R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-06-2007, 10:35 AM   #661
Tech Elite
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,791
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyboy View Post
Yes the "Lipo Mode" is the LVC. "Normal Mode" disables the LVC.
Sweet!

Thanks
__________________
R1 Wurks/Awesomatix USA/Roche USA/Protoform/Solaris/Mo Speed/Speedworld Raceway
BlackedOutREVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2007, 12:46 PM   #662
Tech Addict
 
jdearhart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Darlington, SC
Posts: 565
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys,

A buddy of mine had some problems with his brand new Sphere TC glitching/surging. To make a long story short, it glitched into the wall, he continued to run it, and ended up dragging the on/off switch off. I'm pretty sure it was the speedo, as he changed to a different one and the glitching/surging went away. Now, he wants to sell it for next to nothing and I was thinking about buying it. Where do I send it too in the U.S., and do you have any idea what the cost might be?

Thanks!
jdearhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2007, 12:49 PM   #663
Tech Master
 
johnnyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,634
Trader Rating: 28 (97%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdearhart View Post
Hey guys,

A buddy of mine had some problems with his brand new Sphere TC glitching/surging. To make a long story short, it glitched into the wall, he continued to run it, and ended up dragging the on/off switch off. I'm pretty sure it was the speedo, as he changed to a different one and the glitching/surging went away. Now, he wants to sell it for next to nothing and I was thinking about buying it. Where do I send it too in the U.S., and do you have any idea what the cost might be?

Thanks!
Sounds like more of an RX problem. But if you buy it I think A/E charges around $30-$40 for the most part to fix it (if it is not under warranty).
__________________
"Almost Live Race Coverage": www.johnnyboy.ca

.:Team Orion : JConcepts : B-Fast RC:.
johnnyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2007, 12:56 PM   #664
Tech Addict
 
jdearhart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Darlington, SC
Posts: 565
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Kinda thought it might be a RX problem, but it is a Spektrum system, and when he switched speedos to a different brand, the problem went away.
jdearhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2007, 12:59 PM   #665
Tech Master
 
johnnyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,634
Trader Rating: 28 (97%+)
Default

I had the same problem with my Spektrum system (using an LRP Spehere as well). I had to clean out the RX as there was dirt in it and re-bind it to the transmitter and it was fine after that.
__________________
"Almost Live Race Coverage": www.johnnyboy.ca

.:Team Orion : JConcepts : B-Fast RC:.
johnnyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 09:55 PM   #666
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,419
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default LRP Comp Sphere ?

I have a LRP Comp Sphere with the heat sink and a fan. I can run a 13.5 motor without any issues, but when I try a Novak 5.5 or a older LRP X11 the speedo seems to shut down every once in a while. When it does this sometimes I will still have steering and other times the entire system is dead. It doesn't seem to matter when during the run that this happens, sometimes early in the run and sometimes later in the run. When I temp the motor and esc they don't seem like excessive temps, the motor is around 130 and the esc is right around 100. This is a older version of the Comp Sphere, should a person be running a cap with this? Any other suggestions? Thanks, and sorry if this has been asked before.
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 10:17 PM   #667
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 727
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Trying to see if people has posted this related question. But no luck so I will ask here. Did anyone compare the TC spec with GTB in terms of the punch setting? I have been out run by some people using TC spec while i am using the GTB. The other guy appears to be able to have more speed and pass me on the straight as if he has turbo. I realize that gearing may have something to do with it but should not be that much different. For those who have used both, when paired with Novak 13.5, does the TC spec give more punch or overall speed? Thanks.
Yellowtaro is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 10:44 PM   #668
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Wishbone View Post
I have a LRP Comp Sphere with the heat sink and a fan. I can run a 13.5 motor without any issues, but when I try a Novak 5.5 or a older LRP X11 the speedo seems to shut down every once in a while. When it does this sometimes I will still have steering and other times the entire system is dead. It doesn't seem to matter when during the run that this happens, sometimes early in the run and sometimes later in the run. When I temp the motor and esc they don't seem like excessive temps, the motor is around 130 and the esc is right around 100. This is a older version of the Comp Sphere, should a person be running a cap with this? Any other suggestions? Thanks, and sorry if this has been asked before.
I suggest u change a new cap
G2B Anthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 05:33 AM   #669
Tech Master
 
johnnyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,634
Trader Rating: 28 (97%+)
Default

I could run my 5.5 in my Lazer with the older Sphere Comp (with the small cap) with no problem. I just had the heatsink on (which I could probably even remove as it doesn't get that hot) and no fan. You need a process of elimination. Do you have another car or ESC to try the motors on? Try to narrow it down to either the motor or ESC.
__________________
"Almost Live Race Coverage": www.johnnyboy.ca

.:Team Orion : JConcepts : B-Fast RC:.
johnnyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 05:35 AM   #670
Tech Master
 
johnnyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,634
Trader Rating: 28 (97%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yellowtaro View Post
Trying to see if people has posted this related question. But no luck so I will ask here. Did anyone compare the TC spec with GTB in terms of the punch setting? I have been out run by some people using TC spec while i am using the GTB. The other guy appears to be able to have more speed and pass me on the straight as if he has turbo. I realize that gearing may have something to do with it but should not be that much different. For those who have used both, when paired with Novak 13.5, does the TC spec give more punch or overall speed? Thanks.
I didn't notice any punch difference between the LRP and GTB. You need to compare apple to apples though. Batteries, gearing, tires and set up can make a big difference.
__________________
"Almost Live Race Coverage": www.johnnyboy.ca

.:Team Orion : JConcepts : B-Fast RC:.
johnnyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 12:08 AM   #671
Tech Master
 
buboy28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: manila,philippines
Posts: 1,601
Send a message via AIM to buboy28 Send a message via Yahoo to buboy28
Default

hi guys, i have a brand new LRP Sphere TC ESC and was setting it up with my radio ( 3PK ) problem is when i'm setting it in brake it wont work. no problem with setting it in neutral and thottle but only when i'm already setting it for brake already tried using different receiver and radio but the problem still persist i was suppose to use it with an LRP 4.5 brushless motor any of you guys encounter this problem with this ESC thanks
buboy28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 11:21 AM   #672
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by buboy28 View Post
hi guys, i have a brand new LRP Sphere TC ESC and was setting it up with my radio ( 3PK ) problem is when i'm setting it in brake it wont work.

Are you running any brake curves, and is your tx set to 100% braking? I'm running that exact combo with no isssues.
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 11:53 AM   #673
Tech Addict
 
jdearhart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Darlington, SC
Posts: 565
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

As Vern said, make sure your throttle and brake settings are at least set at 100%. Also, on the 3PK there is a setting under dual rate on the screen, I think it's ATL. Make sure it's at 100%. I turned mine down and lost brakes also.
jdearhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 03:08 PM   #674
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,237
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

If you are setting up this car with a new profile on you TX, I have to think that verndog and jdearhart have just solved your issue.

I couldn't have said it better...LOL
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 05:15 PM   #675
Tech Master
 
buboy28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: manila,philippines
Posts: 1,601
Send a message via AIM to buboy28 Send a message via Yahoo to buboy28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Verndog View Post
Are you running any brake curves, and is your tx set to 100% braking? I'm running that exact combo with no isssues.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdearhart View Post
As Vern said, make sure your throttle and brake settings are at least set at 100%. Also, on the 3PK there is a setting under dual rate on the screen, I think it's ATL. Make sure it's at 100%. I turned mine down and lost brakes also.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Still Bill View Post
If you are setting up this car with a new profile on you TX, I have to think that verndog and jdearhart have just solved your issue.

I couldn't have said it better...LOL
when i first tried setting it both are in 100% so when it did'nt work i tried it 0% setting the car with new profile, i will try the ATL or dual rate setting as jdearhart suggested, will post result hopefully it should work thanks guys
buboy28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LRP Sphere Comp theprocess Radio and Electronics 13 07-23-2008 11:29 AM
WTB Lrp Sphere Comp Terry M R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 04-15-2008 05:11 AM
WTB 2 Sphere 80700 racer34v R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 03-05-2008 03:33 AM
Sphere Comp and Sphere TC Differences Paul_67 Electric On-Road 4 08-20-2007 03:27 PM
LRP SPHERE COMP. ESC (80700) + 13.5 wannabee R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 02-10-2007 05:25 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:42 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net