R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-11-2005, 09:50 AM   #106
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Here is a big one.

Make sure the surface that you are cuttign on is stable and does not wobble.
I found out this the hard way a amost destroyed a comm at the track one day. If you are on a flat stable table then make sure you are not trying to take so much off. Here is how I start. I lube my V blocks strap in the comm adn make sure the belt is snug but not tight, Line the bit up with the very outside edge of the comm and bring it almost to where it is touching. I hook up power to the motor, if your running a standard 540 then set the voltage to 3V now while the comm is spinning move the bit ever so slightly to the comm, when you hear that the bit is touching back the bit a tiny bit off and try to make you first pass, if the bit isn't touching completely then on your second pass move the bit a tiny bit more then make youe second pass do this until the come is even and not pitted or groved. The trick to cutting a comm is patience and take only the very least amount off. Alot of guys get over zealous and take too much off, when you do there is line left or pits or what not.
I personally cut my comm after two -three runs. As to not have to take so much off. And when I am racign a larger race I cut my comm and change my brushes after every run. Just what I do...Do what works for you but heed the advice about a sturdly table to cut on. Plastic tables stink. I would rather cut my comm on the asphalt. LOL
Take Care, GOD Bless and Good Luck,
Stephen <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2005, 09:59 AM   #107
Tech Elite
 
ChadCapece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CofC
Posts: 3,313
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dakrat
also try using a cutting fluid. it should give u a smooth finish
I've tried most of of the popular cutting fluids. For me, nothing works as good as a sharpie. The oil in the ink is enough lubricant, and you only need to cut enough to take off the ink. Anything more is too much copper. I've prob spent $50 on just trying to get that perfect cut, then to realize that the plain old Sharpie was the ticket.
ChadCapece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2005, 10:55 AM   #108
Tech Master
 
Paul_TC4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,015
Send a message via AIM to Paul_TC4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pro4Capece
I've prob spent $50 on just trying to get that perfect cut, then to realize that the plain old Sharpie was the ticket.
Those Sharpies are excellent. They should be included in the box when you buy a comm lathe.
Paul_TC4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2005, 01:33 PM   #109
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul_TC4
Those Sharpies are excellent. They should be included in the box when you buy a comm lathe.
AMEN....
-Stephen <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2005, 01:36 PM   #110
Tech Master
 
dakrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 96th ABW
Posts: 1,581
Default

also try comm drop on the surface, always gives me that shine
dakrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2005, 03:58 PM   #111
Tech Adept
 
Trixter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Central Point, OR
Posts: 229
Default

Quote:
here is one old lathe com true I bought it in 1987 still cuts good but when dimond goes i have no opition but to have it retuled
I have one of those too and still use it I noticed that the motor on it is one of Mike's Haven't thought of him in many years. Warms my heart to see quality stuff still being used. I started in 1988. Still having fun with R/C
Attached Thumbnails
tip's with comm lathes-comtru1.jpg   tip's with comm lathes-comtrue3.jpg  
__________________
Slash 4X4, Bone stock and trying to keep it that way.
PRO MATCH BATTERIES.....THANKS JEFF !!
Trixter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2005, 10:03 PM   #112
Tech Elite
 
ChadCapece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CofC
Posts: 3,313
Default

Looks like a lathe for lefties
ChadCapece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2005, 10:04 PM   #113
Tech Elite
 
ChadCapece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CofC
Posts: 3,313
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pro4Capece
Looks like a lathe for lefties
Oh yeah, try saying that 5 times fast
ChadCapece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2005, 10:14 PM   #114
Tech Master
 
dakrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 96th ABW
Posts: 1,581
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pro4Capece
Looks like a lathe for lefties
i just noticed that. good eyes
dakrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2005, 09:32 PM   #115
Tech Master
 
dakrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 96th ABW
Posts: 1,581
Default

hudy lathes, how much volts do u guys use to run this lathe? im used to a 12v lathe. just wondering
dakrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2005, 02:02 AM   #116
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Posts: 285
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dakrat
hudy lathes, how much volts do u guys use to run this lathe? im used to a 12v lathe. just wondering
4.8V
skinart76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2005, 08:19 AM   #117
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dakrat
hudy lathes, how much volts do u guys use to run this lathe? im used to a 12v lathe. just wondering
3V
-Stephen <><
STUFF I HAVE FOR SALE.
http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?t=75474
http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?t=75202
http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?t=75472
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2005, 09:46 AM   #118
Tech Master
 
dakrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 96th ABW
Posts: 1,581
Default

i know the hudy website says 4.8v but has anyone tried different volt settings and have great results? i might try 3v
dakrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2005, 12:57 PM   #119
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,234
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NVisible
So, what kind of sound should be heard when cutting? I have some hi pitched sounds, which arent consistant across the comm. Is this from the comm being mishaped? Im also getting some scratches. My manual says lines are ok, but im not sure to what extent

**edit, damn i sure bumped an oldie
I have only seen what you describe when a lathe motor has been connected backwards. Check to make sure that your lathe motor is running in the correct direction.

The armature should be rotating away from you as you look downward at it. Which is clockwise when looking at the armature from the comm end.

Bill
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2005, 12:58 PM   #120
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,234
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dakrat
i know the hudy website says 4.8v but has anyone tried different volt settings and have great results? i might try 3v
Hudy instructions actually say 4.8v is using battery power AND at least 5.0v if using power supply.
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
comm lathes BDRMBULLY Rookie Zone 5 05-03-2007 12:56 PM
Help with comm lathes TL_XXX-S_racer Electric On-Road 56 12-28-2005 12:23 PM
Comm Lathes RCNitroDude999 Electric On-Road 3 02-12-2005 06:06 AM
Automatic Comm Lathes Kennedy Australian Racing 3 02-04-2004 01:22 AM
Comm Lathes Dan the Man Australian Racing 34 04-24-2003 06:18 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:03 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net