R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road-2/)
-   -   English Vocabulary and RC/Real cars (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/115588-english-vocabulary-rc-real-cars.html)

rcnewb2004 05-27-2006 05:34 AM

English Vocabulary and RC/Real cars

I am a newb at RC and a newb at teaching... doing a unit in physics high school... and wanted to throw a little extra into the course... but I just discovered that my understanding of the words below are weak... anyone here that can lend a hand? :smile:

(Sorta my effor to promote the hobby)

English Question:
What is a (when people say they mount shocks on their cars..) Shock?

What is a Damper?

What is a Suspension?

What is a Shock Absorber?

Smoking motor.. 05-27-2006 09:56 AM

Easier to explain if you see for your self

http://travel.howstuffworks.com/mountain-bike4.htm

Terminolgy is the same for cars but oil to dampen the suspension.
Read up on it Elvo setup guide also has a lot of useful information.
Cant remember the web addy for the life of me.

andsetinn 05-27-2006 10:05 AM

Originally Posted by rcnewb2004
I am a newb at RC and a newb at teaching... doing a unit in physics high school... and wanted to throw a little extra into the course... but I just discovered that my understanding of the words below are weak... anyone here that can lend a hand? :smile:

English Question:

What is a Damper?

What is a Suspension?

Here is my Friday answer, hikk. :D

When you mount shocks to your car you're messing with the electronics so that every time someone touches it he gets electric shock.
Dampers are stuff you add to the shocks so they're not lethal, you damp the shock.
Shock absorber is the thing you carry around to absorb the shock when you touch your car. You wouldn't want get shocked every time you touched your car. Therefore you need the shock absorber.