R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-07-2006, 07:12 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
Guo Chean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana, PA15701
Posts: 1,492
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Guo Chean Send a message via Yahoo to Guo Chean
Default best dyno for motor

I was looking a motor dyno for personal used which brand should i go for? i looking for all used purpose like stock, spec, and modified. thanks
__________________
[FONT=Comic Sans MS][SIZE=3][COLOR=red]|HotBodies|HPI|Full Throttle Motorsports|KO PROPO|DSM|Nosram|JACO|MUCH MORE RACING|Schacht Design Works|[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT]
Guo Chean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2006, 07:27 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
burbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,152
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to burbs Send a message via Yahoo to burbs
Default

there are various so called dyno's, but there more of motor break in machines.. indi, much more ect...

For all out dyno's the best two are prolly Competition Electronics Turbo Dyno. or the Fantom..

The Ce is very pricey.. and hard to find.. prolly lookin at 800+ used..

the fantom can be purchased at any time.. around 400 or so but you need a laptop for it..

there both good dyno's// some guys prefer one or the other for certain number readings..
burbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2006, 09:04 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
Tsquare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: San Diego
Posts: 618
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guo Chean
I was looking a motor dyno for personal used which brand should i go for? i looking for all used purpose like stock, spec, and modified. thanks
If oyou are looking for a suto-dyno the team Much More Motor tester is a good one.
Tsquare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2006, 09:46 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Guo Chean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana, PA15701
Posts: 1,492
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Guo Chean Send a message via Yahoo to Guo Chean
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsquare
If oyou are looking for a suto-dyno the team Much More Motor tester is a good one.
i not looking the motor break in device.
__________________
[FONT=Comic Sans MS][SIZE=3][COLOR=red]|HotBodies|HPI|Full Throttle Motorsports|KO PROPO|DSM|Nosram|JACO|MUCH MORE RACING|Schacht Design Works|[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT]
Guo Chean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2006, 10:03 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
dodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the archipelago
Posts: 3,095
Send a message via Yahoo to dodo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guo Chean
i not looking the motor break in device.
Muchmore motor master is not only a motor break in device, for me, it helps to determine the general performance of each motor, whether the motor produce more torque or rpm. Well at least that's enough for me at the moment.
dodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2006, 10:09 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,903
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

hi dodo, how do you determine that it produce torque or rpm? i had Peak performance
__________________
Tamiya TB Evo 5
Spektrum DX3R 2.4Ghz, Sanwa ERG-VX, VFS-1
EngTat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2006, 11:25 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
Guo Chean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana, PA15701
Posts: 1,492
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Guo Chean Send a message via Yahoo to Guo Chean
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodo
Muchmore motor master is not only a motor break in device, for me, it helps to determine the general performance of each motor, whether the motor produce more torque or rpm. Well at least that's enough for me at the moment.
How do you determine torque by using MMR motor master? does they show you the reading of the torque? is that any hidden menu becasue i cant find any reading to torque? thanks
__________________
[FONT=Comic Sans MS][SIZE=3][COLOR=red]|HotBodies|HPI|Full Throttle Motorsports|KO PROPO|DSM|Nosram|JACO|MUCH MORE RACING|Schacht Design Works|[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT]
Guo Chean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2006, 11:31 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
XrayFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guo Chean
How do you determine torque by using MMR motor master? does they show you the reading of the torque? is that any hidden menu becasue i cant find any reading to torque? thanks
It doesn't tell you much at all, basically just tells you RPM and amps, at no load, so it's a pretty useless number. A "real" dyno would be either the CE or Robitronics. Of course the true test for any motor is actualy track performance.
XrayFK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2006, 11:46 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
dodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the archipelago
Posts: 3,095
Send a message via Yahoo to dodo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guo Chean
How do you determine torque by using MMR motor master? does they show you the reading of the torque? is that any hidden menu becasue i cant find any reading to torque? thanks
well it can't really show the numbers but like i said, it's enough for me. at least from the amp draw and rpm reading i can get some info that is sufficient for me. Well then again depends on the level of competition that you're facing. So it works for me but some people might need more info to make extra fine-tuning. sorry if my statement misled u, wasn't my intention
dodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2006, 11:46 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
dodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the archipelago
Posts: 3,095
Send a message via Yahoo to dodo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XrayFK
It doesn't tell you much at all, basically just tells you RPM and amps, at no load, so it's a pretty useless number. A "real" dyno would be either the CE or Robitronics. Of course the true test for any motor is actualy track performance.
yeah agree with you, i saw the robitronics one before. it's super
dodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 02:16 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
Guo Chean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana, PA15701
Posts: 1,492
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Guo Chean Send a message via Yahoo to Guo Chean
Default

may i know what is the basic requirement of the power supply if i going to run Fantom dyno system for 7 turn or lower modified
__________________
[FONT=Comic Sans MS][SIZE=3][COLOR=red]|HotBodies|HPI|Full Throttle Motorsports|KO PROPO|DSM|Nosram|JACO|MUCH MORE RACING|Schacht Design Works|[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT]
Guo Chean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 02:21 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 265
Default

hmm never heard of anybody dyno-ing mod motors.

19T's maybe, but nothing hotter.

I was always a big dyno fan, but I came to the conclusion to work on your chassis. 99 times out of 100 you wont get beat by a better motor.
But 99 times of out 100 you will get beat by a better working chassis.
erock1331 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 02:25 PM   #13
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 181
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guo Chean
may i know what is the basic requirement of the power supply if i going to run Fantom dyno system for 7 turn or lower modified
I've used the Robitronic, and its great, so I would reccomend that to you... unlike the Turbo dyno, it is not dependant on the slave motor...

I always used a lead acid battery (in the manual it says with at least sumthing aH, don't remember now, I used around 30aH) to test motors.
D_o_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 02:38 PM   #14
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,200
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guo Chean
I was looking a motor dyno for personal used which brand should i go for? i looking for all used purpose like stock, spec, and modified. thanks

the best dyno out there right now is the track!
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 03:31 PM   #15
Tech Master
 
Guo Chean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana, PA15701
Posts: 1,492
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Guo Chean Send a message via Yahoo to Guo Chean
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcos.J
the best dyno out there right now is the track!
i know the best dyno is on the track but if i have 50 piece of motor do you think i so crazy bring all motor goto track and test run every motor?
__________________
[FONT=Comic Sans MS][SIZE=3][COLOR=red]|HotBodies|HPI|Full Throttle Motorsports|KO PROPO|DSM|Nosram|JACO|MUCH MORE RACING|Schacht Design Works|[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT]
Guo Chean is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*** F/S: Motor Dyno - Integy Indi Dyno *** KenSmith R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 09-27-2007 07:53 AM
Integy Indi Dyno v2 motor dyno SpeedChair R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 08-14-2006 10:30 PM
Looking for a CE motor dyno AlanLim R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 08-25-2004 11:03 AM
Indi motor dyno vs. Orion Motor Perf monitor j240z Electric On-Road 5 08-07-2004 03:58 PM
Motor dyno Mad Mackem Australian Racing 9 05-26-2003 01:51 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:31 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net