R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-15-2006, 07:26 AM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 42
Default tc4 rtr with 3s lipo?

I'm expecting a tc4 rtr this week.
I have some 3 cell 2100mah lipo I use on my heli, can I run it with tc4 rtr electronic?
I'm planning to run radioshack 3300 packs, but hadn't got them yet.
If my 3s apex 2100mah lipo works, then I don't have to get 3300 nimh.
CaptEvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2006, 09:40 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,903
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

aint the 3s 11.1V if i am not mistaken, it wont work
__________________
Tamiya TB Evo 5
Spektrum DX3R 2.4Ghz, Sanwa ERG-VX, VFS-1
EngTat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2006, 10:26 AM   #3
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 42
Default

Yes, 3 Cell is 11.1V.
argh, that's too bad.
Would I gain anything by running 2 cells at 7.4v ? vs. say 3300 ni-mh
CaptEvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2006, 10:31 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,903
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

it is not save to run lipo without voltage cut off, it will damage the lipo battery is over discharge, i owned a trex
__________________
Tamiya TB Evo 5
Spektrum DX3R 2.4Ghz, Sanwa ERG-VX, VFS-1
EngTat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2006, 10:45 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
bvoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bedtime with Teddi
Posts: 3,635
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptEvo
Yes, 3 Cell is 11.1V.
argh, that's too bad.
Would I gain anything by running 2 cells at 7.4v ? vs. say 3300 ni-mh
I have the Orion LiPo, and I use this for partice, with no cut off, but the second that car slows, I take it off the track and charge it. With stock I run about 20 to 23 mins, total running time. Since my motors are not setup to run over 5mins, I do not run my car over 5 mins, so with the LiPo, I get 4 runs at 5 mins each. Yes, you will need to run the 7.4v LiPo and not 11.1v. Yes, they do have cut offs out for LiPos but I just watch the car.. Seems to be working fine for me. Also just so you know that LRP is releasing the Q3 speedo, (not available at this point), which has a cut off built into it for LiPos.
bvoltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2006, 11:17 AM   #6
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 42
Default

EngTat,
Trex rocks.
I've been using lipo and know the risk.
CaptEvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2006, 11:19 AM   #7
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bvoltz
I have the Orion LiPo, and I use this for partice, with no cut off, but the second that car slows, I take it off the track and charge it. With stock I run about 20 to 23 mins, total running time. Since my motors are not setup to run over 5mins, I do not run my car over 5 mins, so with the LiPo, I get 4 runs at 5 mins each. Yes, you will need to run the 7.4v LiPo and not 11.1v. Yes, they do have cut offs out for LiPos but I just watch the car.. Seems to be working fine for me. Also just so you know that LRP is releasing the Q3 speedo, (not available at this point), which has a cut off built into it for LiPos.
Shweet, I use the method for planes and heli, and setup timer on my tx.
CaptEvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2006, 11:21 AM   #8
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,903
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptEvo
EngTat,
Trex rocks.
I've been using lipo and know the risk.
__________________
Tamiya TB Evo 5
Spektrum DX3R 2.4Ghz, Sanwa ERG-VX, VFS-1
EngTat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2006, 03:41 PM   #9
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SoCal...SD
Posts: 195
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to JustxOnce Send a message via Yahoo to JustxOnce
Default

You can.....just need an ESc at that hadle the voltage like a Super Rooster.
JustxOnce is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NIP Novak 5amp lipo regulator with volt monitor, NIP venom 1600mah lipo rx pack sharkman R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 06-10-2008 02:36 PM
LIPO CHARGER LIKE HYPERION AND LIPO BATTS AND MAYBE CHEAP 12TH SCALE jslider R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 02-16-2008 07:55 AM
FS TrakPower 7.4V 4900MAH Hardshell Lipo,TrakPowerBalancer,TrinityReference 4500 Lipo ffpm46 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 01-29-2008 06:11 PM
Pg 2 on Complete Sellout Motor rebuild Orion Lipo, peak Lipo 4800 and more gunlocators R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 18 10-08-2007 02:11 PM
Lipo charger with power supply and 2 cell lipo pack fweemindan R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 01-03-2007 11:51 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:20 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net