R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-23-2006, 08:14 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
butrflynlambie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 192
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default XRAY T2 : Space Issue

I have moved from a TC4 to an XRAY T2.

Love the T2 except my old electronics don't fit well.

Any recommendations on what to replace?

I have
GT7 ESC
XXTRA Synthesized FM

And should replace with.....

Thanks
butrflynlambie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2006, 08:24 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
polesitter61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 1,009
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

You are probably going to have to stand the receiver on its side or mount it on top of the steering servo. Only other option is to get a small ESC like a GTX or Q2, then you will have room to lay the receiver flat.
__________________
Slickzero R/C products, check them out, very cheap shipping!!!
www.slickzero.com
polesitter61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2006, 09:01 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Jochim_18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CALI
Posts: 2,372
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I have the same problem on my T2. Only to solve this is get a micro RX or ESC. I switch to GTX From GT7.
Jochim_18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2006, 12:00 AM   #4
Shop Owner
 
nnick's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cheapest prices in Europe ;)
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to nnick Send a message via MSN to nnick Send a message via Yahoo to nnick Send a message via Skype™ to nnick
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by polesitter61
You are probably going to have to stand the receiver on its side or mount it on top of the steering servo. Only other option is to get a small ESC like a GTX or Q2, then you will have room to lay the receiver flat.
If you can afford to change your electronics to smaller ones your problem will be solved. If not I have seen people put their receivers on the servo or standing.
Ko receiver is another very small receiver
My friend put his GTB with a ko receiver just fine

Nick
__________________
Nikolakopoulos Nick
RC RING

The #1 source for all your electric needs www.rcring.eu

Enjoy RCing....
R/C Tech #82
IRT #123

Don't practice until you get it right. Practice until you can't get it wrong

Team Xray T4'17, Team Xray X10'18, TOP Racing Rebel
nnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2006, 02:49 AM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 181
Default

I have my receiver standing on my T1FK05, with no problems... it actually looks better than laydown IMO (due to the switch from my ESC, I wouldn't have anywhere to put it if I layed the receiver down)
D_o_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2006, 03:16 AM   #6
Tech Addict
 
Scho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 584
Send a message via MSN to Scho
Default

Ill post a picture of my electronics layout later, i think you will be impressed how neat it is.
Scho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2006, 05:26 AM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
Got Xray?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: nsw
Posts: 877
Send a message via MSN to Got Xray?
Default t2 picz

My t2 is VERY neat and even with my VERY small electronics the servo,reciever and speedy are all touching.
I am just resizing pics now so the stupid forum will allow them.
__________________
!xray!
Got Xray? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2006, 05:39 AM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
Got Xray?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: nsw
Posts: 877
Send a message via MSN to Got Xray?
Default Heres my t2

Heres the pic of my t2.

http://img134.imageshack.us/img134/4470/t2pic0fp.jpg
its fairly big.
__________________
!xray!
Got Xray? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2006, 09:07 AM   #9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: ROAR HAD ME BANNED FROM RC TECH.
Posts: 2,025
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

With a full size JR servo, XXL rx, and a GTX everything lays down fine on mine as well.

You may just have to stand up your rx or get a smaller one later..
Desolas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2006, 09:15 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
TRF415boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,857
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scho
Ill post a picture of my electronics layout later, i think you will be impressed how neat it is.
It's so neat you don't even race it
TRF415boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2006, 10:33 AM   #11
Tech Regular
 
Joep's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 360
Default

A spektrum or kopropo or futaba PCM receiver

combined with

a Robitronic iCube or LRP quantum competition 2 / 3

work very well.
__________________
Xray T3 for dry and Xray T2'009 for rainy weather. Sponsored by: Myself and my wife.
Joep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2006, 05:08 PM   #12
Tech Adept
 
butrflynlambie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 192
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

What ESC is shown in the picture link?

The GTX is a hard call as I have two GT7's right now and only one car.

Would prefer a solution that is less $$

Is the dsm rx any smaller ?


Thanks for the responses
butrflynlambie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2006, 06:32 PM   #13
Tech Champion
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,504
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

the normal dsm rx is about the same size as the normal futaba rx

the new micro dsm rx is smaller than the ko rx, which is friggin small to begin with
__________________
Mike Gee

Awesomatix USA/Pyscho Cells Racing/Tekin/Sweep Racing/RSD/180 Raceway/Johns Mobile Raceway/TQ Wire/Avid/Sanwa
geeunit1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2006, 01:05 AM   #14
Tech Fanatic
 
Got Xray?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: nsw
Posts: 877
Send a message via MSN to Got Xray?
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by butrflynlambie
What ESC is shown in the picture link?

The GTX is a hard call as I have two GT7's right now and only one car.

Would prefer a solution that is less $$

Is the dsm rx any smaller ?


Thanks for the responses
Its a nosram hawk reverse,but am getting a gtx soon,the reciever is a ko one that came with my helios but i sometimes use spektrum but i prefer the look of the ko speedy.
__________________
!xray!
Got Xray? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2006, 08:03 PM   #15
Tech Fanatic
 
Got Xray?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: nsw
Posts: 877
Send a message via MSN to Got Xray?
Default bump

bump
__________________
!xray!
Got Xray? is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pit Space? TylerOwenby Georgia Racing 42 11-06-2007 01:46 PM
too many not enough space sloshedmr_bones R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 05-06-2007 12:06 PM
XRAY 007' Diagnostic Issue "Spanky Electric On-Road 12 11-21-2006 08:24 PM
extra space in ta-05? iamscottym Electric On-Road 2 07-23-2006 07:51 PM
battery space.com takwing Electric Off-Road 8 03-08-2005 10:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:32 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net