R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-28-2007, 11:14 PM   #256
Tech Master
 
maxepower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Aliso Viejo, Calif.
Posts: 1,633
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Exclamation Reduced discharge time!

Don't know if anybody has tried this or if this is recommended by Trinity but I've used the external pulse discharger on my batteries first then equalized them on the internal. I've reduced my discharge time by half! The batteries do get warm but not hot! So, your getting the benefit of the pulse but then after their done you can equalize them afterwards, then start charging! I've done this when I was short on time. I believe the time is reduced because the external doesn't stop pulsing at 30 amps after one cell is done.
The internal pulses 30 amps after one cell reaches .9v then it only pulses at a very low amperage until all the cells reach .9v, that's whats causing the long discharge time!
Let me know if anyone has done this or any comments on this procedure!
maxepower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 02:54 AM   #257
Tech Addict
 
magm20001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 546
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxepower View Post
Don't know if anybody has tried this or if this is recommended by Trinity but I've used the external pulse discharger on my batteries first then equalized them on the internal. I've reduced my discharge time by half! The batteries do get warm but not hot! So, your getting the benefit of the pulse but then after their done you can equalize them afterwards, then start charging! I've done this when I was short on time. I believe the time is reduced because the external doesn't stop pulsing at 30 amps after one cell is done.
The internal pulses 30 amps after one cell reaches .9v then it only pulses at a very low amperage until all the cells reach .9v, that's whats causing the long discharge time!
Let me know if anyone has done this or any comments on this procedure!
and risk cell reversal.

if you have one cell that is much lower than the others, thus taking forever to discharge, this is telling you something.... u have a dud cell

if you have a good equlized pack, the 1amp discharge stage should only take 10 or so minutes.
magm20001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 04:00 AM   #258
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,208
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

that's right.
when u do an external pack discharge, there is absolutely no way it will know if one cell has dropped below 0.9v because it's looking at the pack as a whole.
__________________
YOKObori MOkei
wyl03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 06:36 AM   #259
Tech Elite
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,628
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

IF your using external just after a run in your car i dont think cell reversal is an issue. IF your trying to run a pack 2-3 times in one day this is no different then dumping on a T35 after a run and hitting the tray. But i would not be doing this on a pack thats been stored with partial charge for a week or so, as then your risking pulling one or two cells down bellow .9 while other cells still hold capacity... Still its not a true 30amps and i would not even worry about it that much, you would not throw an stored pack on at 30amps liniar from a turbo 35 for sure.

IF a cell keeps showig up as a weak cell the DPD has done its job and pointed out a dud. I have cycled and resorted dozens of packs and have turned crappy packs into usable race packs
__________________
"Without Rules its just Backyard Bashing!"
www.rcottawa.com
Joel Lagace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 08:19 AM   #260
Tech Fanatic
 
jrxs-r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 831
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Just a question here... Has anyone tried opening up the case to switch the polarity order around? By this I mean switching cell 1 with cell 6, cell 2 with 5, cell 3 with 4. In theory this will allow for a sideXside pack with the opposite polarity to be used on the DPD. I don't have any packs that are assembled in the normal order of the DPD, so switching wouldn't faze me. Also, its a S/H unit, so no warranty either!

Normal DPD polarity:
+ - + - + -
| | | | | |
- + - + - +

Polarity of my cells:
- + - + - +
| | | | | |
+ - + - + -

Was thinking about it, and it shouldn't matter. Just have to note that the cell numbers displayed on the screen would be reversed.
__________________
Cheers,
Zack
___________________________________________________________________________
Proudly Sponsored by Stanbridges Hobbies
Serpent S411
jrxs-r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 08:54 AM   #261
Tech Addict
 
Island Losi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Barbados
Posts: 473
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joel Lagace View Post
IF your using external just after a run in your car i dont think cell reversal is an issue. IF your trying to run a pack 2-3 times in one day this is no different then dumping on a T35 after a run and hitting the tray. But i would not be doing this on a pack thats been stored with partial charge for a week or so, as then your risking pulling one or two cells down bellow .9 while other cells still hold capacity... Still its not a true 30amps and i would not even worry about it that much, you would not throw an stored pack on at 30amps liniar from a turbo 35 for sure.

IF a cell keeps showig up as a weak cell the DPD has done its job and pointed out a dud. I have cycled and resorted dozens of packs and have turned crappy packs into usable race packs
how did u go about restorin these packs to good form?
__________________
Yokomo|SpeedPassion|McgooCreative|TeamOrion|FusionPower|Futaba|Spektrum|RP|Trinity|Protoform
Island Losi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 11:18 AM   #262
Tech Master
 
adamge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Saskatoon,SK Canada
Posts: 1,654
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Zack, I opened mine up thinking it was defective. Turned out it just doesn't work on 5cell packs. I highly doubt you could switch it around internally - it might even be IMPossible. Can't you just turn your pack over and/or spin it around?
__________________
When someone is intent on excelling in an otherwise laudable manner, does he not desire to inflict pain on others by means of his exalted status and enjoy the envy he arouses? Is there not an anticipated delight in an artist's ability to defeat his artistic rivals, which heightens his euphoria in creation?
-Nietzsche
adamge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 03:41 PM   #263
Tech Master
 
wingman2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tewkesbury, UK via Plymouth, UK.
Posts: 1,259
Default

I have used my DPD for about 6 months now with no problems at all. I do think it's a good piece of kit and agree that it does take ages to get all the cells down to .9v each. I have also used it to find weak cells within a pack and then resolder all the good ones to make a good pack from 3 bad packs, again, useful for that. Has anyone else noticed that not all DPD's have the same start up message? Sounds silly but my friends unit says something differant to mine and another friends says something totally differant to both of ours! Strange!!
wingman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 06:31 PM   #264
Tech Elite
 
rctazmanmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,152
Trader Rating: 102 (99%+)
Default

I have one also and love it.

I gave up a gfx and use a backlighted ice and the DPD to treat my batteries and also match - this is handy as hell and a lot quicker than one cell at a time matching process. I know it is not true numbers to what a gfx or ce matcher could do but for the racing I do it works great and tells the true story on the cells performance.

Wish they offered a 30 true discharge rate but understand the heat and saftey issues in that small package.

Does anyone make skinz for these???? Would be nice to customize it.

rctazmanmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 08:12 PM   #265
Tech Regular
 
Pat Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Easton, Pa
Posts: 303
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrxs-r View Post
Just a question here... Has anyone tried opening up the case to switch the polarity order around? By this I mean switching cell 1 with cell 6, cell 2 with 5, cell 3 with 4. In theory this will allow for a sideXside pack with the opposite polarity to be used on the DPD. I don't have any packs that are assembled in the normal order of the DPD, so switching wouldn't faze me. Also, its a S/H unit, so no warranty either!

Normal DPD polarity:
+ - + - + -
| | | | | |
- + - + - +

Polarity of my cells:
- + - + - +
| | | | | |
+ - + - + -

Was thinking about it, and it shouldn't matter. Just have to note that the cell numbers displayed on the screen would be reversed.
i have done this.. not worth the effort..
Pat Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 09:18 PM   #266
Tech Elite
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,628
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

why not just flip the pack over? Works for me when i do other guys packs.


As for resorting cells, i type all the cell data into an excel sheet and then sort according to either run time or voltage or what ever, typically i just want equal run time and let the voltage fall where it may, it depends on how many cells u get to play with if its only 3 or 4 packs your best to resort by run time... This takes time but i have turn around guys crappy packs into a good few with a bunch of pratice packs, better then a bunch of crappy all round packs
__________________
"Without Rules its just Backyard Bashing!"
www.rcottawa.com
Joel Lagace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 10:46 PM   #267
Tech Regular
 
DekelzMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Victoria, B.C. Canada
Posts: 443
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Hey rctazmanmc,

I do Custom Skinz for the DPD. Shoot me a PM and let me know what you're after and I'll set you up.

Mick
DekelzMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 11:23 AM   #268
Tech Elite
 
Jake S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Erie PA
Posts: 4,607
Trader Rating: 66 (92%+)
Send a message via AIM to Jake S Send a message via MSN to Jake S
Default

has anyone had their display stop functioning correctly? mine sometimes stays really dim, to the point of not being able to read it, but after it sits for a week or so it works fine....

this started after i went through and cycled about 4 of my packs a couple times one night....(equalize on dpd, charge back up, equalize, then charge)
__________________
VooDoo Racing Cells | Flying Farmer RC | Trackside Hobby | Prochko Paintz | RG1
Jake S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 04:32 PM   #269
Tech Addict
 
magm20001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 546
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake S View Post
has anyone had their display stop functioning correctly? mine sometimes stays really dim, to the point of not being able to read it, but after it sits for a week or so it works fine....

this started after i went through and cycled about 4 of my packs a couple times one night....(equalize on dpd, charge back up, equalize, then charge)
recharge your aa batteries.

or u can run without the aa batteries altogether.

just dont run it with like 1% charge in the aa batts, it gets confused.
magm20001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 06:10 PM   #270
Tech Regular
 
barber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: babados
Posts: 269
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

ok i have tried everything nothing seems to work when i put my pack to discharge everything is fine durning the 30 amp cycle when it switches to the 1.5 cycle when the fans cut out all the rest of cells discharge and leave the no2 cell with about 1.20 still in the pack last night i had it on for 6 hrs still would not discharge the no2 cell i borrowed my friend same brand discharger
and his discharge the batt right out.
__________________
BARBER SHOP RACING.
Hara Cyclone Edition,MAMBA 7700KV,Spectrum,
Mazdaspeed 6 Painted By McGoo Creations,
JR Z1,Orion 4300Mah,Ib 4200Mah,Ice,Rp,Trinity.
Race Prepaired & Driven By TEAM DRIVER (BARBER)
barber is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re: FS Trinity Dyna-Pro Digital Discharger Benq R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 07-24-2008 05:50 AM
Trinity DPD Digital Discharger $90 barnacle R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 21 09-14-2007 07:47 AM
Trinity Digital Discharger $80.00! Like New chrisf608 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 01-29-2007 08:52 PM
Trinity DPD digital pro discharger! Fabulous R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 11-11-2006 10:43 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:33 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net