Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
CE Turbo 35 GFX Lipo Update Coming Soon >

CE Turbo 35 GFX Lipo Update Coming Soon

CE Turbo 35 GFX Lipo Update Coming Soon

Reply

Old 06-14-2006, 12:47 PM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 12
Default CE Turbo 35 GFX Lipo Update Coming Soon

http://www.competitionelectronics.com/GFX.html
rugripper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2006, 07:33 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
 
newracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Timnath, Colorado
Posts: 1,523
Default

That is great news!!!
newracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2006, 08:02 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Default

I was wondering if I was going to have to give mine up when I go Lipo... Just going to have to part with it to send it in....
vtl1180ny is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2006, 09:22 PM
  #4  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 313
Default

Just hope they hurry up, want to get mine done before carpet season, dont need it now while running nitro.
tarheelquality is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2006, 09:31 PM
  #5  
Tech Regular
 
new92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Middleburg (Jax), FL
Posts: 356
Default

Good thing I saw this lol. I was about to send mine in next week for a tune up and the 1.6 update. Think I will just wait and get it all done at once now lol
new92 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2006, 08:43 AM
  #6  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 50
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

So far, all they have for a date is "before the fall" though.

So, August?
Jon3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2006, 08:55 AM
  #7  
Tech Elite
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Default

How long is it going to take is the question.... I don't want to send it in in august and then be down a charger come september....
vtl1180ny is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2006, 10:42 AM
  #8  
Tech Master
 
newracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Timnath, Colorado
Posts: 1,523
Default

It should be fast, all it would be is a software upgrade. Unless they add a temp probe. That would be really cool!!!
newracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2006, 10:53 AM
  #9  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
XrayFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by newracer
It should be fast, all it would be is a software upgrade. Unless they add a temp probe. That would be really cool!!!
I doubt the upgrade would have new hardware, but who knows...it is CE.
XrayFK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2006, 11:18 AM
  #10  
Tech Elite
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Default

A temp probe would be excellent, not getting my hopes up though. I figure once I go lipo I'm not going back.
vtl1180ny is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2006, 02:15 PM
  #11  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
killingtime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,658
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Wouldn't it be wise add the temp probe if you are going to be charging LiPo? I know charging NiMh packs it would be nice to have but not absolutely necessary.... but I believe LiPo is a different story.
killingtime is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2006, 02:57 PM
  #12  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (16)
 
Chris08527's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: 732
Posts: 2,156
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

i sent mine in for the last update turn around time was really fast i say less then 10 days from the time i shipped it out to the time i got it back to my door . . .
Chris08527 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2006, 03:08 PM
  #13  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 50
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by vtl1180ny
How long is it going to take is the question.... I don't want to send it in in august and then be down a charger come september....
Thats why I just bought an older 1.5 box to go with my new 1.6. I'll send in the 1.5, then when I get it back, send in the 1.6
Jon3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2006, 03:09 PM
  #14  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 50
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by killingtime
Wouldn't it be wise add the temp probe if you are going to be charging LiPo? I know charging NiMh packs it would be nice to have but not absolutely necessary.... but I believe LiPo is a different story.
LIPO is a straight voltage cutoff charge. A temperature probe would be nice feature, but if the voltage cutoff works properly and people program the right pack cell count into the charger, would be un-necessary.
Jon3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2006, 09:00 PM
  #15  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 289
Default

Awesome.
TheZoof is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service