R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-29-2006, 08:37 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 131
Default Twister/KO speedo`s

Hi Guys, i am just about to fit the twister 2.1 into my cyclone, in the pack it has the flat diode and also a huge capacitor, have any of you installed the cap and what does it do, i have never seen pics of it in haras or andy moores car, please correct me if i am wrong.

Also can i leave it out or will it affect the speedo.


Thanks
LEE UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 08:45 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
Charles Godwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK (England)
Posts: 1,129
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I don't know alot about this speedo but it would have been best to have posted this in this thread

Charles
__________________
DXR | CML Distribution | Paint by Turnip Paint | TKRgraphics.com
Charles Godwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 09:25 AM   #3
Tech Regular
 
chicmagnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 317
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

yes you have to install (that flat black thing) diode and the caps. the esc requires those things to work properly.
__________________
STRAIGHT LTD.
chicmagnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 10:47 AM   #4
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 131
Default

Another thing is i am looking to get the lead so i can program it via my laptop, but what type of lead do i need and where does it plug into the speedo.
LEE UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 11:17 AM   #5
Tech Addict
 
ICEMAN's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 730
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

You can find all your answes on the www.kopropo.com , or just PM Robert on the Ko Propo thread here on Rctech, i have 2 Hara 2.1's and Love them.
__________________
Blizzard Concepts / Team Losi / Team ProMatch / Team MuchMore / The SPEED Shop / Ko Propo USA / AVID RC / BigDog Graphics / Nitro R/C Chop Shop /

The ONE that DIES with the Most Toys WINS!!!
ICEMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 12:16 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
Nicadrauspro4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Automobili Lamborghini S.p.A., Italy
Posts: 674
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LEE UK
Hi Guys, i am just about to fit the twister 2.1 into my cyclone, in the pack it has the flat diode and also a huge capacitor, have any of you installed the cap and what does it do, i have never seen pics of it in haras or andy moores car, please correct me if i am wrong.

Also can i leave it out or will it affect the speedo.


Thanks
Look for th "KO Propo VFS-1 ESC" thread in this forum. You'll find all your answers and know-how there. The twister 2.1 is also a VFS-1 model just in case you don't know.

__________________
works1200.weebly.com
nicadraus-lamborghini.weebly.com
Nicadrauspro4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 03:46 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Green Bay,WI
Posts: 3,006
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to R/C Anonymous
Default

I would definately install the capacitor. As far as the diode. I didn't use one when I ran stock rubber sedan(but did when i ran any kind of modified or foam tire racing). It is always better to install it IMO.
__________________
Geoff C.
R/C Anonymous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 04:17 PM   #8
Tech Adept
 
bomberman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 173
Default

the capacitor will smoothen the current flow when throttle engages from idle to full throttle. it also has the advantage during the start because it leaves a charge inside the capacitor thus give you a better response when the race will start

regarding the diode yes it is needed too. because it will take care of your esc when you let go of the throttle coming from full power.. it gets the excess current coming from the motor saving your esc to get some of that excess current. in other words no current will get back inside your esc when you use the diode.

running without them is okay for stock but to be on the safe side install them.. on the other hand for modified i suggest you use them.
bomberman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 03:17 AM   #9
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 131
Default

thanks for your help, i put them on anyway to be safe.

Does anyone know the part number of the pc to esc cable, i cant find it anywhere
LEE UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 05:47 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Green Bay,WI
Posts: 3,006
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to R/C Anonymous
Default

ICS PC Interface for VFS 1/2 & Servos (Part # 61012)
__________________
Geoff C.
R/C Anonymous is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hara Twister V2.1 SpeedO John Q R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 05-30-2008 10:13 PM
Hara Twister 2.2 speedo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!! ChestyV32 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 09-15-2007 02:28 PM
HARA TWISTER 2.1 SPEEDO TOEBSTER2 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 02-09-2007 05:24 PM
Hara Twister speedo help Capt.Micro Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2006 04:43 PM
Looking to buy a twister 2.1 speedo wallstreet R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 05-05-2006 09:43 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:48 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net