R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-28-2006, 09:54 PM   #16
Tech Addict
 
crACkeD ChaSsiS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Getting practice 1/10 stock onroad
Posts: 632
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to crACkeD ChaSsiS Send a message via Yahoo to crACkeD ChaSsiS
Default setup problem

everytime i try to setup my car. i cant seem to get my ride height to stay were i want it. as soon as i set droop it seems like my ride height goes up. an then my supension is tweaked(cant seem to correct to it). ive reset my car up at least 3times a day since sunday tryin to get it right. but no luck yet im going to keep working with it until i figure it out.
crACkeD ChaSsiS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2006, 09:58 PM   #17
Tech Champion
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,697
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Slotmachine
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crACkeD ChaSsiS
everytime i try to setup my car. i cant seem to get my ride height to stay were i want it. as soon as i set droop it seems like my ride height goes up. an then my supension is tweaked(cant seem to correct to it). ive reset my car up at least 3times a day since sunday tryin to get it right. but no luck yet im going to keep working with it until i figure it out.
Try seting your droop screws all the way out , level with the bottom of the A arms. Set your height, then camber, then your droop.It could be that you are pre loading your springs too much...............
__________________
HOBBYWING NORTH AMERICA /FALCON SEKIDO/ TEKNO RC TEAM/VBC Racing America/VP-PRO RACING TIRES/2010 R.O.A.R. VTA National Champion Driving a T2R PRO/NANO-TECH Batteries Paul Rush
Slotmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 06:56 AM   #18
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 3,121
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to A. Rhodes
Default

I set up my car in the following order:

1. Check car for obvious problems - loose screws, excessive tweak, broken parts, etc.
2. Droop - shocks off
3. Hudy set up station
4. Ride height
5. Tweak
__________________
Retired from RC....
Quantum - St. Croix - Bass Pro Shops - XPS - Rapala
A. Rhodes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 07:39 AM   #19
Tech Elite
 
teamgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hampton/VA Beach USA
Posts: 2,089
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slotmachine
Try seting your droop screws all the way out , level with the bottom of the A arms. Set your height, then camber, then your droop.It could be that you are pre loading your springs too much...............
Slotmachine is right. This is a common issue that drivers have. Other than using the method I described above, it's best to set your downstop screws further out before setting ride height, camber & front toe. This way you won't compress the springs (preload) accidentally and have problems with the ride height fluctuating when setting the droop as a final step.
__________________
Guy Hood
Sponsored by: Team XRAY / Team RC America / RB Products USA
/ Twister Tires USA / Maxy's Mods & Fuel / Parma PSE / Zubaks
Un-sponsored Shoutout: NexusRacing.com
*** 301 Raceway is my home away from Home ***
teamgp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 09:37 AM   #20
Tech Rookie
 
kenny f's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 13
Default

the best order for me is to stick cells in it and away i go :P lol nah what they guys are saying sounds good!
kenny f is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 10:11 AM   #21
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Send a message via Yahoo to koabich
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crACkeD ChaSsiS
everytime i try to setup my car. i cant seem to get my ride height to stay were i want it. as soon as i set droop it seems like my ride height goes up. an then my supension is tweaked(cant seem to correct to it). ive reset my car up at least 3times a day since sunday tryin to get it right. but no luck yet im going to keep working with it until i figure it out.
One thing a lot of people just stuck doing is following other peoples set-ups. Just because someone else uses 7mm of droop, does not mean you can use the same amount of droop. Droop is dependant on ride height and tire diameter. Unless you have the same car, same tires and same ride height, you cannot use someone's elses droop measurment.

If changing your droop alters the ride height, you are in fact running NO droop. When the car is at rest, the droop screews should not hit the chassis at all. Most people these days measure uptravel. I've been doing this for years and find it much better and easier.
koabich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 11:13 AM   #22
Tech Regular
 
RC_Woody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: St. Helens, OR
Posts: 313
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slotmachine
I`m still having a hard time understanding how your droop would effect your height when set properly. Droop when set properly would never effect height !

I`ve been seting cars up for a lot of years and always set ride height first, then camber , then droop .........I think you will find that , that is why everyone is having a hard time understanding your set up directions , they have always heard of people doing it always set ride height first, then camber , then droop
Paul R.
I agree with you totally Slotmachine. I was just saying it COULD be done that way. But let me I would go further to say if you mean set your UP travel after ride height I agree. But I would still recommend using a droop gauge with the shocks off and get the droop even, doesn't matter what height, just get them even so you know for a fact that other factors are not effecting your droop. Then do everything - ride height etc, then final step do your up travel droop.
__________________
Woody
Sponsored by - My Wallet
LOSI SCTE
Tekno EB48
Home Track: Firridge Raceway, Scappoose OR
RC_Woody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 11:16 AM   #23
Tech Champion
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,697
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Slotmachine
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC_Woody
I agree with you totally Slotmachine. I was just saying it COULD be done that way. But let me I would go further to say if you mean set your UP travel after ride height I agree. But I would still recommend using a droop gauge with the shocks off and get the droop even, doesn't matter what height, just get them even so you know for a fact that other factors are not effecting your droop. Then do everything - ride height etc, then final step do your up travel droop.
Yes I concur......................
__________________
HOBBYWING NORTH AMERICA /FALCON SEKIDO/ TEKNO RC TEAM/VBC Racing America/VP-PRO RACING TIRES/2010 R.O.A.R. VTA National Champion Driving a T2R PRO/NANO-TECH Batteries Paul Rush
Slotmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 04:18 PM   #24
Tech Addict
 
imjonah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 704
Default WELL

Well, this thread is clear as mud.

Last edited by imjonah; 03-29-2006 at 09:39 PM.
imjonah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anybody order from..... xsxracing RC Flight 2 11-05-2007 03:16 PM
TIR Order magicapache Electric On-Road 39 06-05-2007 04:25 PM
About to order... Anything I should know? RCn00bHelpMe Electric Off-Road 16 02-02-2007 10:06 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:06 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net