R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-01-2003, 07:38 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
AGR#7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 106
Default The Novak GT7.........what is......

that 'barrel' looking device hanging on it? I am trying to decide between this ESC or the Keyence Zero V Extreme.
AGR#7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2003, 08:08 AM   #2
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 35
Default Re: The Novak GT7.........what is......

Quote:
Originally posted by AGR#7
that 'barrel' looking device hanging on it?
that barell looking divce is a capassiter
bob's tc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2003, 08:10 AM   #3
Tech Adept
 
AGR#7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 106
Default Re: Re: The Novak GT7.........what is......

Quote:
Originally posted by bob's tc3
that barell looking divce is a capassiter
Gotcha! Do you use one of these GT7s? The large capacitor looks a bit inconvenient. I wonder how well it fits down in the TC3 chassis. I notice that the Keyence doesn't have anything external.

I found a photo of one installed in a TC3:
http://www.wildhobbies.com/news/nova...installed3.jpg

Last edited by AGR#7; 01-01-2003 at 08:36 AM.
AGR#7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2003, 09:34 AM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 389
Send a message via Yahoo to hicheef
Default The GT7

Yeah but most ESC makers wont show the CAP in their add so you feel good about buying it("WOW, look how small it is"). Once you get it the instructions will either tell you to absolutely must run it with one or they will "STRONGLY" recommend it especially if you run "Hot" or low wind/ high draw motors. Nice thing about the GT7 is it is factory installed with a long enough leash you can get creative about where you want to mount it. But long story made longer, I've never run an esc on anything larger than a micro without a cap. Hope that helps
Kevin

Last edited by hicheef; 01-01-2003 at 09:36 AM.
hicheef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2003, 10:16 AM   #5
Tech Lord
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,336
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

I use the GT-7,I dont think its any better than a cyclone C2/TC2,The GT-7 feels a little soft(punch)off the line & corners,If I were to buy a new speed controler it would be a Keyence zero extreme its a bad ass speed controler,I think its the best one out their right now,only thing is its price,The cheapest I have seen it for was $189.
Oasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2003, 10:47 AM   #6
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,998
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

the Keyence doesn't need the external devices that the other speedo's require. It's built in just like the older LRP speedo's ie..V6, 7.1, and the SR. It's a good speedo control but if you're looking to save a buck go with the GT7. I also think that the GT7 is geared more towards the off road gang since they made it smoother and less punchy compared to the TC2 line. Novak also has a pretty good repair program so that's also something to think about.
__________________
REMEMBER THE GOOD OLE DAYS..........THEY'RE NEVER COMING BACK SO WE'RE STUCK WITH THE MESS IN FRONT OF US!!!!
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2003, 10:51 AM   #7
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 87
Default

I personally havent used a Keyence speedo .. but from my experiences with the GT-7 ... DONT GET IT .... I am on my third one and it is up for sale at my local track. The first two went back to Novak for severe glitching problems and shutting down in the middle of a run (the speedo went into programming mode in the middle of a race .. the steering was ok and the lights changed as I would pull the throttle but no go. turn off then back on and it worked for about a race and a half and then out again) I use the LRP Quantum Competition with the Worlds Upgrade Kit so I have the heatsink and the large capacitor. No glitches no problems, it feels like my old TC2 from Novak but its a lot lliter. But thats just my -.02
roddude65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2003, 10:58 AM   #8
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,998
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

In your own personal opinion do you think that you had the same amount of punch with the GT7 as you do with your TC2 or Quantum?? Just curious.
__________________
REMEMBER THE GOOD OLE DAYS..........THEY'RE NEVER COMING BACK SO WE'RE STUCK WITH THE MESS IN FRONT OF US!!!!
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2003, 01:42 PM   #9
Tech Lord
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,336
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Question for roddude,How many times did your GT-7 shut down and for how long,last week my gt-7 shut down in the main and went back to working after about 40 sec.I know it was not the brushes hanging up(had no power to steering servo).I have checked everything and have not found any "real" problems...yet.I was just wondering if my problem is speed controler or reciever
Oasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2003, 01:47 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
sonneteer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 337
Default

Keyence for $189 where???


Quote:
Originally posted by xxxkat
I use the GT-7,I dont think its any better than a cyclone C2/TC2,The GT-7 feels a little soft(punch)off the line & corners,If I were to buy a new speed controler it would be a Keyence zero extreme its a bad ass speed controler,I think its the best one out their right now,only thing is its price,The cheapest I have seen it for was $189.
sonneteer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2003, 03:17 PM   #11
Tech Lord
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,336
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

A local hobby shop in the area where I live,They had a used one(the owner had tried it out)for $159,I bought my xxxs gp for $220 at the same hobby shop. Bought a new GM V12 xc for $100.
Oasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2003, 03:21 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
ChristopherKee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,005
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sonneteer
Keyence for $189 where???



www.speedtechrc.com
__________________
***
ChristopherKee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2003, 08:44 PM   #13
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Langley,British Columbia Canada
Posts: 38
Default

I was told by someone who talked to Novak that the first batch of GT7 that had a problem with power capacitor having jumper wire in differen wire size that caused problems.But At the local indoor carpet track a guy was running a XX4(off-roadcourse) & went threw 3 Gt-7.

Last edited by rcconcept; 01-01-2003 at 08:46 PM.
rcconcept is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2003, 07:56 AM   #14
Super Moderator
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,493
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

For those of you that are using the GT7 speed control, what type of racing are you doing, on road, off road, oval, or just messing around? What profile # are you using?
__________________
There is great need for a sarcasm font.

You never know when it will strike, but there comes a moment at work when you know that you just aren't going to do anything productive for the rest of the day.

Sometimes I post just to look at my avatar.
Kraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2003, 08:07 AM   #15
Tech Adept
 
AGR#7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 106
Default

I have heard nothing but 'positives' regarding the Keyence V Extreme. But now, I am also considering the KO Propo VFS-2000 w/ VFS settings adapter. Looks very nice. I spoke with KO about it, and it sounds pretty awesome.

Last edited by AGR#7; 01-03-2003 at 12:40 PM.
AGR#7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
J Concepts BJ4WE CHEAP!!! NIP NOVAK 10.5 & Novak 4300 w/Sintered Rotor Zac R R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 02-13-2008 06:13 PM
LRP Sphere tc, Novak 13.5pro, Novak 10.5 pro, Novak 13mm rotor theisgroup R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 01-08-2008 11:21 AM
JR R1, Novak Smart Tray, Novak GTX, Futaba S9451, Hellfire stock motors, plus more yauipop Australia For Sale/Trade 7 08-27-2007 03:56 AM
For Sale Novak 3.5 brushless motor with Novak Heat sink $60.00 SHIPPED!!! Marcos.J R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 06-24-2007 08:29 PM
Rivergate RCD30, Novak Millenium Pros, XXX4G+, XXXTMF, lehner/novak BL Jman-x R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-14-2005 10:51 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:49 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net