R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-20-2002, 06:49 PM   #61
Tech Regular
 
fasterdanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: the bat cave
Posts: 428
Default i've

i've heard that the cobra lathes are ment to be very cappy in the department of quality and accuracy. are they
fasterdanu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2002, 07:39 PM   #62
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,249
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

if you guys are talking about the brush hood alignment tool made by parma, dont use it those are crap, they dont do anything for the alignment of the brushes all they do is align the brushes with each other and the brushes will still cock sideways slightly and lose power. what you really want to do is align each brush hood individually so when the brush cocks in the hood it makes maximum contact. and stock motors will very much benefit from brush hood alignment. that is one of the best ways to get power out of a stock motor. racers edge makes one of the good brush hood alignment tools.

the only way you can mess up the brush hood alignment is if you unscrew the spring post and the little phillips screw on the opposite side of the brush hood.

Last edited by Jarrod Langlois; 12-20-2002 at 07:43 PM.
Jarrod Langlois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2002, 07:20 PM   #63
Tech Regular
 
fasterdanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: the bat cave
Posts: 428
Default ???????????

i've never seen the point in brush alingment tools you get more power from having an extra 0.20 volts on your battery everybody dont waste your money jus buy better batteries.
fasterdanu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2002, 08:00 PM   #64
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default Re: ???????????

Quote:
Originally posted by fasterdanu
i've never seen the point in brush alingment tools you get more power from having an extra 0.20 volts on your battery everybody dont waste your money jus buy better batteries.
brush alignment will not help you to get extra power but to minimize power loss.
Manticore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2002, 08:08 PM   #65
Tech Elite
 
Boomer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Southern Cal - Claremont
Posts: 3,346
Send a message via ICQ to Boomer Send a message via AIM to Boomer
Default

Wasn't talking about hood alignment tools - was talking about Cobra Lathes.

The Cobra Lathe that I use every time that I race is, well, better than any other lathe I've owned, including an original Twister and a Trinity.
__________________
-
RC10L2.5W - RC12.4 - RCNTC3(bmi) - TC4 (modded) - B44.2 - plus rent-a-rides! :D
Boomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2002, 08:22 PM   #66
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default Re: i've

Quote:
Originally posted by fasterdanu
i've heard that the cobra lathes are ment to be very cappy in the department of quality and accuracy. are they
that is what all my friends are telling. they owned it, hate it much and dumped it finally. I doubt who said it is greatest of all !
Manticore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2002, 08:31 PM   #67
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,249
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

having the brushes making full contact with the comm will make a difference in power. aligning the hoods will help you get all the power out of a stock motor you can get.
Jarrod Langlois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2002, 08:32 PM   #68
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by spaz456
having the brushes making full contact with the comm will make a difference in power. aligning the hoods will help you get all the power out of a stock motor you can get.
that's the point !
Manticore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2002, 08:44 PM   #69
Tech Regular
 
fasterdanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: the bat cave
Posts: 428
Default

it makes almost no difference i have tried and the brushes just pop back in to the same spot when the motor starts turning
fasterdanu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2002, 09:26 PM   #70
Tech Elite
 
Jack Smash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 2,897
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

aligning the brushes 180 deg from each other is not how to align your brushes. It doesnt take into account brush shift due to the fact that the hoods are bigger than the brushes.

To align brushes, you need to run the motor with a four cell and look at the wear pattern. Then you need a bar that fits into the hood and tweak it a little at a time until the wear pattern is right down the middle of the brush.
Jack Smash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2002, 07:02 AM   #71
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,249
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Manticore
that's the point !
i was trying to point that out to fasterdanu
Jarrod Langlois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2002, 08:54 AM   #72
Company Representative
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,633
Default Cobra Lathe

Mine is 12 yrs old and works like a dream. Spend the extra coin and get a diamond bit right from the get go. Mine is still my first one and it still cuts the coms to a shiny finish. I found that Carbide bits are good for around 20 cuts then get dull. They may be cheaper to start with, but I would have gone through tons of them by now. TTYL.


Gary
Gary Fliegel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2002, 01:16 PM   #73
Tech Regular
 
fasterdanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: the bat cave
Posts: 428
Default dimond bits

i'v been told by a fried i can send away one of the carbide tip's to some commercial dimond company and they will braise a dimond tip on for about 70au dollars they also are ment to be of good quality getting about 100cut's before you send it back to be sharpened.
fasterdanu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2002, 09:35 PM   #74
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 267
Default 55 turn lathe motor

Slight change of subject...I'm using a Hudy lathe, and trying to figure out how to get away from the 4 cell pack. Integy sells a 12 v 55 turn motor that you can hook directly to your power supply specifically for running the lathe...no 4 cell pack. Anyone tried one of these?
markg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2002, 02:06 PM   #75
Tech Apprentice
 
b3buggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Worcester, UK
Posts: 74
Default problem

Hi,
I have a trinity comm lathe that i swapped for a old YR-4 chassis.
it has been great till the other day when it started to send out high pitch sounds, so i changed the tip to a newer one, and it still did the same thing. the finish is also terrible.
is it time to bin it?

thanks

ross
__________________
RCR Racing - Worcester MCC
b3buggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
comm lathes BDRMBULLY Rookie Zone 5 05-03-2007 12:56 PM
Help with comm lathes TL_XXX-S_racer Electric On-Road 56 12-28-2005 12:23 PM
Comm Lathes RCNitroDude999 Electric On-Road 3 02-12-2005 06:06 AM
Automatic Comm Lathes Kennedy Australian Racing 3 02-04-2004 01:22 AM
Comm Lathes Dan the Man Australian Racing 34 04-24-2003 06:18 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:50 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net