R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-30-2006, 08:27 AM   #16
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 936
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

It's funny how a thread like this pops up about once everyother week comparing some other charger with the Cell-Master. Hand's down the Cell-Master is the way to go. I run two of them and they work great.
Tony Vega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2006, 09:15 AM   #17
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 3,121
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to A. Rhodes
Default

The Cell Master is the one you should keep
__________________
Retired from RC....
Quantum - St. Croix - Bass Pro Shops - XPS - Rapala
A. Rhodes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2006, 10:09 AM   #18
Tech Initiate
 
gizmo360's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 35
Default thanks

im getting the picture now then ! SELL THE ROBITRONIC ! thanks
gizmo360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2006, 02:40 PM   #19
Tech Addict
 
Nicadrauspro4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Automobili Lamborghini S.p.A., Italy
Posts: 674
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo360
im getting the picture now then ! SELL THE ROBITRONIC ! thanks
Good decision! Or you can still use that as your 2nd charger, instead of selling it if you don't really need the extra cash.

__________________
works1200.weebly.com
nicadraus-lamborghini.weebly.com
Nicadrauspro4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2006, 03:23 PM   #20
Tech Initiate
 
gizmo360's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 35
Default

or i could sell it and get another Cell Master !
does anyone know if there is a new model coming sometime soon ! the cell master is old now is it not ! and must be due for an update ??
gizmo360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2006, 03:36 PM   #21
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 936
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Don't know of any updates and if there were, the charger is upgradeable. Just buy it from a reliable source. The charger has an interface on the side for upgrades but the guys from Much-More have assured us in other threads that there is no new Cell-Master. Version 1.0 is the latest.
Tony Vega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2006, 06:02 PM   #22
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 8,366
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone out there honestly believe that these chargers are better than the Cell Master??? thats just silly
__________________
Tekno|JConcepts|TeamTrinity|BOOMrc
Bob Barry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 10:03 AM   #23
Tech Initiate
 
gizmo360's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 35
Default

what kind of capacity are you guys getting with your GP3700 cells on the much more ? i get about 3300 cap when it peaks ?! is this about right !
cap is set to 4200, peak at 6 amp, 6mv cut, temp 48

ta
gizmo360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 10:31 AM   #24
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 3,121
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to A. Rhodes
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo360
what kind of capacity are you guys getting with your GP3700 cells on the much more ? i get about 3300 cap when it peaks ?! is this about right !
cap is set to 4200, peak at 6 amp, 6mv cut, temp 48

ta
You have you cut off set to low. The cut off is per pack, not per cell. I usually have mine set at 36mv, but I only use the peak charge for re-peaking packs. All of my packs are charged using the CTX Step charge. You may also want to lower the temp. cut off, 48 is the high side of the factory recommendations.

As for capacity, using the Cell Master & CTXD in cunjunction, I have been having packs peak (3800) 4200mah and over.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Retired from RC....
Quantum - St. Croix - Bass Pro Shops - XPS - Rapala
A. Rhodes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 10:39 AM   #25
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 8,366
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I charge at 6 amp linear with 03 cutoff and the cap set at 4800 and my packs usually hit 4000mah. (mine are 3800's). I think its very important to equalize your cells before you charge. And if your running GP's and 19T or Stock you should be dead shorting your cells anyway.
__________________
Tekno|JConcepts|TeamTrinity|BOOMrc
Bob Barry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 11:25 AM   #26
Tech Fanatic
 
Nexus Racing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 848
Default

Yup, equalizing before charge helps to get plenty more mAH into the pack.
As packs get older, they will then take lower and lower mAH inputs during charge. It also depends on the nature of the cell...different batches of 3800's with the same run-time tend to take different mAH inputs.
__________________
NEXUSRACING.com
Nexus Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 02:06 PM   #27
Tech Addict
 
Nicadrauspro4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Automobili Lamborghini S.p.A., Italy
Posts: 674
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo360
what kind of capacity are you guys getting with your GP3700 cells on the much more ? i get about 3300 cap when it peaks ?! is this about right !
cap is set to 4200, peak at 6 amp, 6mv cut, temp 48

ta
My 3800 batts get a capacity of 4200++. Some a little bit lower. But it's still above the 3800. I set my Cellmaster to 4.5A. Charging is slower than 6A but it's much better for me. Try lowering the Amp charge setting.

__________________
works1200.weebly.com
nicadraus-lamborghini.weebly.com
Nicadrauspro4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 04:27 PM   #28
Tech Initiate
 
gizmo360's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 35
Default IB4200

THIS IS MY SETTINGS !

ctx charge
1=3000 @7.0 amp
2=3080 @0.2 amp
3=5000 @5.0 amp

temp 48,
delta peak 06
6 cells

is this wrong ??? i got told to set the peak cut at 6mv so am i wrong !

if someone says set cutt off to 5mvpc then do i set to 30 on the CM ?

Last edited by gizmo360; 05-31-2006 at 04:57 PM.
gizmo360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2006, 02:20 AM   #29
Tech Regular
 
nino_pohan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 280
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo360
what kind of capacity are you guys getting with your GP3700 cells on the much more ? i get about 3300 cap when it peaks ?! is this about right !
cap is set to 4200, peak at 6 amp, 6mv cut, temp 48

ta
I have same problem with MM cell master too. I buy new IB3600 match, first charge i get 4300mah but 2nd,3rd.... only get 3300mah. i set cap 4500,chg rate 5A,03 cutoff, temp 48. i eq with rayspeed before charge. So i sell the charger and get pulsar2. with pulsar2 set delta peak 15mv my IB3600 get 3800mah, eq before charge.

Last edited by nino_pohan; 06-01-2006 at 03:16 AM.
nino_pohan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2006, 07:06 AM   #30
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 936
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo360
THIS IS MY SETTINGS !

ctx charge
1=3000 @7.0 amp
2=3080 @0.2 amp
3=5000 @5.0 amp

temp 48,
delta peak 06
6 cells

is this wrong ??? i got told to set the peak cut at 6mv so am i wrong !

if someone says set cutt off to 5mvpc then do i set to 30 on the CM ?
Your settings seem ok. I use either the ones listed on Nexus Racing's website or on MuchMores.


CTX charge for IB3800/4200 GP3700

Step 1/3
3000mA 7.0A
Flex off
Step 2/3
3030 0.2A
Flex off
Step 3/3
5000mA 4.5A
Flex off
Temp 50
delta peak 06

Honestly I never really worry about what goes into the pack as long as I condition them properly but using either a Spintec (GP's only) and a Novak Smart Tray right before charging them. The CTX charging methods are really good and the delta peak is so sensitive that I am confident that the charger is going to bring my batteries up to their full potential. Will you be running the on-road nats next week? If so, stop by the Losi pits and ask for me. I'll help you with your charger and we can compare results from your charger to one of mine.
Tony Vega is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Robitronic Overloader charger Grindog001 Electric On-Road 17 05-28-2006 04:04 PM
Robitronic Overloader Charger Tony Rivas Electric On-Road 23 05-27-2006 02:15 AM
Robitronic Dyno - Pro Master II Canuck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 01-23-2006 04:21 PM
Charging GP1100 with robitronic overloader al1_be Electric On-Road 1 09-30-2005 08:20 PM
ROBITRONIC Pro-Master II jeepnyy Electric On-Road 12 08-02-2004 10:24 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:57 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net