Search

Need help....Which 12th. to get

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2006, 06:03 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default Need help....Which 12th. to get

Hello all,
Well my LHS is starting up a 12th scale class 19t. ..... As I'm new to 12th scale.... I was curious which would be my best car.... AE,CRC,Corally,etc. I know most are used on carpet but I'll be running on nice Asphalt..... Thanks for the help.......
Old 04-30-2006, 07:04 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

There are a lot of really great cars out now. There is no such thing as a "bad" car when it come to 1/12th. They are all proven and they all work great.

The easiest car for your shop to get would be the Associated RC12L4. They cabnwith it.

If your shop is a "good" hobby shop they won't mind picking up the phone and calling up smaller companies. This open up a lot more choices. CRC and Speed Merchant cars feature a few really nice hop ups over the RC12L4.

Personally I like t-bar cars. The CRC T-Fource is super nice. Like I said though you can't go wrong now-a-days. Just pick what appeals to you and stick with it.
Old 04-30-2006, 07:08 PM
Tech Regular

tradhunt, I'm new to 1:12 too and have just started racing an AE RC12L4 on asphalt. It's great, easy to work on, heaps of parts online, standard tires/rims etc, drive well straight out of the box with the right tire choice ( so far Jaco Purple Front and TRC Platinum Rear ). I've never owned any of the others on the market, but my advice would be to get what ever is well supported in your local area, parts and tire wise in the LHS's. Just my 2 cents worth.
Old 04-30-2006, 07:08 PM
Tech Fanatic

Hey Adrian,
Thanks, I'm just not sure what to look for in a 12th. scale for asphalt... T-bar ,etc. don't know anything about the 12th. and the different styles.... Thanks Again
Old 04-30-2006, 07:12 PM
Tech Fanatic

Hey Dec,