Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Touring by h2e (1/10th, 190mm, 4wd) >

Touring by h2e (1/10th, 190mm, 4wd)

Like Tree213Likes

Touring by h2e (1/10th, 190mm, 4wd)

Old 12-05-2020, 05:21 AM
h2e
Tech Regular

Default Touring by h2e (1/10th, 190mm, 4wd)

Dear RCTech Forum,

I've been a keen reader for years, but this marks my first post in this forum. More of a tinkerer (yes, I am an engineer) than a fast racer, I am in the process of designing yet another touring car, and I would appreciate your opinions - positive or negative - on some of the specs I'd like to try to achieve with that design. Please be aware that I might take some of your ideas to reality, and some not (so please don't be offended). It's intended as a personal project for fun and understanding - with no precise future plans. Please always try to explain why you prefer some solution over the other. Thanks!

1/10th Touring car h2e concept
Chassis
- The main goal of the new design is to create a much shorter/narrower (at the bulkheads) chassis plate in contrast to AMX, MTC2, Mi7, even more extreme than the BD10 or ARC R12
- Why so? To maybe be able to lower the chassis by some 0.5-1mm
- The current concept compares to a TA07 (RCLabHK) as shown

Drivetrain
- Goal: Minimal drag, balanced acceleration/deceleration delivery
- Single belt (not to be discussed ), to allow for easy motor position changes
- More or less centered transversal motor with ESC behind
- 37t diff/spool to allow for removal of recess holes around them whilst still keeping a decent CoG height.
- As large as possible counter pulleys to reduce drag
- Belt lenghts optimized for balanced braking torque "reaction speed" on both axes --> 257mm wheelbase
- Even if it wouldn't be needed: Diff clamps are made as inserts to allow for different brand Diffs/Spools in the future (as decision is not yet made)

Suspension