Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Keyence Question >

Keyence Question

Keyence Question

Old 04-07-2003, 11:12 AM
  #31  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: cali
Posts: 4
Default

well i dont run a capacitor and on some motors i run the diodes, i guess i would say run the diodes. but my keyence has not let me down and i dont run a capasitor. hope that helped!!
baggedtoy is offline  
Old 04-07-2003, 11:15 AM
  #32  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
eeyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: California
Posts: 3,945
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Addict sa RC,

Kamusta? Regarding the Power Cap and Diodes on the Zero V... never use them! The Keyence circuitry is a bit different than other speed controls... you'll probably end up hurting it if you try installing these... dalawa yung Keyence (Zero V Ext) ko... had them for 3 years and still keeps up with the current trend of ESCs...

Ian Aquino
eeyan is offline  
Old 04-07-2003, 11:18 AM
  #33  
Regional Moderator
 
Addict sa RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Quezon City, Philippines
Posts: 557
Default

Thanks. I guess I'm keeping the diodes on my motors then. About the power caps, I was wondering if it would be advantageous or not to put 'em in. Anyone have any experience running a power cap with their Zero V's?
Addict sa RC is offline  
Old 04-07-2003, 11:20 AM
  #34  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: cali
Posts: 4
Default

Originally posted by Addict sa RC
Do you guys run your Zero V Extremes with Power Capacitors?

How about Schotky diodes on the motors?

There's no mention in the manual if I should or shouldn't.

Thanks for any info.


i dont run a capasitor . i love the keyence has never let me down. i run the diodes on the motor somtimes probley should run all the time though but somtimes to lasy when i get a new motor. i would recomend runing the diodes but like i said i dont run a capasitor and it hasn't let me down and i run it all day long cause i am dissabled and its all i really have to do!! hope this helps!!
baggedtoy is offline  
Old 04-07-2003, 11:21 AM
  #35  
Regional Moderator
 
Addict sa RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Quezon City, Philippines
Posts: 557
Default

Ian, thanks. Kelan ka ba uuwi dito para makita naman namin yang mga killer creations mo? Sina Abit kumakarera pa ba diyan?

Bernie Mendoza
Addict sa RC is offline  
Old 04-07-2003, 11:38 AM
  #36  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
eeyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: California
Posts: 3,945
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Addict sa RC
Ian, thanks. Kelan ka ba uuwi dito para makita naman namin yang mga killer creations mo? Sina Abit kumakarera pa ba diyan?
Addict...

I haven't seen Abit race here... sa Texas sila di ba? He should've joined the Reedy race to be held here in SoCal. I'm really excited to be entered in it... 3 days lang sarado na yung registrations... could possibly be the biggest race of the year!!!

My wife and I are planning to visit PI next year... I've been wanting to race there for a long time already... last time I raced was sa Boyel pa (offroad) in 1991~1992. I want to experience competing with my fellow kababayans... balita ko hindi naman tayo nahuhuli diyan...?!?

Ian
eeyan is offline  
Old 04-07-2003, 11:44 AM
  #37  
Regional Moderator
 
Addict sa RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Quezon City, Philippines
Posts: 557
Default

Sige, looking forward to racing with you next year. Marami-rami na ring on-road tracks dito sa Manila. Thanks again for the advice.

Good luck sa Reedy Race. Give 'em hell.
Addict sa RC is offline  
Old 04-08-2003, 06:33 AM
  #38  
Tech Elite
 
ijnek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: S'pore & M'sia, JB
Posts: 2,510
Default

i dun run any cap on my esc...
but it might not b a bad idea 2 run the cap on the esc...it will prevent high amp spike especially when u crash,tis will protect the esc better...
ijnek is offline  
Old 04-08-2003, 08:16 AM
  #39  
Regional Moderator
 
Addict sa RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Quezon City, Philippines
Posts: 557
Default

ijnek, it seems that most if not all of you don't run power caps with your Zero V's so might as well. . . . hmmm, if you're going to try to run with a power cap would you let us know of the results? I'd really appreciate it.

What I want to know right now is if a Schotky diode will be harmful for the ESC in the long run. All my motors have diodes on them and I might use them for 4-cell 12th scale also where I'll most probably be using a GT7. I don't want to be putting diodes on and off my motors. I've been given advices for and against using them so I'm at a loss right now.
Addict sa RC is offline  
Old 03-12-2004, 11:35 PM
  #40  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Californication
Posts: 81
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
where to send keyence

where can we send keyence speed controls for repair? preferably in the U.S.

thanks in advance
eklips is offline  
Old 03-13-2004, 11:15 AM
  #41  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 157
Default

According to the Manual "With AGCS2, Schottky diodes are no longer necessary..."

I don't have it installed in any of my motors and haven't noticed any performance losses or issues.

Then again, it doesn't say you "can't" use them, so if you already have them then use them...

My 2 cents...
g_bruin is offline  
Old 03-13-2004, 04:11 PM
  #42  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 121
Default

Keyence Z Extreme V 1/12th stock setup?

Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated...Thanks!!

-Profile?
-Neutral width?
-Min drive power?
-Min brake power?
-Neutral brake?
-Comp retarded?
-Driving frequency?
-Braking frequency?
-Neutral braking frequency?
-Power limit?

Thanks-again!! Steve.
Shrub is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 07:59 PM
  #43  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 121
Default

Anyone run this speedo?
Shrub is offline  
Old 03-19-2004, 04:41 AM
  #44  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone tried out the motor brake function???

Supposedly it controls the speed of the motor rather than the power output.
Dragonfire is offline  
Old 03-19-2004, 06:31 AM
  #45  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (29)
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 9,452
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default Re: where to send keyence

Originally posted by eklips
where can we send keyence speed controls for repair? preferably in the U.S.

thanks in advance
send them in to schumacher usa. They can get your speedo repaired for you.
STLNLST is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.