R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-10-2006, 09:17 AM   #1
Tech Regular
 
RH Customs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NW Houston, Texas
Posts: 395
Send a message via AIM to RH Customs Send a message via Yahoo to RH Customs
Default What power supplies are you using?

I was wondering what power supplies people are running and what you are running on them. Also can you post some pics of your setup using the power supplies?

Thanks
RH
RH Customs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 11:26 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
lem2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: OC
Posts: 3,061
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RH Customs
I was wondering what power supplies people are running and what you are running on them. Also can you post some pics of your setup using the power supplies?

Thanks
RH
I use a Much More Worlds edition PS, 30amps connected to a Power Station and I use it to power the following: 2 CTX-C, Motor Master, CTX-D, MuchMore Fan, Much More Tire Warmers.
Attached Thumbnails
What power supplies are you using?-imgp0054.jpg   What power supplies are you using?-imgp0056.jpg  

Last edited by lem2; 04-10-2006 at 11:42 AM.
lem2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 11:31 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Sal Amato's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Long Island ,New York
Posts: 2,192
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

I have a rivergate 55amp That I run my Gfx, 2 pulsars,hudy tire truer and can still use my turbo dyno and the power supply doesnt even blink its eyes.Only thing is its a little bulky.I used to have a integy 28 amp that also worked awesome, it was able to run Gfx and the 2 pulsars.
__________________
360 RC SPEEDWAY 2.0

AWESOMATIX USA-SANWA--BSR--TEAM SCREAM --SWEEP RACING USA--TQ WIRE--ROCHE USA--LRP
Sal Amato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 11:54 AM   #4
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

most bang for the buck get the Pyramid PSV200
20amp.. more than enough to power your electronics.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Pyramid-20-Amp-R...QQcmdZViewItem
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 11:55 AM   #5
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I use a Eagle 13A power supply. I run my LRP Pulsar Comp. charger and my Duratrax ICE off of it. I also run a small 12V mini fan off it for post race motor cooling.

Don't have pics, but I run a run everything off a 4 way spiliter box. Both chargers have banana plugs installed to quickly plug and unplug them, and the fan'ss wires are simply captured by the screw down wire clamps on the spliter box since it would be kinda silly to put banana plugs on such tiny wires.
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 12:03 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
Jam-ehz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 592
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Jam-ehz
Default

I second that nod to the Pyramid PSV200.. got it off of eBay, it's one of the smallest and lightest for 20A (next to the Muchmore unit), and I've run 2 APSes (Chg @ 6A), tire warmer set and a motor cooler without a hitch.. fits in my toolbox with room to spare.
__________________
-=≡ Tamiya TA05 TRF415MSX F103R M-03R M-04 M-05 ≡=-
-=≡ CRC Carpet Knife 3.2 OFNA LD3 Pro Fastcats Spektrum ׀ווlı ≡=-
Jam-ehz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 12:04 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Scarab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Westminster, MD
Posts: 325
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Radio Shack 25amp power supply: $99.00

Looks EXACTLY like the Competition Electronics 23amp power supply.

Scarab
__________________
Team Monkey Spankers (TMS)
Losi Ten-SCTE 2.0
Jammin SCRT 10
Mugen MBX5-T ProSpec - O.S. .28 XZ [b]FOR SALE![/b]
Traxxas Revo - O.S. .18 TM [b]FOR SALE![/b]
Scarab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 12:37 PM   #8
Tech Addict
 
ICEMAN's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 730
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Radio shack 23 amp, same as Competition elec.
__________________
Blizzard Concepts / Team Losi / Team ProMatch / Team MuchMore / The SPEED Shop / Ko Propo USA / AVID RC / BigDog Graphics / Nitro R/C Chop Shop /

The ONE that DIES with the Most Toys WINS!!!
ICEMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 03:35 PM   #9
Super Moderator
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,063
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ICEMAN
Radio shack 23 amp, same as Competition elec.
Same here, & I'm pretty sure it's the exact same one as what CE sells, but I'd bet Radio Shack gets a better deal on them(usually happens when you can buy in bulk)....
__________________
Bob Seay
Tamiya TRF417, TA05v.2, TRF211XM, M-05ver.2R, XRAY X12, Associated B5m Factory Lite

Go Pokes!!!
Grizzbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 05:41 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Green Bay,WI
Posts: 3,006
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to R/C Anonymous
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scarab
Radio Shack 25amp power supply: $99.00

Looks EXACTLY like the Competition Electronics 23amp power supply.

Scarab
Myself and quite a few local racers use those. No problems so far.
__________________
Geoff C.
R/C Anonymous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 05:51 PM   #11
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,143
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

MuchMore for the win! It's expensive, but it's tiny and beautiful, and keeps pit clutter to a minimum. It's also solid as a rock, and worth the expense. The Competition/Radio Shack one seems to work well for just about everybody too, and the price is right. It's just a little bigger, and 80's style. I'm surprised there's no wood trim on its case like the old stereos. I swear, that thing looks out of place without a giant silver volume knob.

That Pyramid power supply is inexpensive because it's a piece of crap. If you use one, keep an eye on its voltage. More than one person (myself included) has had trouble with them not maintaining reasonable voltage, causing connected devices to malfunction.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 05:54 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Jack Smash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 2,897
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

15 year old LavCo 10 amp.
__________________
Kyosho / Orion / Amain.com / Protek / MIP /
Jack Smash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 06:04 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
ALBERTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK
Posts: 2,986
Trader Rating: 23 (96%+)
Send a message via AIM to ALBERTO Send a message via Yahoo to ALBERTO
Default

I use a Competition Electronics 23amp power supply, to power my gfx, pulsar,and aps... At tis time i'm not very happy with it... I fine it doesnt keep the 13.8 volts well..... I'm going to be looking into the new integy36amp supply..
I hope This will be enough

__________________
still fishing
ALBERTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 06:10 PM   #14
Tech Regular
 
Fervidsea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Palm Bay, FL
Posts: 251
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have also been using the MM PS, and am also looking at either the Integy 36amp or a Rivergate 45amp. I just really cant get past the looks of the Rivergate. Integy "Looks" alot better to me.

My MM is great, but I only have the 20amp and am looking at powering more stuff. Most likely going to sell it.
Fervidsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 06:11 PM   #15
Tech Elite
 
Anthony.L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 2,701
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

I've been running nothing but Rivergate power supplies for ten+ years. They are extremely reliable and bullet proof. I have the RDC-30 right now and it's more then enough to power multiple chargers, fans, tire warmers, etc.
Anthony.L is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
power supplies yokman sucks R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 09-23-2007 08:48 PM
20A power supplies $89 aus jd 2703 Australian Racing 3 06-26-2006 12:53 AM
2 POWER SUPPLIES F/S tazz888 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 07-12-2005 08:45 AM
Power Supplies GRB R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 05-17-2005 04:33 AM
FS: Power Supplies ctoms R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 11-21-2003 03:59 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:18 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net