R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-19-2002, 03:25 AM   #16
Tech Regular
 
sonneteer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 337
Default

MattW I would suggest get a Pro-Trak instead I have used one and it is really quite good compared to anything else I have used.
sonneteer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2002, 11:08 AM   #17
Tech Elite
 
KINGZJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: South Milwaukee,WISCONSIN
Posts: 2,089
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to KINGZJ
Default

Doe a Pro-Track run motors?
KINGZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2002, 12:10 PM   #18
Tech Adept
 
Ian S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 241
Default

yeah, u can run motors in on the Pro-Trak with the optional motor run in stand. The current is pulsed though so no good for runing lathes!
Ian S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2002, 12:44 PM   #19
Tech Elite
 
ottoman's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 2,761
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Well my first one went up in smoke while charging a bat... but I sent it in... oh ya, send them to associated in the USA, not mentioned in my instructions... and they replaced it... it works fine now except for the before mentioned motor run in problems... but overall I like it.
ottoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2002, 01:11 PM   #20
Moderator
 
MarkA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 9,008
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KINGZJ
As a charger is is fine everything else sucks
Yeah, that would be my thought exactly. Iíve had mine for a few months now and every single charge has been completed flawlessly. Every other feature is useless.
MarkA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2002, 01:41 PM   #21
Tech Elite
 
KINGZJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: South Milwaukee,WISCONSIN
Posts: 2,089
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to KINGZJ
Default

Well just got another email from Asc. and they claim that their is not a new version of the charger coming out. Guess I have a pulsar for sale anybody interested?


Jesse
KINGZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2002, 06:57 PM   #22
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sby
Posts: 3
Default

Just checked mine last night....

The no load voltage was jumping up and down.
I meausured it digital voltmeter
When conected to the load(motor) the voltage was stable.
But way to low comparing to the voltage that we set in Pulsar.
So... you were right guys, its useless.

I think LRP will have a BIG problem, if they dont respond
very... very....well
Arifin21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2002, 06:59 PM   #23
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sby
Posts: 3
Default

Just checked mine last night....

The no load voltage was jumping up and down.
I meausured it digital voltmeter.
When conected to the load(motor) the voltage was stable.
But way to low comparing to the voltage that we set in Pulsar.
So... you were right guys, its useless.

I think LRP will have a BIG problem, if they dont respond
very... very....well
Arifin21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2002, 07:36 PM   #24
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 43
Default

I too have emailed AE. They claim they have not heard of this problem nor do they know about any updated version. Seems to me they do have a problem and need to address it. With any new product there are bound to be problems, I just hope AE will fix this concern and update our chargers to keep us good customers.
toomanytoys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2002, 08:52 PM   #25
Tech Addict
 
lonestar1127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Country of Wind
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Gus do u haf any recommended settings for 800mAh batt??
lonestar1127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2002, 06:19 AM   #26
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

Aint got the Pulsar myself, so I just know what I've read. But why dont you guys write to LRP, instead of AE? It's more directly this way....

And from what I've experienced with the LRP service/support here in Europe, it's very good....
__________________
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2002, 06:26 AM   #27
Tech Elite
 
KINGZJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: South Milwaukee,WISCONSIN
Posts: 2,089
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to KINGZJ
Default

I have posted on their forum and they keep telling me their is nothing wrong or to contact my lrp distrubutor in the U.S.

So much for their customer service.
KINGZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2002, 08:10 AM   #28
Tech Elite
 
ijnek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: S'pore & M'sia, JB
Posts: 2,510
Send a message via ICQ to ijnek
Default

guess tat makes mi think twice abt using LRP stuffs again...
the las 1 tat i used was the LRP v7.1 esc,n it should b the last...
ijnek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2002, 12:32 PM   #29
Tech Addict
 
Northerner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Vermillion, SD
Posts: 535
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Northerner
Default

i bought a used Pulsar and after i got it i found out the blue back light doesnt work all the time. and if the lights are low or off you cant see what it says when the back light is on.

LRP's webpage said somewhere that this is a known problem on the early models and to send it in and they will repair it.

but i also have the problem with the motor run-in feature, i dont need a multi-meter to know that it is messed up, i can hear the motor surging up and down when its running.

my fan has never come on either?

i really love the features this charger has. i think its time for Novak to step up to the plate with something similar to the Pulsar!!

i will send my charger in to get fixed and deffinetly keep it, i love being able to increase or decrease the power while running!
Northerner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2002, 07:23 PM   #30
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default Just picked up my Pulsar

I have not had any problems with the motor runin feature. I used it on my hudy lathe with the slave motor and cut 4 comms without a problem.

Backlight is a bit of a pain.
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Turbo 35 GFX Charger & Pulsar 2 Competition Charger ZeroCool101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 02-20-2008 07:57 AM
WTB Lrp pulsar charger SaTsOk R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 04-06-2007 03:10 AM
PULSAR 1 charger cheehtae R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 03-21-2007 03:17 PM
WTB: LRP PULSAR/2 CHARGER! R-job R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 04-12-2006 04:46 PM
LRP Pulsar Charger letitroll R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 03-07-2005 09:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:08 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net