R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-17-2006, 05:14 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
reddragon042391's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Default Is it possible to put a 2-speed tranny in an electric?

Do you think it is?
reddragon042391 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 05:25 PM   #2
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 7,211
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Yes. HPI used to sell one. Problem is they don't work very well. The shift point changes as the battery loses power.
jiml is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 05:59 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
Ed Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: N.J.
Posts: 1,373
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Kyosho made one too for the tf-2/tf-3's. I won't say it didn't work well, but you didn't have any brakes. LOL Don't know what they were thinking!
Attached Thumbnails
Is it possible to put a 2-speed tranny in an electric?-tf2-2sp.jpg  

Last edited by Ed Anderson; 06-17-2006 at 06:12 PM.
Ed Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 08:59 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
Johnathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Texas!
Posts: 765
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Anderson
Kyosho made one too for the tf-2/tf-3's. I won't say it didn't work well, but you didn't have any brakes. LOL Don't know what they were thinking!
well, if you think about it, you cant!!! the cintrufical clutches engauge with the higher rpm, and because it has 2 sets of gears, it has to have one way bearings. because of that, it cannot brake under its own power.

a 2 speed would be fun though.... traxxas mad a 2 speed for an e-maxx, it uses a servo to switch to 2nd. if only you could cram a servo, and all the gears into a tc4... lol
Johnathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 09:58 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: San Diego, Ca.
Posts: 1,024
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

AYK had one for the Pro Radiant that actually worked pretty good.......
Mdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 10:05 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
18SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 264
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to 18SS
Talking

ya man lol it can happen lol and me and my buddies have tryed lol it was $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ lol but it did work lol but it did as u said didnt break lol.

what we had to do, to get it in the AE TC3

cut the chasse and the drive shaft lol
get a HPI RS4 3 trany and drive shafts
and jam it alllllllllllll in there and we racced went faster with the 2 speed the in the *STOCK* setings lol and but tests we tryed it with the stock 19t motor lol and with the 2speed whel for us it acter like a 12t motor

peace-johnny
18SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 10:15 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
Jeff Brown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,913
Default

Schumacher recently released the Menace GTRe which is a 3 speed electric car. We had one at Superior Hobbies and sold it to a customer and put a hacker motor/speedo in it. It is nuts. It uses the nitro style braking on it.

Jeff
__________________
SXT Traction Compounds | www.TractionCompound.com
Jeff Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2006, 07:19 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
teamgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hampton/VA Beach USA
Posts: 2,089
Default

I have a buddy who has made a few custom 2 speed trannys (including custom titanium layshaft) that works on all XRAY T1's except the FK05. He's an electric drag racing driver and built it for such use. For anyone interested, he'll probably still make them . Just shoot me a PM.

The tranny worked great when I tested it on my old FK04. Although I had a Nitro style setup with a front one-way and Nitro foams. With the ESC set to maximum drag brake and the softer/wider rear foams, the braking worked surprisingly well without oversteer. Finding the right setup for each track will be a bit more critical when racing though.

I never ran it in a 5 minute race, but I'd assume if you used a Li-poly battery, the 2nd gear should engage more consistently throughout the entire run.
__________________
Guy Hood
Sponsored by: Team XRAY / Team RC America / RB Products USA
/ Twister Tires USA / Maxy's Mods & Fuel / Parma PSE / Zubaks
Un-sponsored Shoutout: NexusRacing.com
*** 301 Raceway is my home away from Home ***
teamgp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HPI 2 speed Tranny (new unused) & 3 Speed Tranny (2 tanks new) Timmahh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 46 10-19-2007 10:13 AM
2 Speed Tranny Brandon R Electric On-Road 3 04-30-2004 11:44 AM
HPI RS4 Pro2 electric w/ 2-speed tranny!!!! lutach R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 10-13-2003 12:58 PM
HPI RS4 Pro2 electric w/ 2-speed tranny!!!! lutach Electric On-Road 0 10-13-2003 11:46 AM
2 speed tranny SubaruWRC Electric On-Road 1 06-20-2003 10:53 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:17 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net