Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Faulty armature in new motor? >

Faulty armature in new motor?

Faulty armature in new motor?

Reply

Old 05-07-2006, 03:16 PM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 165
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Faulty armature in new motor?

Hello
Please look at this armature from the side where the commutator is. Do you agree with me that something is wrong with it?

It is Orion V2 Rheinard 12x1. I opened it to cut the com after few runs and saw this.

What would you do with that arm?







Tral is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2006, 03:23 PM
  #2  
Tech Regular
 
Z.Hallett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Reston, Virginia
Posts: 401
Default

as far as i see nothing is wrong except for the comm. it is arched to heck and back twice. i would cut it, retard tthe timing and try again.

just my .02

Z-MAN out
Z.Hallett is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2006, 03:36 PM
  #3  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Coming Soon " The Further adventures of NeedleDick Nicholas"
Posts: 149
Default Nothing wrong

"You dont see anything wrong"
The stack is coming apart at the top.
Send it back for and see if they will replace it.
Sarquis is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2006, 04:27 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,480
Default

the stack is obviously messed up. call up joe pillars at orion and tell him what happened. he'll replace it.
Chris Jarosz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2006, 04:32 PM
  #5  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (13)
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,163
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

It's actually pretty hard to get slotted stack arms like that, to be absolutly perfect. Almost every one I've had has been liek that, and I havent had any problems. Give Joe a call though, doesnt hurt.

-Korey
Korey Harbke is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2006, 06:21 PM
  #6  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (103)
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,391
Trader Rating: 103 (100%+)
Default

You say it's a 12x1, but it looks like a 13x1 stamp in your second picture. Not only is the stack coming apart, but you've gained a wind.
stiltskin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2006, 07:09 PM
  #7  
Tech Regular
 
Z.Hallett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Reston, Virginia
Posts: 401
Default

i see it now. i didnt even look past the dark comm. good thing he didnt listen to me.
Z.Hallett is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2006, 01:53 AM
  #8  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 165
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Thank you everyone. I will contact with Orion.

It is 12x1. On 2nd photo you can see only half stamp. "3" and "2" looks almost the same at the top.
Tral is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service