R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-23-2006, 04:15 AM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
uniquexme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sibu, Sarawak
Posts: 901
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to uniquexme Send a message via Yahoo to uniquexme Send a message via Skype™ to uniquexme
Default Muchmore CTXC : check clip

guys, anyone here with CTXC charger? recently it shows check aligator clip very often, and i have tried charging 3 pcs of batteries, it just show this error half way charging. i have read from somewhere that changing the tamiya clip to deans connector should be able to solve this problem, but can anyone confirm on this?

had this charger for a about 3weeks, and only few times it occur this error, but since yesterday onwards, i couldn't charge my batteries. pls help me. TQ

btw, i have tried both way, by using the tamiya plug with plug into the battery, and clipping the aligator clip directly into the battery's tamiya plug
uniquexme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2006, 06:15 AM   #2
Shop Owner
 
nnick's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cheapest prices in Europe ;)
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to nnick Send a message via MSN to nnick Send a message via Yahoo to nnick Send a message via Skype™ to nnick
Default

Change the tamiya plugs with deans or corally plugs and your problem will be fixed

Nick
__________________
Nikolakopoulos Nick
RC RING

The #1 source for all your electric needs www.rcring.eu

Enjoy RCing....
R/C Tech #82
IRT #123

Don't practice until you get it right. Practice until you can't get it wrong

Team Xray T4'17, Team Xray X10'18, TOP Racing Rebel
nnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2006, 06:37 PM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
uniquexme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sibu, Sarawak
Posts: 901
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to uniquexme Send a message via Yahoo to uniquexme Send a message via Skype™ to uniquexme
Default

ok thanks, i have placed my order on Speedmind deans. btw, i m only to source for speedmind brand, so i was wondering if its really good. but i found it a bit expensive coz its just a simple plug. and btw, may i know how come tamiya plugs seems to have this problem? i mean its just a means of connection and i have checked, everything is connected properly. is it because of its material or something else? but i tried charging it last nite, reduced to 6A, and its ok. kindof wierd sometimes
uniquexme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2006, 12:59 AM   #4
Shop Owner
 
nnick's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cheapest prices in Europe ;)
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to nnick Send a message via MSN to nnick Send a message via Yahoo to nnick Send a message via Skype™ to nnick
Default

When heat rises tamiya plug doesn't cope with it as it should be! I have seen tamiya plugs melt!!

They are great for bashing but if you are serious driver then it's a NO NO

Nick
__________________
Nikolakopoulos Nick
RC RING

The #1 source for all your electric needs www.rcring.eu

Enjoy RCing....
R/C Tech #82
IRT #123

Don't practice until you get it right. Practice until you can't get it wrong

Team Xray T4'17, Team Xray X10'18, TOP Racing Rebel
nnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2006, 01:19 AM   #5
Tech Initiate
 
psychosilence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 38
Default

Had the same problem and could not figure it out. I don't use plugs....always solder ESC directly on battery tab. Anyway, when charging at low Amp rates it would give the **check clip** error. Changed my power supply which was pushing out around 11.5V to a supply giving 13.8V and the problem never came about agin.
psychosilence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2006, 06:55 PM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
uniquexme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sibu, Sarawak
Posts: 901
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to uniquexme Send a message via Yahoo to uniquexme Send a message via Skype™ to uniquexme
Default

just replaced all my battery connector to speedmind dean plug. However, it seems that the problem still occurs as i tried charging one of my battery : Intellect 3800mah charging with CTX 7A(1/3) 4.5A(2/3) 0.2(3/3), it still says check clip. so i was wondering if the problem is not caused by those connectors. this is because i m using a 12VDC 6A PSU. i know that it is not powerful enough, but can this be the cause? i just can't find any PSU with 10A over the electronic shops here. so other than muchmore power master 20A or 24A, is there any cheaper equivalent PSU? TQ.
uniquexme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2006, 07:13 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
aN4rK1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 586
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

your charging at 7amps and your psu is 6amps max? Thats definetly not going to work. If you charging at a perticular amperage then you need a psu at the same amperage or slightly higher to be safe.
aN4rK1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2006, 08:29 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
hpipro321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 1,268
Default

your check clip is casued by rou not putting the clip securly on your battery...you do not need to switch to deans just make sure that your clips are securly on your terminals and they wont fall off and look like there still on... if that dosent work...ur charger is busted
__________________
d[-.-]b d[-.-]b
d[-.-]b d[-.-]b can you feel the bass? d[-.-]b d[-.-]b
d[-.-]b d[-.-]b
hpipro321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 01:08 AM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
uniquexme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sibu, Sarawak
Posts: 901
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to uniquexme Send a message via Yahoo to uniquexme Send a message via Skype™ to uniquexme
Default

before i changed to deans plugs, i have checked every connection to make sure tat its good. but after i change to deans plugs, its still the same. but d muchmore CTXC comes with factory seal, i dun think tat it will be damaged, unless factory damaged gua. anyway, will try to charge at lower Amp, 5-6A to see how it goes. thanks anyway
uniquexme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 08:04 AM   #10
Tech Initiate
 
psychosilence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 38
Default

As I said before....I had the same trouble. Whenever I tried to charge below 1A I got the check clip error. When I did a CTX charge and it went into the 2/3 0.2A it woul immediately give check clip error. I also use a PSU 10A. Anyway, I then hooked the charger on a car battery and did a step charge and it never got the error at the 0.2A step. Then I did the same test using a 17A lead acid battery that I run my tire truer off and same thing....problem soled. So try charging off a car battery and see if you have any luck.

Psycho
psychosilence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 08:40 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Use this power supply..
It is cheap and has been reliable for the last two years for me...
http://www.buyreliant.com/psupplies/psv200.htm

Its 20amp and won't drop in voltage as it is regulated.
Hope that helps,
-Shookie <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 08:06 PM   #12
Tech Fanatic
 
uniquexme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sibu, Sarawak
Posts: 901
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to uniquexme Send a message via Yahoo to uniquexme Send a message via Skype™ to uniquexme
Default

ok thanks but m looking something near malaysia.
uniquexme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 11:40 PM   #13
Shop Owner
 
nnick's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cheapest prices in Europe ;)
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to nnick Send a message via MSN to nnick Send a message via Yahoo to nnick Send a message via Skype™ to nnick
Default

Xm.. if you are still have the same error maybe you should try to increase the voltage on your PS as arleady proposed. Also check if the batteries are connected correctly. A friend of mine had the same "problem" only to find out that some battery bars were not soldered correctly

Nick
__________________
Nikolakopoulos Nick
RC RING

The #1 source for all your electric needs www.rcring.eu

Enjoy RCing....
R/C Tech #82
IRT #123

Don't practice until you get it right. Practice until you can't get it wrong

Team Xray T4'17, Team Xray X10'18, TOP Racing Rebel
nnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2006, 01:30 AM   #14
Tech Fanatic
 
uniquexme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sibu, Sarawak
Posts: 901
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to uniquexme Send a message via Yahoo to uniquexme Send a message via Skype™ to uniquexme
Default

but mine is stick pack. shd have any problem rite?
uniquexme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2006, 01:53 AM   #15
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 458
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by uniquexme
. this is because i m using a 12VDC 6A PSU. i know that it is not powerful enough, but can this be the cause?.
you think
XingXing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS MUCH MORE CTX-D Platinum, CTXC BLUE L.Fairtrace R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-07-2008 11:24 AM
Much More CTXC Charger 13Zulu Australia For Sale/Trade 2 05-14-2008 04:18 PM
Trade MuchMore ctxc cell master for orion advantage or ice ScottB R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 10-15-2007 08:12 PM
MUCHMORE CTXC Charger BlueR1 Australia For Sale/Trade 0 11-17-2006 01:24 AM
Muchmore CTXC : Supply Error, check voltage uniquexme Electric On-Road 7 04-09-2006 06:02 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:28 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net