R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 12-18-2002, 04:23 PM   #1
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default I have to make a choice, gas or electric

I have been racing 1/10 gas trucks for about 2 years now. I am about to get into one more class. I cannot decide if I want to try indoor for a while and buy a RC12L3 and all the supporting hardware, a RC10B3/XXX KE and hardware, or maybe an Kyosho MP7.5 and stick to strictly gas off road. Are any of you guys who race electric on road also involved in off road of any type and are the differences between the two driving styles affecting you at all? I used to race 1/8 scale buggy's so I already know how they handle and have experiance with them. I have never touched a true on road car though, just little play toy sedans for fun like the 4 Tech, to buy a MP7.5 and motor is about the same as a RC12 and good peak charger and 3300 matched batts. Therefore money is not a deciding factor. Either way it will cost me about 700 bucks. Any input from people who race both or have in the past would be appreciated. I also only race them, other than that they sit on the shelf or go to the track and do practice laps. Thanks in advance guys.
slodsm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2002, 08:18 PM   #2
Tech Regular

hmm, can I get a little help here? I see there are a lot of guys here who race regularly, probably quite a few near pro level. I know some of you have to do on and off road classes that could help me out.
Old 12-18-2002, 08:47 PM   #3
Tech Master

Send a message via AIM to patelladragger

it's going to be difficult for people to help you because you are asking for pretty subjective input.

What are the tracks catered to in your area? Which class will have the more competitive drivers? Where will you get the most runtime? What are your goals with the class? Which appeals to YOU more?