Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Schumacher eclipse 5 >

Schumacher eclipse 5

Like Tree128Likes

Schumacher eclipse 5

Old 12-07-2023, 08:23 AM
  #61  
Tech Regular
 
MartinSorlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Oslo, Norway!
Posts: 342
Default

Originally Posted by Robbob
Only thing I could see in some ones E5 picture was no camber strap.
It looked like they were using a brace mounted to the top plate.

Welcome to America black carpet where our rear bite comes up before the front lol.
Where did you see this?😅

And does anyone know what chassis Donny Lia is racing these days? Seems to get up to speed now😁
MartinSorlie is offline  
Old 12-07-2023, 11:14 AM
  #62  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 790
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MartinSorlie
Where did you see this?😅

And does anyone know what chassis Donny Lia is racing these days? Seems to get up to speed now😁
Donny's running the A12

https://events.redrc.net/event-galle...ry-wrap-140590


Robbob is offline  
Old 12-07-2023, 11:45 AM
  #63  
Tech Regular
 
MartinSorlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Oslo, Norway!
Posts: 342
Default

Originally Posted by Robbob
Well, that would certainly take away all camber, would be interesting to see how they might have gained some of the stiffness and camber back.
MartinSorlie is offline  
Old 12-07-2023, 04:39 PM
  #64  
Tech Regular
 
MikeO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: SoOrg
Posts: 389
Default

Are they running A12 uprights?
MikeO is offline  
Old 12-07-2023, 09:16 PM
  #65  
Tech Regular
 
MartinSorlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Oslo, Norway!
Posts: 342
Default

Originally Posted by MikeO
Are they running A12 uprights?

Or, they could keep the original beam, remove the camber strap, have some sort of stiffening brace, and just use a screw in the middle to force the beam to regain some camber.

Or they could do something completely different😅 I have no idea what is the reality here, though😅
MartinSorlie is offline  
Old 12-07-2023, 09:49 PM
  #66  
Tech Regular
 
MikeO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: SoOrg
Posts: 389
Default

Originally Posted by MartinSorlie
Or, they could keep the original beam, remove the camber strap, have some sort of stiffening brace, and just use a screw in the middle to force the beam to regain some camber.

Or they could do something completely different😅 I have no idea what is the reality here, though😅
So the idea would be that the brace is taking away flex that the camber strap would normally allow?
MikeO is offline  
Old 12-07-2023, 10:13 PM
  #67  
Tech Regular
 
MartinSorlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Oslo, Norway!
Posts: 342
Default

Originally Posted by MikeO
So the idea would be that the brace is taking away flex that the camber strap would normally allow?
I was more thinking about it as a way of reducing camber, but yeah. Then again, it would be stiff in the middle and soft by the kingpins, so I don't know. It would be a simple way to reduce camber, but I think the beam would be too soft, the more I think about it. They could of course run a much harder beam as well though😅 So many different ways they could have done it.

​​​
MartinSorlie is offline  
Old 12-08-2023, 12:06 AM
  #68  
Tech Adept
 
Robert K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 125
Default

The kingpins could have built in camber, (just like other brands have).

Both the kingpins being connected at top has some flex/movement when cornering. Moving the camberstrap lower not only lowers the CG it also changes this flex.

Regards Robert
Robbob likes this.
Robert K is offline  
Old 12-08-2023, 01:52 AM
  #69  
Tech Regular
 
MartinSorlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Oslo, Norway!
Posts: 342
Default

Originally Posted by Robert K
The kingpins could have built in camber, (just like other brands have).

Both the kingpins being connected at top has some flex/movement when cornering. Moving the camberstrap lower not only lowers the CG it also changes this flex.

Regards Robert
Also a viable option. Hope we'll get to see some pictures
chjosi likes this.
MartinSorlie is offline  
Old 12-13-2023, 06:52 AM
  #70  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
hollywood3705's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 470
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Itís a12 kingpins and steering blocks. Strap was added back to stiffen. Not provide camber. Same thing roche does, xray has tried as well as crc. The a12 front end is all the rage it seems
hanulec, Buckland and simple like this.
hollywood3705 is offline  
Old 12-13-2023, 11:07 AM
  #71  
Tech Master
iTrader: (47)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 1,086
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hollywood3705
Itís a12 kingpins and steering blocks. Strap was added back to stiffen. Not provide camber. Same thing roche does, xray has tried as well as crc. The a12 front end is all the rage it seems
What I've heard as well and makes sense since we haven't seen pictures of the Schumacher cars used at this event.
biz77 is offline  
Old 12-13-2023, 12:09 PM
  #72  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 790
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by biz77
What I've heard as well and makes sense since we haven't seen pictures of the Schumacher cars used at this event.
We see more of Ollies on road cars then we do of Orlowski's.
We only get to see his offroad cars lol.


Robbob is offline  
Old 12-13-2023, 01:11 PM
  #73  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 362
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Those kingpins be blurry af lol
ChadoSan is offline  
Old 12-13-2023, 01:24 PM
  #74  
Tech Regular
 
MikeO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: SoOrg
Posts: 389
Default

I have no qualms running the a12 style front endÖ if we can at least have the option to run the battery inline and flip the servo around 🤷‍♂️
MikeO is offline  
Old 12-14-2023, 03:27 AM
  #75  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 790
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MikeO
I have no qualms running the a12 style front endÖ if we can at least have the option to run the battery inline and flip the servo around 🤷‍♂️
2 out of 3?

I think running the A12 probably showed them the importance of consistent camber.
All the Eclipse's have a flex and camber change effect for US carpet.
Robbob is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.