R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-23-2002, 08:27 PM   #1
Taz
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 17
Default Phantom Dyno..Where to buy 1

If anyone knows where i can get a Phantom Dyno please post it..I cant find one anywhere.
Thanks!
Taz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2002, 08:29 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Modesto, Ca
Posts: 991
Default

I have heard that Fantom has discontinued their dynos. I want one too but couldnt find one anywhere. Keep trying online shops though...someone has to have one in stock.
James Nguyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2002, 09:27 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Before you buy a Fantom

James Nguyen & Taz;

BEFORE you guys buy the Fantom, you may want to check this board out. There is a really good discussion going on about Dynos and interpreting the Data. These guys have used all of the different Dynos over the years.
Me, I ended up buying a Robitronic Pro Master Dyno recently.


Hobby Talk

Last edited by popsracer; 12-23-2002 at 09:41 PM.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2002, 09:40 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Modesto, Ca
Posts: 991
Default

I was going to get the Team Much More CTX-M motor master from Schumacher USA.
James Nguyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2002, 10:25 PM   #5
Taz
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 17
Default

Thanks for the input. I have the Integy Dyno for at the track to check basics... I wouldnt recomend it for other then basic data. I will check out the other info.
Thanks Again!
Taz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2002, 10:46 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Neil Rabara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lone Star
Posts: 4,821
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Taz
Thanks for the input. I have the Integy Dyno for at the track to check basics... I wouldnt recomend it for other then basic data. I will check out the other info.
Thanks Again!
I got my Fantom Facts Machine from Stormer Hobbies. They have it in stock.
Neil Rabara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2002, 11:31 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
fasterdanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: the bat cave
Posts: 428
Default fantom is the best

go for the fantom dynos they have awesome amounts of things you can do you can even do stuff like put in dimentions of the track then dyno the motor it will tell you exactly how to setup your car to get max performance
fasterdanu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2003, 12:02 AM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 215
Send a message via AIM to Dave Kurschner
Default

Here's a thought. Goto www.fantomracing.com and buy it via their online "Shopatron". Doesn't get much easier than going to the mfr's site.
Dave Kurschner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2003, 02:52 AM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Modesto, Ca
Posts: 991
Default

The Fantom dyno has been discontinued due to high manufacturing costs. At least thats what I heard.
James Nguyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2003, 04:02 AM   #10
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 215
Send a message via AIM to Dave Kurschner
Default

Well its still listed on their site?
Dave Kurschner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2003, 09:16 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Fantom vs the World

Guys;

BEFORE you spend that kind of money on a Fantom Dyno. I would try to find someone who actually has one in your area and see what they have to say about one.
The Fantom seems to be prefered by 4 cell Oval racers as the Fantom does it's testing a 5 volts (not adjustable) and most of racers have Fantoms so they can compare Data with each other.

I bought the Robitronic Dyno because the standard test voltage is 7.5 volts,(adjustable) which is much closer to the actual voltage a motor will see with 6 cells.

Again, go to the Hobby Talk board and check out the discussions on Dyno's. There are several threads going on right now that may provide some more answers to your questions.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2003, 11:15 AM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Neil Rabara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lone Star
Posts: 4,821
Default Re: Fantom vs the World

Quote:
Originally posted by popsracer
Guys;

BEFORE you spend that kind of money on a Fantom Dyno. I would try to find someone who actually has one in your area and see what they have to say about one.
The Fantom seems to be prefered by 4 cell Oval racers as the Fantom does it's testing a 5 volts (not adjustable) and most of racers have Fantoms so they can compare Data with each other.

I bought the Robitronic Dyno because the standard test voltage is 7.5 volts,(adjustable) which is much closer to the actual voltage a motor will see with 6 cells.

Again, go to the Hobby Talk board and check out the discussions on Dyno's. There are several threads going on right now that may provide some more answers to your questions.
That's true the Fantom Dyno uses a 5 V testing voltage, however, there is a mode in the software to convert the results to operating voltage. The reason why Fantom and Decco Software uses the 5 V testing voltage is to keep the motor from harm. There are a couple of motor companies that use the Fantom dyno to label their production motors (ie Trinity).
Neil Rabara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2003, 10:20 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
raffaelli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Land of the Free, Home of the Brave
Posts: 2,924
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...104454420&rd=1
raffaelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plano Phantom Pro b1gsammy Other Items: For Sale/Trade or Wanted to Buy 0 12-27-2007 04:05 AM
For Sale - Radio Gear - On Road Cars - Com Lathe - Phantom Dyno Fastforward R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 10-12-2007 08:07 PM
PHANTOM DYNO fixitguru Electric On-Road 7 08-09-2005 04:53 AM
Who Knows Phantom engines? SCREAMIN_GT Electric Off-Road 8 11-05-2003 10:33 PM
Phantom andrew5 Electric On-Road 1 03-10-2003 06:16 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:50 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net