R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-13-2006, 07:42 PM   #76
Tech Master
 
TigeRyan's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 1,389
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to TigeRyan
Default

Pat,

I have an FK'04 so I have a jumper wire, but to help make the cells sit better for my test pack I removed the jumper wire so I have two 3 cell packs essentially. I cleaned the contacts and made sure the solder joints have a good contact area. So my packs are no different then a 6 cell pack at this point. The pack I am testing I put 1000 seconds of charge into it to be sure I had a good test bed.

Thanks for the help,
John
__________________
SixFootTiger Cell Phone R/C Calculator - http://cell.sixfoottiger.com -
Android Marketing Place - R/C Calculator (https://market.android.com/details?id=com.sixfoottiger.andoid.rccalc&feature=search_result)
TigeRyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2006, 07:49 PM   #77
Tech Regular
 
Pat Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Easton, Pa
Posts: 303
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TigeRyan
Pat,

I have an FK'04 so I have a jumper wire, but to help make the cells sit better for my test pack I removed the jumper wire so I have two 3 cell packs essentially. I cleaned the contacts and made sure the solder joints have a good contact area. So my packs are no different then a 6 cell pack at this point. The pack I am testing I put 1000 seconds of charge into it to be sure I had a good test bed.

Thanks for the help,
John
Ok if you have "2" 3 cell packs re-install your jumper wire or a battey bar... The unit will only work if all 6 cells are connected..(or 4 for a 4cell pack)

When you put your pack into the unit make sure that there are 3 battery bars closest to the top (next to were is says DPD on the unit) and 2 bars along the bottom (next to the display) your tabs for soldering on your wires will be closest to the display as well.... You may have to install your pack so the tabs for the wires are facing down in the unit... Hope this helps...
__________________
Associated, Reedy, Tekin, Tq Wire, Protoform, Veytrec Design Lab

Last edited by Pat Clark; 08-13-2006 at 08:24 PM.
Pat Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2006, 07:54 PM   #78
Tech Master
 
TigeRyan's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 1,389
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to TigeRyan
Default

Warming up the iron and will let you know how it goes in a few minutes...
__________________
SixFootTiger Cell Phone R/C Calculator - http://cell.sixfoottiger.com -
Android Marketing Place - R/C Calculator (https://market.android.com/details?id=com.sixfoottiger.andoid.rccalc&feature=search_result)
TigeRyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2006, 07:00 PM   #79
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: san leandro ca.
Posts: 260
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I got my's today it was easy to use it works well.
ptjonesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2006, 07:47 PM   #80
Tech Master
 
maxepower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Aliso Viejo, Calif.
Posts: 1,633
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Unhappy discharging older cells!!!!

It's a little frustrating trying to discharge old practice packs. Still getting the error to check connection or only showing 4 cells instead of six.! Cleaning the battery posts helps sometimes but not always! Newer cells, no problem, just struggling with the older packs!
Any suggestions?
__________________
Tamiya Track Local. 10,000 Watts of power! ($5 donations for gas appreciated)
Proud Father of GT-1 Past Champion!"Hey, I got to go to Japan too!
FF03,TA-05V2 ,EVO-6,TA-07,TRF419W,EXOTEK-6
"Tamiya Racer to Infinity and Beyond!"
maxepower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2006, 08:17 PM   #81
Tech Master
 
TigeRyan's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 1,389
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to TigeRyan
Default

What I figured out was that your solder on the ends of the cells needs to be nice and shiney, so if you it dirty or a bit corroded, use a hot iron to liquify the solder and clean it up...Every pack I have done that to so far has gone in much easier....
__________________
SixFootTiger Cell Phone R/C Calculator - http://cell.sixfoottiger.com -
Android Marketing Place - R/C Calculator (https://market.android.com/details?id=com.sixfoottiger.andoid.rccalc&feature=search_result)
TigeRyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2006, 08:25 PM   #82
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,238
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TigeRyan
What I figured out was that your solder on the ends of the cells needs to be nice and shiney, so if you it dirty or a bit corroded, use a hot iron to liquify the solder and clean it up...Every pack I have done that to so far has gone in much easier....
I wouldn't apply heat to the ends of the cells any more than necessary.

Just clean the ends up with motor spray and a rag.
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 01:35 AM   #83
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: san leandro ca.
Posts: 260
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TigeRyan
What I figured out was that your solder on the ends of the cells needs to be nice and shiney, so if you it dirty or a bit corroded, use a hot iron to liquify the solder and clean it up...Every pack I have done that to so far has gone in much easier....
you can use deoxit or rail zap these are used to remove oxidaion on any electronic surface. I have use my's to discharge five 6 cell pack and so far it is working very well.
ptjonesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 09:36 PM   #84
Tech Elite
 
dr_hfuhuhurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 4,503
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default

I've not been a Trinity fan for some time. This discharger has REALLY impressed me. I like the AA batteries, I agree with whoever said it here, one less set of wires streaming across the table. I like the display, Like the features. Great little unit!
__________________
"There is a fine line between hobby and mental illness. Which side are you on?"

“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.” - John Wayne
dr_hfuhuhurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2006, 12:48 AM   #85
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: san leandro ca.
Posts: 260
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

So far I have checked eight battery packs three of the eight were bad some the cell had voltage but had loss capacity with this I would have never known
ptjonesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2006, 07:25 PM   #86
Tech Adept
 
lonepalm4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 99
Default

i like it so far too, but can't figure out why on one discharge, it looks like a cell is dead, then the next time, a different cell looks like is has puked (by runtime) but the other cells are all fine. this has happened on all my packs. wierd. otherwise, it works very well.
lonepalm4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 07:48 AM   #87
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 745
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The Trinity DPD is the real deal. Great discharger for the price.

Here are the numbers off a new 1.206 @ 35 IB3800 pack:

11 resistance
463 runtime
7.36 average voltage
3915 mah
ghuber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 10:36 AM   #88
Tech Elite
 
BSchorr's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 4,820
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BSchorr Send a message via Yahoo to BSchorr Send a message via Skype™ to BSchorr
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghuber
The Trinity DPD is the real deal. Great discharger for the price.

Here are the numbers off a new 1.206 @ 35 IB3800 pack:

11 resistance
463 runtime
7.36 average voltage
3915 mah

So that was a fully charged pack? How long did it take?

Can you do a test to see how long it takes to discharge at teh 30amp pulse after a 5 minute race? I usualy discharge about 1500 out of my IB3800's, but i was wondering how long it would take for the DPD to do it in the 30 amp mode
__________________
Proline ~ Genesis R/C Products ~ First Premier Satellites
BSchorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 10:51 AM   #89
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 745
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BSchorr
So that was a fully charged pack? How long did it take?

Can you do a test to see how long it takes to discharge at teh 30amp pulse after a 5 minute race? I usualy discharge about 1500 out of my IB3800's, but i was wondering how long it would take for the DPD to do it in the 30 amp mode
A fully charged IB3800 takes me like 1:15 minutes or so to discharge.

I have yet to try, but I estimate it would take about 20 minutes for a pack after racing.
ghuber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 10:55 AM   #90
Tech Elite
 
BSchorr's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 4,820
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BSchorr Send a message via Yahoo to BSchorr Send a message via Skype™ to BSchorr
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghuber
A fully charged IB3800 takes me like 1:15 minutes or so to discharge.

I have yet to try, but I estimate it would take about 20 minutes for a pack after racing.

OK, when your in the 5 amp mod, does it tell you how many mah's it has taken out of the pack then? If you could see, see how long it takes to do 1400mah. Im strapped for time as it is racing. Is it better to use the DPD after you race for the day and store your packs at 5.4, then do the 5 amp lnear tray to .7 like EA said or to do the 3 amp mode when you come back the next week to race?
__________________
Proline ~ Genesis R/C Products ~ First Premier Satellites
BSchorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re: FS Trinity Dyna-Pro Digital Discharger Benq R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 07-24-2008 05:50 AM
Trinity DPD Digital Discharger $90 barnacle R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 21 09-14-2007 07:47 AM
Trinity Digital Discharger $80.00! Like New chrisf608 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 01-29-2007 08:52 PM
Trinity DPD digital pro discharger! Fabulous R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 11-11-2006 10:43 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:18 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net