R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-02-2006, 05:07 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
F1 Nutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 102
Default servo voltage problems

I am having a huge problem that I need all the help I can get with. I run a Yoki BD with Nosram Dominator evo ESC, Spektrum, and a Hi-Tech HSC-5996TG servo with a Peak hellfire motor. Basically what happens is the servo freezes all the time under rapid usage especially when on power. I have been told that it could be the reciever not being able to handle enough voltage and going into a sort of shut down mode, so when I get on the power the motor takes all the voltage away and the servo just freezes where it was. has anyone else had this type of problem and if so how can I fix it?
F1 Nutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2006, 05:32 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

More than likely it is a combination of the digital servo not being set up correctly which can cause MASSIVE stall current and a rather weedt BEC circuit in the Nosram, not being able to provide enough power to the servo under high loading.
DA_cookie_monst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 09:54 AM   #3
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 22
Default

Had the same problem with de LRP Q2.

BEC circuit is not strong enough.

I had problems with my personal transponder. sometimes there was not enough power for it and I missed laps.

there are a lot more threads about this problem with the LRP/Nosram
Jan van Steeg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 10:12 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Send a message via Yahoo to koabich
Default

I had the same problems. I installed the LARGE capaciter from the LRP Worlds Kit and the problem was solved. No more problems!!
koabich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 11:24 AM   #5
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 500
Send a message via AIM to RcCzarOfOld Send a message via MSN to RcCzarOfOld Send a message via Yahoo to RcCzarOfOld
Default

Get the pre-wired capacitor from Spektrum and install that. That should help when the motor is pulling a great deal of amperage. Is this one of the first versions of the spektrum released? That could also be part of the issue. Most likely though, the spektrum cap will solve the problem and it's a cheap fix too. (4-6 bucks)
RcCzarOfOld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 11:42 AM   #6
Tech Rookie
 
Nevergreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Swizerland
Posts: 3
Default

I remember i had the same problem (same servo,QC2 and BD), by using the capricator from LRP or Novak all the probs are gone.
Nevergreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2006, 04:43 AM   #7
Tech Adept
 
F1 Nutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 102
Default

Thanks for all your help guys. One of the racers from our club was kind enough to let me use his pre-wired Spektrum capacitor but it didn't solve the problem. I think I'll try the large nosram capacitor (I think it comes in the nosram ultimate accessory kit) and if that still doesn't work then I might try to solder the positive lead from the servo directly to the positive battery terminal on the speed controller.
F1 Nutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2006, 12:52 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
Jimmy Morris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,230
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jan van Steeg
Had the same problem with de LRP Q2.

BEC circuit is not strong enough.

I had problems with my personal transponder. sometimes there was not enough power for it and I missed laps.

there are a lot more threads about this problem with the LRP/Nosram

Yeah, I have the same problem. Sure does suck. I will be getting a mms soon though. I put a cap from my gt-7 on my qc2 and it made it glitch.
__________________
www.superiorhobbies.com
Jimmy Morris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NiCD/NiMH Voltage vs Lipo Voltage bryanleec Radio and Electronics 10 02-06-2008 06:08 PM
GP3300 voltage problems wog....supraman Radio and Electronics 5 11-29-2007 11:32 PM
Orion 4800 Lipo problems.. voltage fluctuating... Justinian Electric Off-Road 2 01-08-2007 12:58 PM
Servo Voltage Question StephenSobottka Electric On-Road 5 09-02-2005 09:48 PM
Servo Voltage Qn (Ko Propo 2123) jwwu Electric On-Road 8 05-10-2002 07:54 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:33 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net