharge that pack. What ever u normally come back wth it will take 6 times longer. hope this helps.
I guess I need to be very clear for you to understand this. It almost seems like you are avoiding the question.

#1-I would not discharge the pack at 5 amps after a run. I would use a 30amp rate. So I am not interested in the time it would take to discharge at 5 amps. Anyway who discharges at 5 amps after they run?

#2-How much time would it take to discharge at the 30 amp pulse rate? I'm running 3800's, in a T.C. running stock, after a 5 minute race, how long to discharge the pack? 5-10 minutes or 2 -3 hours? Just looking for a estimate.

#3- I would use the 5 amp rate to equalize the pack before charging. I would use a .75v cutoff for each cell.
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2006, 02:24 PM   #42
Tech Elite
 
L.Fairtrace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Beyond the Wall
Posts: 3,772
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to L.Fairtrace
Default

I think your too worried about the time it takes, I'm guessing 10 minutes for a pack after a race. Thats what it takes on the MM one and this one is very similar, I think its on for 2.5 seconds and rests for .5
__________________
Awesomatix USA - EaMotorsports - RocheUSA - MonTech - Sanwa - BSR Racing Tires - TQ Wire - Solaris Racing Tires - Side Piece Racing

180 and 360 Raceway. Best on the East Coast. Take your pick
L.Fairtrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2006, 02:33 PM   #43
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,868
Trader Rating: 198 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by L.Fairtrace
I think your too worried about the time it takes, I'm guessing 10 minutes for a pack after a race. Thats what it takes on the MM one and this one is very similar, I think its on for 2.5 seconds and rests for .5
I do not think it is like the MM unit at all. It claims to have a 30amp discharge but a in a Dyna pulse way. I am trying to get an official word on the unit.

If it does pulse discharge like a MM than that is great. But my Dyna Pulse takes about 6 hours to discharge a fully charged pack. And about 3-4 hours after a run.
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2006, 02:38 PM   #44
Tech Elite
 
L.Fairtrace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Beyond the Wall
Posts: 3,772
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to L.Fairtrace
Default

This is not offical but I saw one being used last weekend and it definatley didnt take hours. The person was discharging his back between heats at a club race and mostl likely faster.
__________________
Awesomatix USA - EaMotorsports - RocheUSA - MonTech - Sanwa - BSR Racing Tires - TQ Wire - Solaris Racing Tires - Side Piece Racing

180 and 360 Raceway. Best on the East Coast. Take your pick
L.Fairtrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2006, 11:00 PM   #45
Tech Regular
 
drew85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 399
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Whos cares how long it takes? When it says done your good, other then that wheres the fire?
drew85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which one will u get? Trinity's new Discharger or MM CTX-D2 straightaway Electric On-Road 35 10-18-2006 11:14 PM
Trinity's 4200'a 4 packs dawgmeat R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 07-14-2006 09:15 AM
Trinity's IB 4200 dawgmeat Electric On-Road 0 06-26-2006 06:56 AM
trinity's new battery packs ajg Electric On-Road 5 03-29-2004 06:29 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:02 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net