Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Schumacher eclipse 5 >

Schumacher eclipse 5

Like Tree128Likes

Schumacher eclipse 5

Old 02-17-2023, 12:47 AM
  #16  
Tech Adept
 
Robert K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 123
Default

So I ran the E5 this weekend at the international 12. Liga in the Netherlands. It was a High grip track with "office carpet".
Car was on rails. Driver nog so.



Regards Robert
Robert K is offline  
Old 05-09-2023, 06:13 PM
  #17  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (57)
 
snopro31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: yorkton sask
Posts: 2,250
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Default

Has any fitted a power hd m8 pro servo into the e5 chassis with out the servo mount? Like Schumacher made the adapter to fit the sanwa servo into the dirrect mount holes has anyone made anything to fit the m8 pro into the chassis?
snopro31 is offline  
Old 05-09-2023, 06:49 PM
  #18  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 246
Default

Originally Posted by snopro31
Has any fitted a power hd m8 pro servo into the e5 chassis with out the servo mount? Like Schumacher made the adapter to fit the sanwa servo into the dirrect mount holes has anyone made anything to fit the m8 pro into the chassis?
I found the holes on the M8Pro are not spaced out enough as on the Sanwa servo that is supposed to mount there with the optional spacer that you can buy separately. I also know from experience that the Sanwa spacer does not fit the ears on the M8Pro which are too thick.

I did manage to mount the M8Pro upside down directly on the stock servo cross piece and it is mounted on the opposite side from a normal servo to make the gear centered. You will also have to shorten the height of the servo saver and switch your steering servo direction in the radio (forgot to do this when I went to the track but found out in a hurry, Super fast and great servo for the cost of it I think but just wish it would have fit on to the chassis as intended. Maybe we could get Schumacher to put the elongated holes back in like on the previous Eclipse cars.


Juniorabca is offline  
Old 05-10-2023, 05:07 AM
  #19  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 402
Default

Originally Posted by snopro31
Has any fitted a power hd m8 pro servo into the e5 chassis with out the servo mount? Like Schumacher made the adapter to fit the sanwa servo into the dirrect mount holes has anyone made anything to fit the m8 pro into the chassis?
For sure the M8pro has different hole centers than the SRX. If you are looking for an alternative the MKS HV50P bolts right in. I've been carrying around an M8pro for a spare assuming that it would fit but does not.
Roken is offline  
Old 05-12-2023, 11:48 AM
  #20  
Tech Adept
 
metalcrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Elmhurst, IL
Posts: 160
Default

Has anyone tried or figured out how to run the battery longitudinally as opposed to the standard lateral position.
I've seen this in other cars but not schumacher . I gave it a quick "fit up" but there doesn't seem like enough room
behind the servo. Thanks in advance.
metalcrafter is offline  
Old 05-12-2023, 12:16 PM
  #21  
Tech Regular
 
MikeO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: SoOrg
Posts: 388
Default

Originally Posted by metalcrafter
Has anyone tried or figured out how to run the battery longitudinally as opposed to the standard lateral position.
I've seen this in other cars but not schumacher . I gave it a quick "fit up" but there doesn't seem like enough room
behind the servo. Thanks in advance.
Sagami sells a conversion.
MikeO is offline  
Old 05-12-2023, 02:00 PM
  #22  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 774
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

DB error

Last edited by Robbob; 05-12-2023 at 02:06 PM. Reason: delete me
Robbob is offline  
Old 05-12-2023, 02:01 PM
  #23  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 774
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

DB error

Last edited by Robbob; 05-12-2023 at 02:07 PM. Reason: delete me
Robbob is offline  
Old 05-12-2023, 02:05 PM
  #24  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 774
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by metalcrafter
Has anyone tried or figured out how to run the battery longitudinally as opposed to the standard lateral position.
I've seen this in other cars but not schumacher . I gave it a quick "fit up" but there doesn't seem like enough room
behind the servo. Thanks in advance.
Theres not enough real estate on the chassis in stock form.
You really need to flip the servo around like the AMX to gain proper space for the esc and rx.
Thats just one thing among others that actually change the cars geometry.


Originally Posted by MikeO
Sagami sells a conversion.
Thats for the 3/4 ....
Not that the 5 is much different but its enough to not work.
Robbob is offline  
Old 05-12-2023, 03:46 PM
  #25  
Tech Regular
 
MikeO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: SoOrg
Posts: 388
Default

Originally Posted by Robbob
Thats for the 3/4 ....
Not that the 5 is much different but its enough to not work.
I forgot the servo mount on the 5 is floating. I think that must be the only part holding it back?
MikeO is offline  
Old 05-15-2023, 01:48 AM
  #26  
Tech Adept
 
Robert K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 123
Default

Wy would you want to do that. AWX is the only (up to date) brand that does that and it has it's pro's and con's.
The E5 is super fast, straight out of the box. I don't understand why you would change a good design?

Regards Robert
Robert K is offline  
Old 05-15-2023, 08:58 AM
  #27  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
clinttredway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,518
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

curious to hear thoughts on this compared to the E4 on black carpet.
clinttredway is offline  
Old 05-17-2023, 01:36 PM
  #28  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (6)
 
lorider75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lloydminster, Sk
Posts: 308
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Iíve been running the e5 for 2-3months now(I think), coming from an e4. The e4 has a much wider setup window. I feel like the e5 is on a bit of a knife edge set up wise. Itís easy to go too far and end up way off the pace again. The e5 seems to like smaller tires(I was running 39mm front and 39.5mm rears at last weekends trophy race) than the eclipse 4 did(usually 40mm fr and 40.5mm rear). Both are capable cars. I personally donít feel thereís a big enough performance increase from the e4 to e5 to justify an upgrade, if you have the e4 currently.
this is on black rug. Iíve been using Ollie Payneís 13.5t set up as my base and making small changes from there.
clinttredway likes this.
lorider75 is offline  
Old 05-17-2023, 02:31 PM
  #29  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
clinttredway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,518
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I donít have my E4 anymore and currently run a crc which is why I havenít built my E5.. my home track is high bite black carpet. I appreciate the feedback.
clinttredway is offline  
Old 06-20-2023, 07:48 AM
  #30  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 347
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default


aracefan likes this.
ChadoSan is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.