R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-06-2006, 03:17 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Luis Obispo,CA
Posts: 1,394
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default New Lathe prep????

I just picked up Hudy Lathe with v blocks for a killer deal. My question is, before I use it, I have heard that some of you send out your new lathe to a company that bascially blueprints it. I guess you would call it. Go threw it and make sure where the comm turns on and where the bit meet are square or something like that.. Can anyone explain more about this to me and who provides this service. Thanks

What about diamond cutters? Hudy is about $86 recommend any others
tunnelhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 08:52 AM   #2
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 140
Default

Never heard of such a thing. I really don't think your going to have any problem with a Hudy lathe.

I don't use a diamond cutter. They're easily damaged and I can buy a lot of carbide cutters (at $4 each) for the price of one diamond.
Lano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 09:08 AM   #3
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: phx az
Posts: 30
Default

the hudy lathe is one of the best out there so all you should need to do is make sure there is no play on any of the sliding parts but that they still move fairly free and smooth with out any binding.

im no lathe expert,but ive never heard of having one sent out to have it "blueprinted".
Derek K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 09:13 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Anthony.L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 2,701
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Out of the box the lathe is ready to mount the bit and start cutting. No adjustments needed.
Anthony.L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 06:24 PM   #5
Tech Apprentice
 
vaiogeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 59
Send a message via Yahoo to vaiogeek
Default

I use an 8 x 12 model lathe to cut my comms instead of a hobby comm lathe. The model lathes do have to be adjusted to ensure there is not slop and that everything is true.

You shouldn't have the same problem with a comm lathe unless it was dropped or something.

Mainly they would ensure that the v blocks are truly perpendicular to the cutting head and that there isn't any slop in the head.
vaiogeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 08:13 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
POOKYT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Cabot, AR
Posts: 3,584
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tunnelhead
I just picked up Hudy Lathe with v blocks for a killer deal. My question is, before I use it, I have heard that some of you send out your new lathe to a company that bascially blueprints it. I guess you would call it. Go threw it and make sure where the comm turns on and where the bit meet are square or something like that.. Can anyone explain more about this to me and who provides this service. Thanks

What about diamond cutters? Hudy is about $86 recommend any others

I have been told the same thing. Somebody out there could shed some light on this please.

Brant
__________________
EA Motorsports--B-Main Motorsports--Blizzard Concepts--Loose Nuts Racing--BigDog Graphics

My Carbon Footprint is Larger than Yours! :p
POOKYT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 07:32 AM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 226
Default

You should be able to take it to a local machine shop to get everything squared up. I would cut a comm on it first and see if it needs adjusting (measure the top and bottom of the cut to see if their is a difference); chances are it is probably fine.
BobbyDoyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 07:48 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
POOKYT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Cabot, AR
Posts: 3,584
Default

Thanks Bobby!!!

Brant
__________________
EA Motorsports--B-Main Motorsports--Blizzard Concepts--Loose Nuts Racing--BigDog Graphics

My Carbon Footprint is Larger than Yours! :p
POOKYT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 05:12 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,859
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to brians11
Default

The hudy lathes are actually 'keyed' to the cross head, and the v blocks are machined in pairs, so there is no adjustment needed to have it cut straight...
__________________
Team Tekin | Superiorhobbies.com
brians11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 05:37 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 492
Default

cut a comm with it first and measure the diameter of the comm at each end.
if its the same don't mess with it. if one end measures a few thousands smaller than one end then try to align the cutting head.
baih is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tire prep 2056dennis Electric On-Road 0 07-09-2007 03:27 PM
Asphalt Prep darkfox Electric On-Road 14 05-15-2007 08:40 PM
Wing prep thealpha Painting, Designs, Graphics and Photography 0 12-02-2006 03:37 PM
Tire Prep Fewski Rookie Zone 2 01-06-2006 12:41 AM
Race Prep -CriMinaL- |RC Racing Forum 16 01-01-2003 10:23 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:09 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net