R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-04-2006, 07:27 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
aN4rK1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 586
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Spektrum Reciever Antenna Question

Hello all, my car today took a BIG spill and did a HUGE flip and it skidded about a meter or two and the antenna wire came off. So I was just wondering if I could solder in another one? A copper single strand 18 awg wire?
aN4rK1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2006, 07:35 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
Tsquare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: San Diego
Posts: 618
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aN4rK1
Hello all, my car today took a BIG spill and did a HUGE flip and it skidded about a meter or two and the antenna wire came off. So I was just wondering if I could solder in another one? A copper single strand 18 awg wire?
I would send it into Spektrum for repair, the antenna wires are very sensitive components of the receiver.
Tsquare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2006, 07:56 PM   #3
Tech Apprentice
 
khyron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 75
Send a message via AIM to khyron
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsquare
I would send it into Spektrum for repair, the antenna wires are very sensitive components of the receiver.
I don't know about single strand, because I'm not sure that's what the antenna lead is inside - but I wouldn't think there would be any reason why you couldn't replace it if you were skilled with a soldering iron. How magically "sensitive" can something be that gets wrapped in a different way around various junk in every car and which can be trimmed down to like 3" and still work?
khyron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2006, 08:07 PM   #4
Tech Addict
 
aN4rK1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 586
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Arrow

Well ive opened up the spektrum reciver before and the antenna is just a wire soldered on. And I was suggesting single stand because its just stronger and its pure copper so I imagine its better wire. Cant Hurt To Try I can just unsolder it.
aN4rK1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2006, 08:10 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
GrandeGixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Waldorf, MD
Posts: 2,929
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

You will however void your warranty. It might not be elegible for warranty repair anyways.
__________________
Joe Cude
Mugen MBX-7R Mugen MTX-6R Mugen MTC-1 Mugen MRX-6 Mugen MST-1 Tamiya Euro Truck
GrandeGixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2006, 10:19 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
Tsquare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: San Diego
Posts: 618
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Call Spektrum Technical supprot in the morning, they are very good and helpful. See what they say, before you start messing with your reciever.
Tsquare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2006, 10:27 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

It's just regular (good quality) wire. It looks to me like 26 guage.

Solid wire is not "better" in any way. It's less flexible and it carries less current. Most good wire is copper that's been tinned, so it looks silver.

If you have a good iron with a fine tip and you're good at that stuff, it would be a no-brainer to change out the wire...if you don't have the good iron and the "skilz"...send it in.
Turbo Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2006, 03:14 AM   #8
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Iceland
Posts: 588
Default

Stranded wire can be considered as multiple antennas, side by side.

I agree with what Turbo Joe says solid wire brakes more easily, and if have the equipment and the skills there is no reason why you can't replace the wire yourself.
andsetinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2006, 03:20 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
burbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,152
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to burbs Send a message via Yahoo to burbs
Default

If you have the old wire, and it is long enough you can solder it back on.. Spektrum has a part in there directions for people who want to shorten the wire. it tells how long it has to be.. If only part of you wire came off maybe you can trim some more off to make it the right size,.. the syastem is ver sensetive to the right wire and size..
burbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2006, 07:58 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
polesitter61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 1,009
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Pretty sure they can be shortened to 3.5 inches, the rep cut mine down at the birds this past year.
__________________
Slickzero R/C products, check them out, very cheap shipping!!!
www.slickzero.com
polesitter61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2006, 08:55 AM   #11
Tech Apprentice
 
Ennjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 87
Default

I have replaced many antenna wires, in fact I did one just this weekend. On an old style reciever, you needed the wire to be a certain length, tuned for that rx. With the spektrum, it's not as important. So my suggestion would be, if the wire came off from the base of the rx, to clip the end, tin it and solder it back on the rx board. If you are decent with soldering, it's fairly easy to do.

If you need to replace the wire, make sure it is stranded. The single wire will not work. And stranded wire that small is not too easy to find though. Radio Shack doesn't carry wire that small, stranded. You'll probably have to go to a real industrial electronics store. I've used this company a few times, http://www.rselectronics.com
Ennjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2006, 09:08 AM   #12
Tech Apprentice
 
khyron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 75
Send a message via AIM to khyron
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ennjay
Radio Shack doesn't carry wire that small, stranded. You'll probably have to go to a real industrial electronics store. I've used this company a few times, http://www.rselectronics.com
Whenever I hear someone say "real electronics store" I always want to plug Mouser because they rock, I've found so many items there that either no one else carried or no one else carried affordably, good bookmark to have in general. Also, when looking for stuff like antenna wire locally another good resource is to find out wherever the local HAMs shop. Those guys are a zillion times more detail oriented and picky about electronics than even R/C folks are, and anyone who they patronize generally knows their stuff! HTH.
khyron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2006, 09:51 AM   #13
Tech Addict
 
Tsquare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: San Diego
Posts: 618
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by polesitter61
Pretty sure they can be shortened to 3.5 inches, the rep cut mine down at the birds this past year.
3.6 inches is what the manual says.
Tsquare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2006, 10:02 AM   #14
Tech Regular
 
vulso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 342
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by khyron
Also, when looking for stuff like antenna wire locally another good resource is to find out wherever the local HAMs shop. Those guys are a zillion times more detail oriented and picky about electronics than even R/C folks are, and anyone who they patronize generally knows their stuff! HTH.

I have a friend who make the boxes the HAMs use and he can solder wire on the head of a needle! He is beyond anal about his electronics stuff. I have the Hakko 936 he has a couple of those electric blue real expensive irons.

------------

How short can you cut a Spektrum receiver wire? I have mine just wadded up with a zip tie and can drive down my entire street with losing a signal. I have it extended on my nitro car because the track is bigger though.
vulso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2006, 10:38 AM   #15
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

how bout no wires at all?

the new futaba 2.4ghz reciever has an internal antenna...
Attached Thumbnails
Spektrum Reciever Antenna Question-p1001_1-f0901.jpg  
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spektrum reciever question. Mack_Mechanic Radio and Electronics 4 09-04-2008 07:01 PM
Spektrum Antenna Question d4_racer Australian Racing 19 01-18-2008 08:08 AM
spektrum reciever question snopro31 Electric On-Road 3 11-10-2006 08:55 PM
Reciever antenna misterntc3 Australian Racing 4 01-17-2004 05:17 AM
KO 297FZ reciever antenna lenth Lab-driver Electric On-Road 2 12-08-2002 10:29 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:53 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net